User Tag List

Firefox and online scan

This is a discussion on Firefox and online scan within the Mozilla/Firefox Browsers forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have Firefox 1.5. I like trendmicro online virus scan, but i can only run it on IE or FF


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-07-2007, 11:17 AM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4
OS:



I have Firefox 1.5.
I like trendmicro online virus scan, but i can only run it on IE or FF with IEtab. I hate IE. Is there any way to run trendmicro (or similar) with FF? Is FF2 work with trendmicro?
zvoona is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-07-2007, 11:30 AM   #2
Roaming To Help
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: US-UK
Posts: 5,667
OS: Too Many


Quote:
Originally Posted by zvoona View Post
I have Firefox 1.5.
I like trendmicro online virus scan, but i can only run it on IE or FF with IEtab. I hate IE. Is there any way to run trendmicro (or similar) with FF? Is FF2 work with trendmicro?
Actually it works with Fx too.

System Requirements for the online scan from their site:
Quote:
Trend Micro’s HouseCall requires the following minimum system components:

Hardware:
* 133MHz Intel™ Pentium™ processor or equivalent
* 64MB of RAM
* At least 30MB of available disk space

Operating System:
* Microsoft Windows 98SE/NT4.0,SP6a/2000,SP2/XP,SP1/2003 and Windows MCE 2005
* Linux Distributions that supports libc6
* Solaris 2.6 and above

Software:
* Microsoft Internet Explorer (IE) 6.0 or later
* Mozilla Firefox 1.0.5, 1.0.6, 1.0.7, 1.5
* Mozilla 1.7.12

Display:
* Monitor that supports 800 x 600 resolution at 256 colors or higher
Let alone that, I've just ran it through Fx 2.0.0.1 myself.
Kalim is offline  
Old 06-09-2007, 06:02 AM   #3
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4
OS:



Im not satisfied with that answer. I have all requirements, but still not work. Why work with IE, and FF not?
zvoona is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-09-2007, 08:31 AM   #4
Moderator Hardware Team
 
koala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 26,228
OS: Win7-64, BunsenLabs

My System


The Trend online scanner requires cookies and javascript to be enabled. Check your browser settings, Firefox extensions, security software and firewall.

Quote:
Trend Micro HouseCall makes use of cookies and ActiveX controls or Java Applets loaded onto your PC from our HouseCall server. If you prohibit the loading of these controls then the service will not work. Therefore your Internet Security settings must allow the loading and use of cookies and ActiveX controls or Java Applets.
I've just run the scan in Firefox 2.0.0.4 with no problems (after enabling javascripts in the NoScript extension).

How far into the process do you get? Do you see the screen below?

__________________

Disable Social Media Buttons: adblockplus.org/en/features#socialmedia
koala is offline  
Old 06-09-2007, 09:51 AM   #5
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4
OS:



Noscript is set:
- allow trend micro
- forbid java etc OFF

Cookies allow for trendmicro.

Sec soft and fwall is ok (because IE work fine with tm).

I must try with FF2, I think...
zvoona is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
first timer please help :(
Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.1 Scan saved at 2:42:47 AM, on 1/18/2007 Platform: Windows XP SP2 (WinNT 5.01.2600) MSIE: Internet Explorer v7.00 (7.00.5730.0011) Running processes: D:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe D:\WINDOWS\system32\csrss.exe D:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe...
chrisr84 Inactive Malware Help Topics 7 02-09-2007 11:40 AM
Slower Computer: Spyware and Hackers
I've been having a slower comp. and I scanned everything needed and found "Spyware" and "Hacker tools and kits." See if anyone can help!!! here are all the scanned logs: here --------------------------------------------------------- AVG Anti-Spyware - Scan Report...
ScottB247 Inactive Malware Help Topics 0 01-26-2007 01:47 PM
Can someone check this (Low priority)
Can someone please check this log? It is for my mainly used computer. HJT Log: Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.1 Scan saved at 1:49:50 PM, on 3/18/2006 Platform: Windows XP SP2 (WinNT 5.01.2600) MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP2 (6.00.2900.2180) Running processes:...
DJ-Zep Resolved HJT Threads 19 04-29-2006 01:22 PM
Online Virus Scan with FireFox
This could possibly be the right forum for this; I just last week switched to Firefox so what I want to know is; are there any online virus scans that can be run with it. All the usual ones I go to need IE. I can still go and run them with IE but I wondered what people without it did. Anyone...
uripyores General Computer Security 5 08-07-2005 07:00 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts