Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Printer Support

User Tag List

Epson Workforce 845 phantom printing

This is a discussion on Epson Workforce 845 phantom printing within the Printer Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Every day, sometimes late at night, my Epson printer spits out 10-12 sheets of paper with gibberish on it. I


Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By britechguy
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-21-2020, 03:05 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 4
OS:



Every day, sometimes late at night, my Epson printer spits out 10-12 sheets of paper with gibberish on it. I have hardwired it, turned off port 90 (i think) and tried locking down my wifi...nothing works. Should i suspect AirPrint? something keeps telling it to "keep connection alive." i'm burning through paper and sure hope someone can help.

today's version (see attached) was new...

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	printer.jpg
Views:	46
Size:	101.8 KB
ID:	325372  
pollyh is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-21-2020, 04:40 PM   #2
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 25,980
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


Each component of the message can be Googled for an explanation. Are you on a network with a server? Do you operate a web site?
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2020, 09:19 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 4
OS:



No server, no website. this is a home setup. and yes, while Googling i found that the "keep open" command is for HTTP transport, i cannot find out what in my system keeps sending that message--and why the printer is spitting out pages of command lines.
pollyh is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-22-2020, 10:26 AM   #4
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 25,980
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


I finally saw you have Windows 10. If you mean Hardwired as a parallel port please state. If you mean Ethernet then mention that. Before going through a bunch of suggestions, please install a new printer and if it works, get rid of this install in your Control Panel.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2020, 11:04 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 4
OS:



not sure what "finally saw" is supposed to mean (just ask!) the printer is wired via ethernet cable. when you say "install a new printer" do you mean the Epson software, or an actual physical printer?
pollyh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2020, 11:19 AM   #6
Windows Tech Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 603
OS: Windows 10 Pro, 64-bit, Version 1909

My System


I can't speak for Corday, but when I saw his suggestion, knowing that most of us don't have spare printers lying around, I interpreted as completely removing your printer, including its drivers, then reinstalling from scratch.

This is one of those rare instances where I would uninstall the printer from Device Manager itself, and checking the box to remove all drivers when uninstalling it. Restart your computer afterward.

Then fetch the latest available "full software" package from the Epson Support Pages for your device, and then run it. For good measure I would tweak the device name in Control Panel, Devices and Printers, Printer Properties context menu item, General Tab, so that it is definitely not the default (and I often do this anyway as the default names are often too long or not really descriptive).

Then see if your issue continues.
pollyh likes this.
__________________
Brian
It is better to be hated for what you are than to be loved for what you are not.
~ André Gide
britechguy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2020, 12:08 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 4
OS:



thanks a ton for the clear answer. i'll try this.
pollyh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2020, 12:55 PM   #8
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 25,980
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


As britechguy said. Also if you look at any of your posts next to OS you've left it blank. Go into your UserCP on our site and fill in the info. Including "My System" would be even more helpful when a Tech looks at your problem(s).
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2020, 01:18 PM   #9
Windows Tech Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 603
OS: Windows 10 Pro, 64-bit, Version 1909

My System


And to add your "My System" information, once you've gone in to the User Control Panel, choose the Edit Options link on the left. Once that loads, the third block of options is entitled, "Thread Display Options," and the 5th item is System Specs.

I hadn't even located this before. I just changed it to "Yes" from the default, "No," and will be curious as to whether this data ends up being automatically gathered (and I presume it is) or if I'll have to enter it. Since I wasn't asked to enter anything when I hit Save for that change, I have to presume the forum software will interrogate my computer and populate appropriately. We shall see when I post this.

Addendum: Nope! Not automated, and I don't have the time at the moment to fiddle more with it.
__________________
Brian
It is better to be hated for what you are than to be loved for what you are not.
~ André Gide
britechguy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2020, 12:14 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Cedar Park, TX
Posts: 21
OS: WIN10.0.18363 Home 1909 64 bit



Until you solve this, when you go to bed, remove the paper from the printer and then clear print jobs in the AM. That should save your paper.
kdugan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts