User Tag List

Favicon Help

This is a discussion on Favicon Help within the Other Browsers forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello, Vista is my OS. When I open Chrome some of the favicons on the bookmarks bar look like a


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-25-2014, 09:16 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
ryrhino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 128
OS: Windows 10 Home 64 bit

My System


Hello,
Vista is my OS.
When I open Chrome some of the favicons on the bookmarks bar look like a piece of paper with top corner folded. If I click on the paper and the website loads the paper disappears and the correct favicon is on the bookmark bar.
How do I make it so that the favicon does not look like paper and the correct favicon shows all of the time? Only a few favicons look like paper.
Do the favicons turn to paper because of clearing things like cookies and history?
I do not have this issue with Firefox.
Thanks.
ryrhino is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-25-2014, 09:26 AM   #2
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 68,182
OS: win 10 Home



Found this solution:

Close Chrome
Open your User Data folder (User Data Directory - The Chromium Projects)
Delete the Favicons file
Run Chrome
Visit sites to force the icons to be re-downloaded
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 03-25-2014, 07:54 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
ryrhino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 128
OS: Windows 10 Home 64 bit

My System


I did the steps joeten suggested.

I have found that when I run PrivaZer is when my issue happens. I can run other cleaners and no issue. Other than not using PrivaZer any ideas how to prevent favicons looking like a piece of paper?
ryrhino is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-26-2014, 08:04 AM   #4
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 68,182
OS: win 10 Home



Stop using it as it cleans the registry and that could cause you further issues
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 03-26-2014, 12:37 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
ryrhino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 128
OS: Windows 10 Home 64 bit

My System


When I cleared the cache in Chrome the issue also happened.

I don't clear cache often. Any way of preventing favicons going to paper if cache is cleared?
ryrhino is offline  
Old 03-26-2014, 12:41 PM   #6
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 68,182
OS: win 10 Home



Do you restart chrome after clearing the cache
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 03-26-2014, 12:57 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
ryrhino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 128
OS: Windows 10 Home 64 bit

My System


I cleared the cache and when I reopened Chrome some of the favicons looked like paper.
ryrhino is offline  
Old 03-26-2014, 02:02 PM   #8
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 68,182
OS: win 10 Home



You may need to look on the chrome forum for a specific reply to your issue https://productforums.google.com/for...ome/categories
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] asp.net | Favicon not working when I use App_Themes
Hello, I have an asp.net project that I've just modified to use two different App Themes. Naturally, the two themes are secluded in their own folders within the main App_Themes directory. Since I've created the two themes and have moved the styles, the favicon no longer works. I have even put...
codeman061988 Web Design & Development 2 07-28-2013 04:15 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts