Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Laptop Support

User Tag List

Stuck at boot logo - Acer

This is a discussion on Stuck at boot logo - Acer within the Laptop Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi guys, I've searched around on this, and although the problem is quite common, the cause or solution isn't. Most


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-05-2013, 04:06 PM   #1
TSF Enthusiast
 
Learn2day's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Portugal
Posts: 1,968
OS: Win7x64 SP1



Hi guys,

I've searched around on this, and although the problem is quite common, the cause or solution isn't. Most posts refer to a peripheral device locking the board/BIOS.
Maybe I'm missing something and hopefully someone can help.

Laptop - Acer 5732ZG
Problem - Stuck at boot logo, pressing Esc shows CPU info, pressing F2 hangs on "Please wait...", and nothing else works.

What I've already done:
- Downloaded the service manual and check for such issues in troubleshooting, none found;
- Removed power and battery, drained power for 1min;
- Swapped RAM;
- Removed HDD, DVD, keyboard, touchpad, wifi card and even the LCD cable..

..And it's still stuck at acer logo, connected to an external screen.

Some tips are appreciated.

Thanx! L2D.
__________________
Nexus7(2013)-Nexus5-OnePlus One
Samsung NP530U3C-i5 3317U|HD4000|8Gb|256GB SSD+24GB iSSD
Samsung NP550P5C-i7 3610QM|630m 2GB|16GB|180GB SSD+1TB HDD

Try Harder!
Learn2day is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-05-2013, 04:17 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North East England
Posts: 5,919
OS: Win 7 Home Premium SP1 64bit



Do you have a recovery or install disk that it may boot up with ?
Tomken15 is offline  
Old 02-05-2013, 04:17 PM   #3
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,480
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


Might be a long shot but have you tried to replace the CMOS battery?

First see if you can clear the CMOS:

1. Remove the Battery and Power Cable.
2. Press and hold the power button for 45 seconds.
3. Plug in the battery then power cable.
4. Try to boot.

Also will the laptop just sit on the Acer logo?
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-05-2013, 04:25 PM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North East England
Posts: 5,919
OS: Win 7 Home Premium SP1 64bit



One other thing that you could try is to tap the spacebar as you boot - this can take you to the F8 repair options.
Tomken15 is offline  
Old 02-05-2013, 04:25 PM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
Learn2day's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Portugal
Posts: 1,968
OS: Win7x64 SP1



Thanks for the prompt responses.
Tom, can't boot from anywhere, it's stuck at splash screen logo.
Chief, I already did that, and yes it sits on acer logo for ages, it doesn't go down.
Quote:
- Removed power and battery, drained power for 1min
Thanks again for the quick responses.
__________________
Nexus7(2013)-Nexus5-OnePlus One
Samsung NP530U3C-i5 3317U|HD4000|8Gb|256GB SSD+24GB iSSD
Samsung NP550P5C-i7 3610QM|630m 2GB|16GB|180GB SSD+1TB HDD

Try Harder!
Learn2day is offline  
Old 02-05-2013, 04:26 PM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
Learn2day's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Portugal
Posts: 1,968
OS: Win7x64 SP1



Tried F8 but not the space bar trick. I'll give it a quick go and get back on that.

Thanks.
__________________
Nexus7(2013)-Nexus5-OnePlus One
Samsung NP530U3C-i5 3317U|HD4000|8Gb|256GB SSD+24GB iSSD
Samsung NP550P5C-i7 3610QM|630m 2GB|16GB|180GB SSD+1TB HDD

Try Harder!
Learn2day is offline  
Old 02-05-2013, 04:34 PM   #7
TSF Enthusiast
 
Learn2day's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Portugal
Posts: 1,968
OS: Win7x64 SP1



No luck with the space bar either.. Btw, I also have tried the Alt+F10 trick earlier..

Here's a simple quote of what i read in many similar posts
Quote:
Now... if you remove the hard drive and the system STILL won't progress past the Acer splash screen... you will have just eliminated the hard drive as the cause. At that point, you need to pull everything... the optical drive (CD drive), the wireless card, the keyboard, touchpad connection, battery... even replace the RAM with a stick of known good Ram... then power it on with all that disconnected. If one of the things you removed was causing the system to lock at the Bios splash screen, it will now proceed past it. At that point, you start replacing what you disconnected, one item at a time. You reconnect the touch pad, and turn it on... see if it locks. Power it down, add the keyboard, turn it on, see if it locks, etc.
Acer laptop turns on, bit gets stuck.? - Yahoo! Answers

Thanks.
__________________
Nexus7(2013)-Nexus5-OnePlus One
Samsung NP530U3C-i5 3317U|HD4000|8Gb|256GB SSD+24GB iSSD
Samsung NP550P5C-i7 3610QM|630m 2GB|16GB|180GB SSD+1TB HDD

Try Harder!
Learn2day is offline  
Old 02-05-2013, 04:40 PM   #8
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North East England
Posts: 5,919
OS: Win 7 Home Premium SP1 64bit



Looks like you have your work cut out - don't suppose you've left a CD/DVD in the drive ?
Tomken15 is offline  
Old 02-05-2013, 10:53 PM   #9
TSF Enthusiast
 
Learn2day's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Portugal
Posts: 1,968
OS: Win7x64 SP1



Nop.. Nothing in the drive and ATM no drive in the laptop. I removed everything, according to my earlier quote, and I'm still stuck. I was hoping someone here would have some new ideas for me.. bump!
__________________
Nexus7(2013)-Nexus5-OnePlus One
Samsung NP530U3C-i5 3317U|HD4000|8Gb|256GB SSD+24GB iSSD
Samsung NP550P5C-i7 3610QM|630m 2GB|16GB|180GB SSD+1TB HDD

Try Harder!
Learn2day is offline  
Old 02-06-2013, 01:17 AM   #10
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North East England
Posts: 5,919
OS: Win 7 Home Premium SP1 64bit



Have you checked to see if you get the memory error beeps when you boot without the RAM ?

I have both my laptops set to check the disk player first on boot so should I ever find myself in a no boot situation and it isn't hardware related, then sticking the ISO in would hopefully get me out of trouble without too much of a do.
Tomken15 is offline  
Old 02-06-2013, 03:19 PM   #11
TSF Enthusiast
 
Learn2day's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Portugal
Posts: 1,968
OS: Win7x64 SP1



Now you got me scared Tom.. Once it was booting splash screen i was assuming it was fine, but.. No beeps without RAM.. Unfortunately i had no time to work on it today, tomorrow i'll try to put some more time on it.

Thanks again Tom. Cheers.
__________________
Nexus7(2013)-Nexus5-OnePlus One
Samsung NP530U3C-i5 3317U|HD4000|8Gb|256GB SSD+24GB iSSD
Samsung NP550P5C-i7 3610QM|630m 2GB|16GB|180GB SSD+1TB HDD

Try Harder!
Learn2day is offline  
Old 02-06-2013, 04:24 PM   #12
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North East England
Posts: 5,919
OS: Win 7 Home Premium SP1 64bit



While you're at it, you could try alternating sticks with slots just in case there's a defect which is causing a conflict.

I think that's the only way you can check RAM when it won't boot, unless you have another machine which uses the same spec.

With everything stripped out, then it only leaves the RAM and the mobo.

Did you remove the CMOS battery to reset the BIOS ?
Tomken15 is offline  
Old 02-06-2013, 04:34 PM   #13
TSF Enthusiast
 
Learn2day's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Portugal
Posts: 1,968
OS: Win7x64 SP1


Regarding the RAM I have replacement sticks, and they're not working either. I've tried all that and more.
I still haven't dismantled the laptop in a faint hope the problem was peripheral, I'll get to it tomorrow.

Thanks.
__________________
Nexus7(2013)-Nexus5-OnePlus One
Samsung NP530U3C-i5 3317U|HD4000|8Gb|256GB SSD+24GB iSSD
Samsung NP550P5C-i7 3610QM|630m 2GB|16GB|180GB SSD+1TB HDD

Try Harder!
Learn2day is offline  
Old 02-12-2013, 01:40 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
skulldrinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 12
OS: win 7 sp1



Have you removed the HD and attached it as a slave to another computer to run CHKDSK on it or other system file fixes? I bet that will work.
skulldrinker is offline  
Old 02-12-2013, 01:48 PM   #15
TSF Enthusiast
 
Learn2day's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Portugal
Posts: 1,968
OS: Win7x64 SP1



How will that work if it doesn't even without HDD?
__________________
Nexus7(2013)-Nexus5-OnePlus One
Samsung NP530U3C-i5 3317U|HD4000|8Gb|256GB SSD+24GB iSSD
Samsung NP550P5C-i7 3610QM|630m 2GB|16GB|180GB SSD+1TB HDD

Try Harder!
Learn2day is offline  
Old 02-12-2013, 02:39 PM   #16
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 68,197
OS: win 10 Home



Hi L2D I would be looking to the board at this point caps,solder,resistors you could try putting back the cd\dvd drive and have a go with a linux distro see if you get any joy booting from that and using the live mode it is a last shot really but can't hurt
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 02-12-2013, 03:32 PM   #17
Registered Member
 
skulldrinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 12
OS: win 7 sp1



Quote:
Originally Posted by Learn2day View Post
How will that work if it doesn't even without HDD?
Oh sorry thought it was getting passed the BIOS. To the Windows start logo.

I got the same problem with this Toshiba I'm working on. I'm looking at the board now.
skulldrinker is offline  
Old 02-12-2013, 03:33 PM   #18
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 68,197
OS: win 10 Home



We all read things a little off sometimes (or maybe that is just me)lol
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 02-12-2013, 04:27 PM   #19
TSF Enthusiast
 
Learn2day's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Portugal
Posts: 1,968
OS: Win7x64 SP1



Hi.

I've been looking at this bit by bit as I'm currently with to much on my hands to focus on one laptop alone. I've tried all that and more. At this point, i'll give it a try replacing the CPU in a faint hope it will do the trick. If that doesn't work my only option left is to check the board.
Can anyone find the board schematics? all i could find was the block diagram..
https://datasheetgadget.files.wordpre...8/la-4851p.png

I'm tired beyond exhaustion.. Time for bed. Cya tomorrow!

Cheers.
__________________
Nexus7(2013)-Nexus5-OnePlus One
Samsung NP530U3C-i5 3317U|HD4000|8Gb|256GB SSD+24GB iSSD
Samsung NP550P5C-i7 3610QM|630m 2GB|16GB|180GB SSD+1TB HDD

Try Harder!
Learn2day is offline  
Old 02-13-2013, 07:32 AM   #20
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 68,197
OS: win 10 Home



Hi does that model have another model number matched with it
Collection schemetic laptop Acer - General-Laptops-Notebooks - Laptops-Notebooks
Service manuals, Schematics > Laptops > Acer. Download Free.
Laptop & Motherboard Schematic
these are the best I can find there are others which you pay for I think the ones I have given are all free apologies if that is incorrect
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stuck On Boot Durring Firmware Update
Hey guys, I've had a new PC for a while now that was pretty good. The only problem I had was my hard drive was a bit slow, and I was recommended to check for a firmware update, and there was one. I have a Seagate Barracuda ST1000DM003 1TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" I downloaded the...
MaskMan131 Hard Drive Support 1 12-21-2012 06:51 PM
ACER Aspire 5536 - No boot from CD-ROM after attempted hard drive upgrade
I have installed a new hard drive in my ACER Aspire 5536. I placed the old hard drive in an external USB enclosure. I then booted the laptop with EaseUS Todo Backup 4 from a bootable CD-ROM and selected to clone the disk from the external to the internal hard drive and choose the option to...
Martin Brownlow Laptop Support 6 10-27-2012 12:11 PM
Acer 5520 can't get it to boot....
I aquired a acer 5520 which had a harddrive issue. I un-installed the harddrive from it and hooked it to my desktop and wiped it and reformatted it. I then re-installed it in the laptop. I changed boot order to boot from CD\DVD. I can't get it to boot. I didn't assign a drive letter to the laptop...
growler702 Laptop Support 2 02-14-2012 04:54 PM
[SOLVED] Acer ASPIRE 5520g boot problem (when turned on it turns off)
https://www.techsupportforum.com/forums/f108/solved-acer-aspire-5520g-boot-problem-when-turned-on-it-turns-off-415617-2.html Got exact the same problem, i was just working on this laptop when it suddently started restarting without reason, havent tried bios flash or anything and now i can`t...
voovode Laptop Support 3 01-15-2011 12:01 PM
Acer 4710z support query
I am using acer 4710z notebook. I want to know whether it will support any TV Tuner Card (type LCD or others) which can be used to view DTH service. My configuration is Acer Aspire 4710 Series Notebook Detailed Technical Specifications: Processor Intel® Centrino® Duo mobile processor...
mdhar1 Other Hardware Support 1 01-11-2011 06:33 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts