User Tag List

Trying to run DDS

This is a discussion on Trying to run DDS within the Resolved HJT Threads forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I accidentally posted to another Tech Support forum and they told me to post here. My Asus laptop running Windows


 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-03-2016, 05:50 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: TX & WI
Posts: 345
OS: Windows 10



I accidentally posted to another Tech Support forum and they told me to post here. My Asus laptop running Windows 8.1 was recently compromised. I have changed passwords using my husband's laptop. I had unwanted programs cleaned off my laptop by a local computer repair place (reputable). However, I'm still getting pop ups (fake scam pop ups)URGENT CHROME UPDATE, and YOUR COMPUTER HAS BEEN LOCKED - CALL THE NUMBER ON THE SCREEN. Two days ago I couldn't get into either of my email accounts. Again I used my husband's laptop to change my login passwords, but I'm afraid to use my laptop for fear that every key stroke is being recorded. I was trying to run the DDS which was in the instructions I received and then was supposed to post those logs here. I keep getting - DDS is not meant to run in Compatibility Mode. I can't find where to turn that off or run as administrator or any other way to get it to run so I can produce the reports.

When my laptop was compromised, I was unable to install Anti-Virus. The first one I tried - Avira - is what lead to the hacking of my laptop. It was blocking sites I've used for years and when I uninstalled it, I was still getting the blocked sites. I thought I was calling Avira tech support, but I realized too late that it was a hoax. By that time I'd been hacked. All my restore points had also been deleted.

I'm ready to REFRESH or RESET my laptop but was asked to please post to this forum before I did that. Since I can't run DDS on my laptop, I can't do what was required. I downloaded the program to my husband's laptop and it works fine. So I don't know if that is another "hacker problem" or if something is set wrong my laptop. Advice needed!!! My husband wants me to get a new laptop - I'd like to do REFRESH or RESET first. Sharing his laptop is not working well. HELP!!
flydonna is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-03-2016, 12:33 PM   #2
Security Team
Moderator, Analyst
Rangemaster, TSF Academy
 
chemist's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Georgia
Posts: 29,790
OS: XP/Win7/Win10



Hello and Welcome to TSF.

If you haven't already, please Subscribe to this Thread to get immediate notification of replies as soon as they are posted. To do this click Thread Tools, then click Subscribe to this Thread. Make sure it is set to Instant notification by email, then click Add Subscription.

Please note that the forum is very busy and if I don't hear from you within three days this thread will be closed.

------------------------------------------------------

**Note - Please do NOT upgrade your OS to Windows 10 until your machine is clean, and we have uninstalled all our removal tools. Thanks.

------------------------------------------------------

Please download AdwCleaner from here and save it to your desktop.
  • Run AdwCleaner and select Scan
  • Once the Scan is done, select Clean
  • Once done it will ask to reboot, please allow the reboot.
  • On reboot, a log will be produced. It can also be found at C:\AdwCleaner\AdwCleaner[C#].txt
  • Please copy/paste the contents of the log in your next reply.
------------------------------------------------------

Please download Farbar Recovery Scan Tool and save it to your desktop.

Note: You need to run the version compatible with your system.
If you are not sure which version applies to your system download both of them and try to run them.
Only one of them will run on your system, that will be the right version.
  • Double-click to run it. When the tool opens click Yes to the disclaimer.
  • Make sure the Addition.txt button is ticked.
  • Press Scan button.
  • It will make a log (FRST.txt) in the same directory the tool is run. Please copy and paste it to your reply.
  • The first time the tool is run, it also makes another log (Addition.txt). Please attach it to your reply.
------------------------------------------------------
__________________
Our services are free, but you may contribute to the author of ComboFix via PayPal

Proud member of UNITE

Microsoft MVP - Consumer Security 2014, 2015
chemist is offline  
Old 08-03-2016, 05:43 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: TX & WI
Posts: 345
OS: Windows 10



This thread can be closed. I have been frustrated for over a week and sharing my husband's laptop was not working. Today I did a RESET on my Asus running Windows 8.1. I just didn't have time to wait for answers and try different things but I truly appreciate the help you have given me in this - and all other times!!
flydonna is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-03-2016, 07:59 PM   #4
Security Team
Moderator, Analyst
Rangemaster, TSF Academy
 
chemist's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Georgia
Posts: 29,790
OS: XP/Win7/Win10



You're welcome. Thanks for letting us know.
__________________
Our services are free, but you may contribute to the author of ComboFix via PayPal

Proud member of UNITE

Microsoft MVP - Consumer Security 2014, 2015
chemist is offline  
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
fra.loadresync.net adding lines of code to webpage
In my case I am using Firefox to create automated test cases. During this process is discovered fra.loadresync.net was running a delaying my page loads and actions on a page, anytime the page went to gather information this site would be called. I have researched online and I find very little about...
kfoxsr Resolved HJT Threads 17 09-22-2015 11:21 AM
BSODs on new install
ˇ OS - Windows 7 ˇ x64 ˇ What was original installed OS on system? OEM came with Vista, later upgraded to Windows 7 x86, recently to Windows 7 x64 ˇ full retail version ˇ Age of system (hardware) Main system was purchased 2007, DVD drives, motherboard original equipment. Two new HDD, Seagate...
KelvinF BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 3 03-21-2013 07:42 PM
Urgent help needed to remove multiple virus :win64/patched.A and Trojan.
Dear tech guru, I got hit by the FBI virus a day and a half ago and later more viruses came in unexpected. Here are the details of my computer and the viruses. I have already backed up my system, and ran the tdsskiller and otl. I would like to completely get rid of the viruses. Your help is...
deesw8 Resolved HJT Threads 52 11-05-2012 09:56 AM
Infected, can't run browsers long When I close either Sea Monkey or Chrome the exe r
Help me please, I got infected some time ago with some kind of root kit not sure which but it was one of those that says your system is infected even thought it's not and tells you to run it's software. I ran Spyobot, Anti Malware and Mcafee amongst others, never got rid of it, it was also hiding...
wealthwise Resolved HJT Threads 1 12-24-2011 07:24 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts