Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Alternative Computing > Other Operating systems

User Tag List

[SOLVED] Windows 7 which one?

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Windows 7 which one? within the Other Operating systems forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I think I'm gonna upgrade from XP to Windows 7 but not sure which one I should get. When I


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-28-2012, 04:44 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 143
OS: Windows 7 64bit SP1

My System


I think I'm gonna upgrade from XP to Windows 7 but not sure which one I should get. When I read the feedback from newegg most of them are for building new computer and then you have to sell the computer or something like that. This one have $25 off but says for for resale

Newegg.com - Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64-bit - Operating Systems
AK530 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-28-2012, 06:10 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 19,585
OS: none



you CANNOT use oem to upgrade a computer. you must purchase either a full retail version or upgrade version.
__________________
the truth is a three edged sword - your truth, my truth and the real truth.
sobeit is offline  
Old 12-28-2012, 06:19 PM   #3
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
BSOD Kernel Dump Analyst
 
satrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Wales U.K.
Posts: 5,682
OS: W7 SP1 Pro x64

My System


No, you cannot use OEM to upgrade - but you can use it to install. Once installed and registered, OEM (System Builder, as it was once known) 'belongs' to that PC and cannot be moved to another.
__________________
satrow is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-28-2012, 06:37 PM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 19,585
OS: none



Quote:
Originally Posted by satrow View Post
No, you cannot use OEM to upgrade - but you can use it to install. Once installed and registered, OEM (System Builder, as it was once known) 'belongs' to that PC and cannot be moved to another.
you cannot use it to install on a computer that already has an operating system on it. The new licensing rules only applies to win8.
__________________
the truth is a three edged sword - your truth, my truth and the real truth.
sobeit is offline  
Old 12-28-2012, 07:04 PM   #5
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
BSOD Kernel Dump Analyst
 
satrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Wales U.K.
Posts: 5,682
OS: W7 SP1 Pro x64

My System


Right, so you can't install W7 OEM over Ubuntu?

You can't upgrade XP to W7 anyway, iirc, it has to be an export/install/import.

I know nothing of W8 and it's irrelevant here anyway?
__________________
satrow is online now  
Old 12-28-2012, 07:11 PM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 19,585
OS: none



Quote:
Originally Posted by satrow View Post
Right, so you can't install W7 OEM over Ubuntu?

You can't upgrade XP to W7 anyway, iirc, it has to be an export/install/import.

I know nothing of W8 and it's irrelevant here anyway?
who said anything about installing oem over ubuntu - that was very irrelevant. and yes you can upgrade xp to win7. xp has to be installed and activated, insert the win7 disk then it will wipe xp and install. That is considered an upgrade in my book.

as far as the win8 mention, your poor wording made it sound like you were talking about the new win8 licensing rules.
__________________
the truth is a three edged sword - your truth, my truth and the real truth.
sobeit is offline  
Old 12-28-2012, 07:17 PM   #7
Team Manager
Articles Team
 
chauffeur2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Henley Beach, South Australia
Posts: 11,898
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 and Windows 10

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to chauffeur2

Greetings AK530,

Some of the advices you are being given are quite correct.
As for which 'flavour' of Windows® 7 you need will depend entirely what you want your computer to do.

Windows® 7 Home Premium will more than likely meet all your needs.

Using an OEM (Original Equipment Manufacture) Version, you will have to wipe your HDD and format it; then, install Windows® 7 from scratch.

But before you do anything you would be wise to download, and install, the Microsoft® Windows® 7 Upgrade Advisor, to determine if your current hardware configuration will in fact be able to be upgraded to Windows® 7.
The Upgrade Advisor will tell you what items of Hardware in your computer that will or will not be compatible with Windows® 7.
It's not a matter of just installing the 'new' OS; things like Drivers; RAM; Graphics Cards, and more need to be taken into consideration; The Upgrade Advisor will tell you this.

By the way, is this a Laptop or Desktop that you are intending upgrade?
To help you give us this information, please download a free program called Speccy; once downloaded, please run the program.
At the top of the "Speccy" page click on File, in the drop-down box there is a button Print/Publish; copy and paste this URL into your next post so we have an idea of what your computer can do.

When you post back with the "Speccy" results, please tell us what the Upgrade Advisor revealed.

Kind Regards,
__________________
Dave T.



If it works, Don't fix it!
Especially if Microsoft made it!
chauffeur2 is offline  
Old 12-28-2012, 07:18 PM   #8
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
BSOD Kernel Dump Analyst
 
satrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Wales U.K.
Posts: 5,682
OS: W7 SP1 Pro x64

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by sobeit View Post
who said anything about installing oem over ubuntu - that was very irrelevant.
Quote:
Originally Posted by sobeit View Post
you cannot use it to install on a computer that already has an operating system on it.
There are many makers of operating systems.
Quote:
Originally Posted by sobeit View Post
and yes you can upgrade xp to win7. xp has to be installed and activated, insert the win7 disk then it will wipe xp and install. That is considered an upgrade in my book.
Wiping the previous OS prior to installing the new OS is a clean install in my book.
Quote:
Originally Posted by sobeit View Post
as far as the win8 mention, your poor wording made it sound like you were talking about the new win8 licensing rules.
My poor wording made no mention of W8, sorry if I mislead you somehow.
__________________
satrow is online now  
Old 12-28-2012, 08:12 PM   #9
MPR
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 5,232
OS: Win 8.1



Microsoft changed it licensing with Windows 8. But technically with Windows 7 you are not allowed to use an OEM version unless you build for resale and then you are required to provide technical support for your sold units. Any Windows 7 that is purchased for installation by an end-user must be a retail version (replacement OEM disks may be purchased from the OEM because you are just paying for the processing, not a new license). Now I know that thousands of people got away with installing OEM Windows 7 on their personal machines but it was technically in violation of the license agreement.


Quote:
Can I use the Personal Use License for Windows 7 software?
A. No. The Personal Use License is for Windows 8 and Windows 8 Pro software only. If you are building a PC for your personal use with Windows 7 software, you still need to purchase the full packaged retail version.
OEM System Builder Licensing

If you have a genuine version of XP, then you can upgrade to Win 7 or 8. However, if the XP is OEM you can upgrade only on the machine that it came packaged with. If the XP is retail then it, and the upgrade, can be transferred to any future computer you also own.

Personal experience note:

I have a full version of Win 7 and as far as I can tell that's what they gave me when I downloaded the Win 8 upgrade. I don't know if everyone gets a full version but I ordered a spare set of Win 8 upgrade disks and they came in a package with both 32-bit and 64-bit disks. I can clean install my Win 8 upgrade disk on a brand-new drive that has never seen Win 7 and it activates just fine. Note that when you upgrade from Win 7 to Win 8 the Win 7 disks can no longer be used -- the Win 8 upgrade license replaces their license.
MPR is offline  
Old 12-28-2012, 08:31 PM   #10
MPR
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 5,232
OS: Win 8.1



Here are the official Windows 7 upgrade paths:

Windows 7 Upgrade Paths

I was incorrect about the Win XP to Win 7 path.

Quote:
Upgrades to Windows 7 from the following operating systems are not supported: Windows 95, Windows 98, Windows ME, Windows XP, Windows Vista® RTM, Windows Vista Starter...
Ironically, there is a Win XP to Win 8 upgrade path though.

Windows 8 Upgrade Paths
MPR is offline  
Old 12-28-2012, 10:39 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 143
OS: Windows 7 64bit SP1

My System


I want to add more RAM that's the only reason I want to upgrade. last night I got some virus it's the one that says Your computer has been locked and I was able to remove it in safe mode with networking and just right now I check my computer system properties and it doesn't show what I have in my computer. Now back to Windows 7 here is the Speccy URL https://speccy.piriform.com/results/h...zf4sbFdQrwLAMd

Here's the URL Windows 7 upgrade advisor
C:\Documents and Settings\Schao\Desktop\Windows 7 Upgrade Advisor.mht
AK530 is offline  
Old 12-28-2012, 10:47 PM   #12
TSF Enthusiast
 
TeenScripts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Washington D.C
Posts: 911
OS: Windows


Send a message via AIM to TeenScripts
Navigate:

Start>Right Click on Computer>Properties
This will give you some basic info on your motherboard, Windows type and gpu, maybe even some other detail.

Look into it.
Upgrades are Cheaper than the Full.

If you want more RAM, we will need to know what type of motherboard you have in order to give you advice or propose links.
TeenScripts is offline  
Old 12-28-2012, 10:56 PM   #13
Team Manager
Articles Team
 
chauffeur2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Henley Beach, South Australia
Posts: 11,898
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 and Windows 10

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to chauffeur2

It looks like the "Speccy" Results has something diabolically wrong with it, because it reads "Server Execution Failed", without giving us any information at all.
The TSF Server will never read a URL from your computer; that one that you gave us is no good, so I'll get you to do is read this tutorial about How to Post a screenshot.

You can post a screenshot in your next post, thanks.
Also, could you please tell us what type of computer you have; be it a Laptop, or a Desktop and what hardware is in it.

Post back with the information.

Kind Regards,
__________________
Dave T.



If it works, Don't fix it!
Especially if Microsoft made it!
chauffeur2 is offline  
Old 12-28-2012, 11:19 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 143
OS: Windows 7 64bit SP1

My System


TeenScripts that's exactly what I did and before last nights virus it would show my specs. Now it don't show what I have in there. How can I get it back do I have to restore my computer?

Windows XP 32 Bit Media center Edition
Motherboard- Asus P8ZZ77-V LK
CPU- i5-3570K
Memory- Patriot 4GB
PSU- Hipro

Snapshot don't work for me so hope this PDF will let you view it
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Windows 7 Upgrade Advisor.pdf (61.8 KB, 117 views)
AK530 is offline  
Old 12-29-2012, 04:29 AM   #15
TSF Enthusiast
 
TeenScripts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Washington D.C
Posts: 911
OS: Windows


Send a message via AIM to TeenScripts
That is a common problem with XP computers, it happened to my old one too. Basically this virus went in and corrupted your files. It could have done either of these things:

1.Curropted Links, so that you can't access certain things.

2.Curropted Search, so that you can no longer search

3. Changed your image files (Sometimes it switches up the icons of your image files so that a .jpg would look like a .gif, and gif would look like jpg ...etc...)

I don't know much about it, but you can find fixes online. Mainly you will need to replace certain files.

Windows XP has lot's of bugs and this could just be a software problem due to the age of your computer.

To fix the problem I recommend:

-Upgrading to Windows 7
That should do the trick, since it replaces most of your files anyway.
TeenScripts is offline  
Old 12-29-2012, 03:46 PM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 143
OS: Windows 7 64bit SP1

My System


Search a lot of places and they all seem to sell OEM Version only.
AK530 is offline  
Old 12-29-2012, 04:26 PM   #17
MPR
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 5,232
OS: Win 8.1



If you have an XP license, you should consider just going with the Windows 8 upgrade if your system meets requirements. The upgrade is currently $40, which is a small fraction of the cost of a retail copy of Windows 7.

WHat is the make and model of your computer?
MPR is offline  
Old 12-29-2012, 04:39 PM   #18
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 143
OS: Windows 7 64bit SP1

My System


I heard Windows 8 sucks. My nephew had Windows 7 installed on his ultrabook and got Windows 8 disc which he got for free and he installed it and he says it sucks compare to windows 7. The cheapest Windows 7 Ultimate full version is on ebay but it's for 1 computer only comes with certificate of authenticity keys. If I was to get this if my motherboard is fried I can't use this anymore when I replace the motherboard? I can't find one that I can use as many time as I want. This is depressing.


New in Box Wlndows 7 Ultlmate 32 64 BLT Retall Full Version Free Shipping | eBay


New in Box Wlndows 7 Ultlmate 32 64 BLT Retall Full Version Free Shipping | eBay
AK530 is offline  
Old 12-29-2012, 06:49 PM   #19
MPR
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 5,232
OS: Win 8.1



Retail Win 7 can be installed on any computer with any motherboard you own or will own in the future.
MPR is offline  
Old 12-29-2012, 07:35 PM   #20
Team Manager
Articles Team
 
chauffeur2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Henley Beach, South Australia
Posts: 11,898
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 and Windows 10

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to chauffeur2

Hello AK530,


Quote:
Originally Posted by AK530 View Post
I heard Windows 8 sucks. My nephew had Windows 7 installed on his ultrabook and got Windows 8 disc which he got for free and he installed it and he says it sucks compare to windows 7.
That's entirely a matter of personal preference.
Some people 'like' Windows®8; however, it is not one of my personally preferred Operating Systems.


The cheapest Windows 7 Ultimate full version is on ebay but it's for 1 computer only comes with certificate of authenticity keys.
Nobody is permitted to sell just the Product Key for any Microsoft® Product; it must be sold with the Original Disc included.
Do not deal with unscrupulous people that sell Microsoft® Products in this manner; it is illegal.


If I was to get this if my motherboard is fried I can't use this anymore when I replace the motherboard?
Not necessarily so, Microsoft® are aware that components can become faulty, and need replacement.
In a situation like you have described, a quick phone call (Tollfree) to Microsoft®, and the issue is sorted; that is if you can not do the Re-Activation on line, at the time of major component replacement.
Having said that, I'm not too sure about the number of times you can re-activate your Windows®, only Microsoft® can answer that.


I can't find one that I can use as many time as I want. This is depressing.
What would you want to use the disc more than once for?
Only in the extreme case that you mentioned, would you ever need to re-install Windows® on a completely re-formatted HDD.
Naturally you can re-use the Disc for in-line 'Repair Installations'.
It would not matter what the case, you can only ever use the Windows® Product Key once, and on the PC that it is originally intended for.
However, if it is a Commercial Volume Licenced Disc; that's another long and involved story that would not apply to you, or the average everyday computer user.


New in Box Wlndows 7 Ultlmate 32 64 BLT Retall Full Version Free Shipping | eBay


New in Box Wlndows 7 Ultlmate 32 64 BLT Retall Full Version Free Shipping | eBay
Hopefully I have explained matters for you, and you have a clearer idea as to what you path want to take.

Kind Regards,
__________________
Dave T.



If it works, Don't fix it!
Especially if Microsoft made it!
chauffeur2 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Happili Virus Redirect
Hello: I've been hit with the Happili virus where it redirects me when I conduct a google search. Attached is the GMER and TDSS files. Your help is greatly appreciated. Thank you. -ttvr4
ttvr4 Resolved HJT Threads 14 05-15-2012 11:47 AM
Internet Explorer & Dr.Watson has encountered...
Hello, I can't open most of my folders without my computer freezing up and my computer telling me that "Internet Explorer has encountered a problem and needs to close" and "Dr. Watson Postmortem Debugger has encountered a problem and needs to close". Now, I've been using Google...
JCVerkler Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 3 11-18-2011 12:27 PM
3TB HDD won't format
I recently bought a 3TB 5400RPM hard drive and placed it in an enclosure. I orginially had connected it to my PC via USB 2.0 and formatted the entire drive and everything seemed to be in working order. After that I decided to connect the drive via eSATA because of the speed increase. When...
UhOhOhNo Hard Drive Support 8 09-13-2011 08:22 PM
Windows XP Fix
I have got this intruder on my computer. I cannot access the internet or anything else. I was going to do a system restore, but I cannot get to it. I do have another computer with Vista, but I need the XP computer for work. Please help!
mishamisha Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 26 07-14-2011 06:36 PM
Please help I think I may have spyware/malware/virus & possible keylogger?
Hi there My other half was using my laptop yesterday (just regular web surfing) nothing untoward and she called out to me and said you have 30 viruses on your computer do you want me to remove them. Me thinks say what so I come out and have a look and notice - what seem's to be a dodgy...
scottietwenty3 Resolved HJT Threads 50 06-22-2011 11:42 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts