Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Laptop Support

User Tag List

Dell Latitude E6500 laptop Driver update problem

This is a discussion on Dell Latitude E6500 laptop Driver update problem within the Laptop Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Dell Latitude E6500 laptop -- (that's the model, not the CPU), Windows 7. Doing a mundane driver update. Downloaded .exe


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-14-2015, 11:51 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Nei1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Scranton
Posts: 18
OS: xp pro

My System

Pin

Dell Latitude E6500 laptop -- (that's the model, not the CPU), Windows 7.

Doing a mundane driver update. Downloaded .exe driver-installation files to the desktop, which are self extracting zip files that need to be unzipped before they can be run.

When I click on the .exe files, I get an error (or something) message:

"This self-extracting zip file is part of a multidisk zip file. Please insert the last disk of the set."

Say what?

I found someone on an earlier TechSupportForum thread had the same problem with a Dell Inspiron laptop. Someone with ESP figured the message indicated that the downloaded .exe files were corrupt. Somehow, he (or she) suggested downloading to a USB thumb drive to solve the problem.

For some reason, that worked with this computer. The Dell webpage said the files are 25 MB and 79 MB. The downloaded "files" on the hard drive were only 4 MB and 10 MB, corrupt as predicted.

I stuck a thumb drive into the laptop, clicked the download links again, told it to download to the thumbdrive, and got full downloads, 26 MB and 81 MB.

I don't know why downloading to the C: drive didn't work.

I copied the [complete] files to the C: drive. Better to run them from the C: than the hairy thumb drive, I assume.

Clicked on them, and they extract and run fine. Now I just have to figure out how to turn the barrage of extracted files into proper driver installations. Looks like a bunch of driver files, but I don't see any actual "installation" file. Fortunately, I love Dell, and I'm delighted to hit my head against a brick wall for them if that's what's necessary. Remember, if you're ever in need of a computer, then automatically purchase a Dell without even thinking about it.

------

Have a .gif, leave a .gif.
Need a .gif, take a .gif


-neil-
Nei1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-14-2015, 12:26 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,641
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Quote:
Looks like a bunch of driver files, but I don't see any actual "installation" file.
When you download the driver from Dell, it should be a self extracting Zipped file. (eg) once it has finished downloading, it will unzip the archive automatically. It will ask where you want to unzip the archive to and give you a default location (eg) C:\Dell\Drivers or some such. Take note of where it unzips to. If this did not unzip correctly and you have copied the unzipped file to your computer, and there is no Setup.exe in the file.
Then in the Device Manager, Right click the device with Yellow Flag that you are trying to install the driver for, and choose Update Driver. Browse it to the Unzipped folder on your C: drive and lead it to the .inf file to install the driver.
spunk.funk is online now  
Old 12-15-2015, 07:59 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Nei1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Scranton
Posts: 18
OS: xp pro

My System


Hi Spunk.Funk. Thanks for inhabiting TechSupportForum.

I guess I got stuck on a single way of doing things, that the driver wouldn't only be self-extracting, but also self installing.

I forgot the old traditional Device Manager > Update Driver. Long time since I did it that way, maybe even back to XP. Thanks for the reminder.

I see the Data Vault Whatsitt in the Device Manager (driver from 2009), and I'm on my way.

Thanks,
-n-
Nei1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-15-2015, 08:59 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Nei1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Scranton
Posts: 18
OS: xp pro

My System


Done. Device Driver says it's up to 2012.

There was a text file in the extracted bundle that said to update the firmware first, and then do the driver update. And the extracted files included a firmware folder and a driver folder.

So, first into the firmware folder. A half dozen .exe files, and the user has to divine which .exe file is the right one, because the .txt file neglected to specify. -1 for Dell. It's that kind of problem that makes me moan when the update isn't totally automated.

Then, pointed the Device Driver at the driver folder. That was fast and easy.

The computer refers to the driver as "ControlVault Without Fingerprint Sensor." I'm still not convinced I needed the driver. There's no ControlVault in the Start menu or any program files. I did separate searches on the hard drive for "ControlVault" and "vault" and the only thing anywhere is the drivers I just downloaded. And there's no fingerprint sensor. When I did the firmware update, there were no errors, but there was no acknowledgement.

But it was good practice.

Anyway, back in my first post, I mentioned the problem when going to the Dell/Support website, downloading a driver-update file from Dell's webpage onto the computer's hard drive, and then you get an "Insert last disk" error when you click on the file. I just wanted to share the solution if you get that error when trying to run their updates. Thanks for letting me ramble.

-n-
Nei1 is offline  
Old 12-15-2015, 05:33 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,641
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Your laptop has a fingerprint sensor next to the touchpad to securely login to your laptop with your fingerprint, if you like. I do not like or use this feature, as you have to put your finger on it exactly as it was recorded. But if you want to use it,
After installing the software, go to Start - Programs - Broadcom - USH Tools - Control Vault WBF and swith to "enable". Now Windows should find a new device and when you go to system settings, biometric devices you'll see the sensor. Now you can register fingerprints for windows authentication.
spunk.funk is online now  
Old 12-16-2015, 08:27 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Nei1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Scranton
Posts: 18
OS: xp pro

My System

Post

Hi Spunk.Funk

I checked the manual . There are two skinny, forward-facing loudspeaker grills on both sides of they keyboard. Optionally, the right-side grill is partially displaced by the fingerprint reader. But this laptop doesn't have it.

Also, searching the entire hard drive for "vault" doesn't return anything except the stuff that got downloaded with the driver-update file.

OK about it being "touchy" about finger placement, no pun intended, to the point of being a nuisance. Cool that you've had a chance to play with one of them.

Wow. Millions of USB fingerprint readers on eBay for $10 to $15. I don't need it now, but I'll file that for future reference. Amazon too, they get pretty good ratings. They're probably a couple of generations newer and easier to use than the reader Dell put in that Latitude.

Best luck,
-neil-
Nei1 is offline  
Old 12-16-2015, 12:37 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,641
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


The reader should be as shown in attached pic. Even if you don't have it, the Bios may still want to load a driver for it, since Dell may have added this to the Bios but not the device.
If you want to activate it, follow the suggestions in post #5

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image09_Nov._13_01.40.jpg
Views:	218
Size:	30.0 KB
ID:	266114  
spunk.funk is online now  
Old 12-16-2015, 02:50 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Nei1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Scranton
Posts: 18
OS: xp pro

My System


That computer you attached looks like a cross between a Dell and a ToughBook. I attached a picture of the Dell E6500, a much wimpier looking laptop.

The optional fingerprint reader on the E6500 is in the right-side speaker space. The computer here is a little different than the picture in that it has a full-length right-side speaker and no fingerprint reader.

Roger about the BIOS.

> Even if you don't have it, the Bios may still want to load a driver for it

I didn't realize that's a Bios function. I guess my architecture knowledge is hitting its limit with that one. I guess if you want to keep strangers from getting into your Windows by using a fingerprint reader, you have to stop them at the Bios. (1 remaining braincell.)

-n-
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Latitude E6500 Setup Guide.JPG
Views:	180
Size:	80.9 KB
ID:	266162  
Nei1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows Xp slow boot after splash screen
After the Windows Xp splash screen I get about 30 to 40 seconds of blackness (could be more) before the cursor appears. When I start in Safe Mode it takes a long time to load mup.sys but that could just be because it's the last one to load. Here's by most recent ntbtlog.txt: Service...
Sulla Windows XP Support 5 06-17-2013 10:29 AM
FBI.Cybercrime lock-out
Hello and thank you in advance for helping me. I am locked out of my computer with a notice from "FBI.Cybercrime" to pay a fine or the FBI will be here to haul me off to prison. I received a suggestion that through Bleeping Computers I would find the instructions to follow for self help removal...
Cathy95820 Resolved HJT Threads 34 05-06-2013 03:49 AM
[SOLVED] Re: IE7 cannot connect with secure sites
Hi...Corday of the Internet Explorer forum site suggested that I put the DDS file and Attach files on this forum. I could not download the ark.txt from the many GMER sites that I saw. The following was sent to Corday who suggested the re-direction to the Security centre. Corday..thanks...
raringer Resolved HJT Threads 43 06-26-2012 08:33 PM
Windows 7 hangs just after startup each time
Just after startup, I can see the desktop, all icons, the system tray, etc., but if I click anything, it immediately hangs. I am eventually given an error from the bottom left corner of the screen stating that "Microsoft Windows" is not responding. I can wait and the application may respond or I...
slhaas BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 3 08-03-2011 04:49 AM
Some kind of redirect on computer (Monster Marketplace)
I don't know how this happened, but something has gotten into my computer that constantly redirects anything I click on. If I enter a search in the box, that does OK, but whenever I click on anything, there's a high likelihood that what I've clicked on won't come up - quite often, Monster...
Calgirl Resolved HJT Threads 198 05-23-2011 06:01 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts