Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Alternative Computing > Other Operating systems

User Tag List

How to boot into BartPE from usb?

This is a discussion on How to boot into BartPE from usb? within the Other Operating systems forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have a few dozen machines I need to image via ghost, and booting from the dvd drive takes a


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-28-2012, 07:14 AM   #1
TSF - Enthusiast
 
wkw427's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: The Internet™
Posts: 2,437
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit

My System


I have a few dozen machines I need to image via ghost, and booting from the dvd drive takes a whole two minutes

I've done a bunch of searches, and came up with these:
How to make a USB-key bootable with BartPE
!NEW BartPE To USB Flash Stick Utility - The CD Forum

Neither seem to be working. In fact, I don't even get a BSOD or crash, the system just says to put in a bootable device.

Thanks
__________________
Ego Sum Deus Quo Malum Caligo et Barathrum
Asking if the PC you bought/want to buy can run XYZ game on ABC settings "good" is like asking if a new car can go "fast". You can't measure "good" or "fast"
wkw427 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-29-2012, 03:32 AM   #2
Manager
- Alternative Computing
- Design
 
wmorri's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 6,491
OS: Window 7/Ubuntu/Fedora/Backtrack 5

My System

Send a message via AIM to wmorri Send a message via MSN to wmorri

Hi,

I am not usually one to assume, but have a look at BartPe. If you haven't looked at this already then I would start there.
__________________


Linux Forever!|html5 boilerplate
wmorri is offline  
Old 03-29-2012, 05:34 AM   #3
TSF - Enthusiast
 
wkw427's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: The Internet™
Posts: 2,437
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit

My System


Yes, I've looked over that. It links to PE2USB, and I've followed those instructions to no avail
__________________
Ego Sum Deus Quo Malum Caligo et Barathrum
Asking if the PC you bought/want to buy can run XYZ game on ABC settings "good" is like asking if a new car can go "fast". You can't measure "good" or "fast"
wkw427 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-29-2012, 06:28 AM   #4
Manager
- Alternative Computing
- Design
 
wmorri's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 6,491
OS: Window 7/Ubuntu/Fedora/Backtrack 5

My System

Send a message via AIM to wmorri Send a message via MSN to wmorri

Okay lets start at the beginning, you have made sure that the computer you are testing this one is able to boot form usb?

Another thing to look into if you have that many machines is doing a PXE pronounce "pixie". But that is a little work and I don't know what your setup is like for you network.
__________________


Linux Forever!|html5 boilerplate
wmorri is offline  
Old 03-29-2012, 01:45 PM   #5
TSF - Enthusiast
 
wkw427's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: The Internet™
Posts: 2,437
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit

My System


All machines are able to boot from USB.

What we are doing is, on either a flash drive of a usb hdd there are a few ghost images we are using.
We boot from cd into Bart to initiate the ghosting, and afterwards, we have a usb that has windows 7 on it. Boot into that to repair the install (else it wouldn't boot), and then configure the PC depending on the department.

What is PXE?
__________________
Ego Sum Deus Quo Malum Caligo et Barathrum
Asking if the PC you bought/want to buy can run XYZ game on ABC settings "good" is like asking if a new car can go "fast". You can't measure "good" or "fast"
wkw427 is offline  
Old 03-29-2012, 03:19 PM   #6
Manager
- Alternative Computing
- Design
 
wmorri's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 6,491
OS: Window 7/Ubuntu/Fedora/Backtrack 5

My System

Send a message via AIM to wmorri Send a message via MSN to wmorri

PXE is a way to do a few different things but in your case it is to install an OS over a network. This is primarily used in Linux so if you aren't too familiar with Linux you might want to pass it by. There are a lot of sites that can help you out with setting up a PXE install if you follow this link. However if you are familiar with Linux and want to try something like this then have a look at Network booting with Linux - PXE.
__________________


Linux Forever!|html5 boilerplate
wmorri is offline  
Old 04-14-2012, 04:52 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1
OS: xp



Use WinSetupFromUSB to install your BartPE image onto USB.

How to install Windows from USB- WinSetupFromUSB with GUI - MSFN Forum
oKs5 is offline  
Old 04-14-2012, 04:53 PM   #8
TSF - Enthusiast
 
wkw427's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: The Internet™
Posts: 2,437
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit

My System


I'll give that a try, thanks
__________________
Ego Sum Deus Quo Malum Caligo et Barathrum
Asking if the PC you bought/want to buy can run XYZ game on ABC settings "good" is like asking if a new car can go "fast". You can't measure "good" or "fast"
wkw427 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HP/compaq 510 won't boot
I have Hp Compaq 510 laptop, in that I am using Windows 7 ultimate, pirated software. It was working fine since about one year. When I have installed Norton Antivirus in my laptop, then also working FINE. Once, I have connected Relianace Data card it was working for two days. Afterthat, the...
subramaniyan Laptop Support 2 06-07-2012 05:29 AM
facebook entries removed from hosts
As a simple way to prevent house guests from using facebook on my computers, I've added a bunch of urls to my hosts files. However, two entries are consistently removed from the hosts file without my knowledge or intervention. 127.0.0.1 facebook.com 127.0.0.1 ww w.facebook.com How is it...
shmish General Computer Security 8 03-30-2012 09:59 AM
Those P2P Switch To F2P MMOs
:smile:In recent years, more and more games started with a P2P system have switched to F2P, such as Lord of the Rings Online, Ragnarok Online 2, Age of Conan, Lineage II, DC Universe Online, Aion Online etc. Since I am a poor student, I have already played some of them. Below is my three favourite...
fengzi597 Gaming Discussion 2 03-29-2012 12:42 AM
Stuck in re-boot loop
My Acer aspire d150-1165 netbook with windows XP home is stuck in a re-boot loop. I have done the f8 on boot and disabled the restart on fail option so it stops at the blue screen and gives me this information: "A problem has been detected and and windows has been shut down to prevent damage...
eman-resu Laptop Support 6 03-28-2012 10:51 AM
Macmini not visible to network - Still gets internet etc.
Hi all, I'm trying to set up a macmini with Lion server installed to host a website. The ports are all handled via an airport on the network, but it appears any ports forwarded by the Server app, or the airport utility, are not working on the macmini, but are working on any other machines. ...
snayler0 Networking Support 0 03-28-2012 12:35 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts