Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Alternative Computing > Other Operating systems

User Tag List

LG N2R1 Password Reset?

This is a discussion on LG N2R1 Password Reset? within the Other Operating systems forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I recently decided to change my old passwords across all services to something a little more secure. I got to


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-18-2011, 04:40 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South Croydon, Surrey
Posts: 254
OS: Windows 10 Pro (x64)

My System


I recently decided to change my old passwords across all services to something a little more secure. I got to my NAS (LG N2R1) and proceeded to change the password via web access. The only problem is I now can't access it- presumably I've miss-typed on both the original and confirmation password entries. I've tried the password as intended and any logical miss-type I can imagine.

A few concerns? Does anyone know if such a system would have a problem with a secure password (consisting of upper/lower case letters, numbers, and symbols)? If not and it's a freak miss-type double-feature does anyone know of a way to reset the password without losing the data on the drive?

I've thought of attempting to re-initialise the device without the hard drive, however to then use that same hard drive again I'd need to allow the device to reformat it; losing my data.

Before anyone asks I should stress this is my device, and has been since it was brand new. I'm now slapping myself for bothering to change the admin password on there! At least I left read only access open; but that's all I have for now!

Does anyone know anything about how the data is stored on such a device? Would it be encrypted or could I swap out the HD, back it up, and let it reformat?

Any help would be great- especially if the result isn't either lose the data or pay LG to do something about it! :D

Cheers in advance,
Dean
themoodude is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-18-2011, 06:04 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South Croydon, Surrey
Posts: 254
OS: Windows 10 Pro (x64)

My System


So I've looked around, and indeed attempted to mount the drive in my PC. It contains a few partitions, the largest one (full of my data) is a raid type partition (according to google). I didn't have the drive in an array- it was the only one in the device, but I'm guessing it's just how the device handles the drives.

It would appear there are methods of recovering the data using tools under windows or linux. So if it comes to it I can always mount my drive in my PC, and boot a live cd to recover my data. The only issue then is backing up ~500GB; guess that'll involve another drive investment. But it's still an awful lot of trouble. Does anyone know a potential loophole in the OS of the NAS? Perhaps a method by which I can boot it from a disc or USB just to revert the admin password? Would be greatly appreciated.
themoodude is offline  
Old 09-18-2011, 11:59 PM   #3
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



we offer no help with password problems under the forum rules



dai is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
virus...
Hello, Recentlly I got a problem with a evil virus. It start to delete .dll files , don't alow me to enable antivirus or any program that affect it (close those automaticlly when they...scan the virus), it open some certain .exe files that slow down my internet acces at the limit where i can't...
iully25 Resolved HJT Threads 47 09-25-2011 02:48 PM
Bloodhound.MaIPE in restore point-Quarentined
Hi again. Checking to ask if this is a concern for me. I am not noticing anything strange with my system except what Symantec is reporting. we repaired a rootkit here: https://www.techsupportforum.com/forums/f100/internet-explorer-rediredting-and-opening-new-tabs-578424.html Since we did...
northgp Resolved HJT Threads 15 07-15-2011 10:08 PM
Cannot open anything?!
My mother managed to get a trojan/virus and after removing the infected files (An error I assume!) I can now open nothing at all. Everything comes up with the 'open with' box. I've searched for fixes on various forums but I can't find a solution. The laptop is from her work after she retired...
OllySims Resolved HJT Threads 16 07-04-2011 06:17 PM
Cannot open anti-virus.
Cannot open Microsoft Security Essentials. The error given is "This operation has been cancelled due to restriction in effect on this computer. Please contact your system administrator." Online searches make me believe spyware has changed my group policy settings. Since I am using Windows 7...
Troy Lundin Inactive Malware Help Topics 5 06-28-2011 09:01 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts