User Tag List

Firefox

This is a discussion on Firefox within the Mozilla/Firefox Browsers forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello all, I have Firefox as my browser and Yahoo as my search engine. No matter how many updates, add-ons


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-12-2016, 10:18 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 66
OS: windows 8.1



Hello all,

I have Firefox as my browser and Yahoo as my search engine. No matter how many updates, add-ons etc I use from Mozilla re: Adobe Flash player, Firefox continues to block Flash.

My question is, what can I use as a substitute to Flash and how do I install it to work on my browser
Thanks,
Windjammer14
Windjammer14 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-13-2016, 03:24 AM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,105
OS: Windows 10 64 bit, Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX 10.11.5

My System


Download it: https://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/ Firefox does not block Flashplayer
spunk.funk is online now  
Old 07-13-2016, 07:06 AM   #3
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 25,389
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


FF>Tools>Add-ons>Plug-ins>Shockwave Flash>Always Activate
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-15-2016, 12:26 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 66
OS: windows 8.1



Hello Spunk Funk,

I've tried unsuccessfully several times to transfer the screen shot I took of the message I get when I want to watch something. So the following is the message, " Adobe Flash Player has been blocked by your browser. Please unblock to view Yahoo 7 video content"

Mozilla has acknowledged this problem on their help page due to the number of complaints.
However so far all the possible solutions they've come up with haven't worked.
It seems the only answer that another user has found worked is to use an earlier version of Firefox.
Mozilla has discouraged this saying it could compromise security.
So where do we go? The Rock or The Hard Place?

I figure I'll get rid of Firefox and go back to the trouble plagued Internet Explorer or the pain in the butt Chrome.


Or, not use the net at all. Simplest solution I'd say.

Thanks,

Windjammer14
Windjammer14 is offline  
Old 07-15-2016, 03:32 AM   #5
Moderator, Editor, Articles Team
 
Deejay100six's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Doncaster, Great Britain
Posts: 11,648
OS: Windows 7 Professional SP1

My System


Why not try something different?

https://www.palemoon.org/
__________________
Regards, Dave.


Submit New Articles Here

Help us to help you by posting your System Specs
Deejay100six is offline  
Old 07-15-2016, 03:39 AM   #6
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,105
OS: Windows 10 64 bit, Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX 10.11.5

My System


Go to the plugin check page in this link https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/blocked/p946 to see what plugin is out of date.
In Firefox go to Tools/addons. If the addon is still active, you can disable it. Then go to Search and type appwiz.cpl and press enter, if the plugin is Adobe Flash Player, uninstall it, and restart, then download the new Flash Player from the link in post #2
spunk.funk is online now  
Old 07-15-2016, 09:29 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 66
OS: windows 8.1



Thankyou all for your help.
Have installed Chrome and deleted FF.
We'll see!!!
Thanks again.

Windjammer14
Windjammer14 is offline  
Old 08-29-2016, 09:54 AM   #8
Moderator, Editor, Articles Team
 
Deejay100six's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Doncaster, Great Britain
Posts: 11,648
OS: Windows 7 Professional SP1

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by Windjammer14
Thank you for putting me onto Palemoon. Works well.
Remember I was trying to overcome IE 11 freezing, hence the move to Palemoon.
Well, here's a scoop. I happened to click onto Yahoo on the Palemoon main page & lo & behold, within 5 minutes, the whole thing froze as before.

I assumed it was IE 11, but it seems as though it's Yahoo that is the culprit.
Any thoughts?
Windjammer14.
Sorry but we prefer to keep all support in the open forums, (theres something in the site rules about it). this is for everyones benefit, you have more people reading your thread and any solutions found can be read by future readers.

I had a good hour researching this but nothing conclusive up to now.

I think it would be good to see your specs in case the issue lies with system resources.
  • Please download Speccy System Information Tool and save it to somewhere convenient such as your desktop.
  • Close any programs that may be running including your browser and double click Speccy.exe to run the tool.
  • Watch out for any offers to install other programs such as google chrome and untick the box(es) if you don't want them.
  • Speccy will very quickly scan your pc and create a report.
  • Top left of screen click file and select Publish Snapshot...
  • Click Yes to proceed.
  • Copy the URL to your clipboard and paste it into your next reply.
__________________
Regards, Dave.


Submit New Articles Here

Help us to help you by posting your System Specs
Deejay100six is offline  
Old 08-29-2016, 08:55 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 66
OS: windows 8.1



Hello Dave,
Thanks for getting back to me.
The reason I sent you a direct request was because I always have trouble with finding where to make a post in my User CP. It should be more straightforward for dummies like me.
Anyway, Please find attached specs as requested.

https://speccy.piriform.com/results/x...bHaoj0XPRgdkyD

Cheers,
Bob.
Windjammer14
Windjammer14 is offline  
Old 09-03-2016, 06:55 PM   #10
Moderator, Editor, Articles Team
 
Deejay100six's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Doncaster, Great Britain
Posts: 11,648
OS: Windows 7 Professional SP1

My System


Hi Bob, apologies for the delay. Very busy with 'real life' issues at present.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Windjammer14 View Post
I always have trouble with finding where to make a post in my User CP. It should be more straightforward for dummies like me.
You might want to bookmark this link. Where to Post - Tech Support Forum

Had a quick look through your speccy report and nothing leaps out at me but, you may have a little more time than me, I'll keep looking but see if anything rings a bell in this search;

https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=Ad...HevR8geFxLGICQ
__________________
Regards, Dave.


Submit New Articles Here

Help us to help you by posting your System Specs
Deejay100six is offline  
Old 09-04-2016, 01:12 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 66
OS: windows 8.1



Hello Dave,
Sorry, didn't mean to hurry you. I understand you have a life too.
What I might try is going to recovery mode to a few weeks ago.
Maybe there's something that's happened over that time frame I'm not aware of.

I will also delete yahoo and reload it if the former doesn't help.

Thanks for your time.

Bob.
Windjammer14
Windjammer14 is offline  
Old 09-04-2016, 11:29 AM   #12
Team Manager - Hardware
Acting Manager, Security Center
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 14,384
OS: Windows 10 Professional

My System


Windows 8 natively install Adobe Flash Player as does Chrome browser. Firefox has been a "bear" to install Adobe Flash player to but it has to happen if it is going to work. Lately FF has been asking permission to use it every time it is needed which made me walk away from FF a month ago.

Sea Monkey, Pale moon, Waterfox and Icefox are all Mozilla browsers but so far they all seem to be working the same way. That means you can use Safari (which I find really spartan), IE but we know Microsoft intends to eventually end that anyway which is why Edge is in Windows 10 or you might try Opera which has a new look and accepts Java and Adobe Flash player without a hiccup as I have been playing with that for over a week and like it a lot.
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and more effectively.
Rich-M is offline  
Old 09-04-2016, 02:10 PM   #13
Moderator, Editor, Articles Team
 
Deejay100six's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Doncaster, Great Britain
Posts: 11,648
OS: Windows 7 Professional SP1

My System


Thanks Rich.

@ Bob, if we had one of those 'mark as best answer' buttons here, I think I'd use it for the above post. Given how many others there are with similar issues, and the [un]-likelihood of a solution being found, maybe Opera is the answer.

I installed it myself a couple of hours ago and can see some subtle differences such as the homepage access and menu bar but maybe I'll learn to live with them. I'm going to give it a go.

Browser | Download Free | Fast & Safe Web Browser | Opera
__________________
Regards, Dave.


Submit New Articles Here

Help us to help you by posting your System Specs
Deejay100six is offline  
Old 09-04-2016, 03:00 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Phantom010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Cyberspace
Posts: 147
OS: Chrome OS



I really don't get why so many people are having trouble with Flash, I honestly really don't. I've been using Flash forever on all my computers, even on my Android smartphones and haven't had a single tiny puny little glitch with it. I use it mainly with Firefox too. It's hardly a reason to flush Firefox! I don't believe Firefox is even the culprit.

There is a Flash Protected Mode that "may" cause issues on some machines, but it can be disabled easily. The plugin should be left on "Always Activate" as well.
Phantom010 is offline  
Old 09-04-2016, 04:02 PM   #15
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 25,389
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


Remember, depending on Browser, there are 3 versions of Flash. I have use for them all.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 09-04-2016, 04:20 PM   #16
Registered Member
 
Phantom010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Cyberspace
Posts: 147
OS: Chrome OS



I believe installing Flash "online" accounts for many problems people get. That's why I often recommend downloading it from HERE and installing it offline.

Adobe says that page and the download links will be decommissioned on Sept. 29, 2016. Sure would like to know why they intend to make it even more difficult for us... It's time for websites to dump Adobe once and for all.
Phantom010 is offline  
Old 09-04-2016, 04:34 PM   #17
Team Manager - Hardware
Acting Manager, Security Center
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 14,384
OS: Windows 10 Professional

My System


I read it that the requirement for new licenses is for business use but in any case they are not helping things and in order to do without Adobe Flash Player sites will have to setup Html5 is my understanding and I can't wait to see compliance there.

All this is so annoying because actually now we are waking up to infection possibilities?
The truth of the matter is there has never been a more stable period with fewer infections that I remember so they have to overreact and screw everything up over Java and Flash Player?
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and more effectively.
Rich-M is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Proxy Server Problem
Many times when a program checks for updates, I will get the message "Unable to connect to Proxy Server. Very annoying to say the least. Can someone give me a clue as to how to fix this problem?
maynuh65 Windows 8, 8.1 Support 24 01-14-2015 12:13 PM
[SOLVED] Malicious Code Has Targeted Firefox - Please Help!
I have been experiencing abnormalities with Firefox, pages not loading correctly, erratic navigation, as well as other problems, since about 2013-04-25. It was on that day that COMODO Internet Security alerted me to several threats (I have attached those logfiles to this post), of which several...
Its Complicated Mozilla/Firefox Browsers 4 05-25-2013 11:57 AM
Mozilla patches critical Firefox bug
For the third consecutive release of Firefox, Mozilla has pushed users a patch shortly after launching a new version of the browser. On Friday, Mozilla updated Firefox to 10.0.1 to patch a crash bug that "may be potentially exploitable" by attackers. The company rated the vulnerability as...
Glaswegian Computer Security News 0 02-13-2012 01:54 PM
Mozilla re-releases Firefox 9, backs out fix causing crashes
A day after it shipped Firefox 9, Mozilla quickly released an update after backing out a bug fix that was causing some Mac, Linux and Windows browsers to crash. Mozilla issued Firefox 9.0.1 Wednesday, making one user wondering if it was bogus because it appeared hard on the heels of version 9. ...
Glaswegian Computer Security News 0 12-22-2011 01:41 PM
[SOLVED] firefox running too slow
hi from a few days ago now i have been having issues with firefox running to slow. every time i go away from the computer the screen save comes on. when i move the mouse or touch a key the screen save would go away straight away but now firefox just freezes and starts runnig too slow so i...
pezzer Mozilla/Firefox Browsers 11 02-23-2011 03:00 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts