Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

User Tag List

xp wont boot from disk anymore

This is a discussion on xp wont boot from disk anymore within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. ever since i installed a dvd rw drive, I cant boot from xp cd to reformat my pc. at this


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-30-2009, 06:28 AM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 11
OS:



ever since i installed a dvd rw drive, I cant boot from xp cd to reformat my pc. at this time the dvd is master and the cd rw is slave. i`ve tried the disk in both drives as well. i`ve changed the bios settings all to cd and still wont boot. i`ve tried start up floppy also set up in bios and still no luck.
thx 4 any help
djd67 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-30-2009, 06:42 AM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
manic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 5,741
OS: xp



List all hardware specs. Why do you want to format? Does the machine
give you any beeps when you turn it on? If and when the pc worked did
it ever give you post beeps?
manic is offline  
Old 05-30-2009, 07:00 AM   #3
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 11
OS:



Dell 2.4, celeron, 256, 30 gig hd, LG dvdrw +/- with lightscribe, cdrw +/-
no beeps , just getting really plugged up and slow. i have everything i want backed up on disk. i just want to start from a clean slate.
Keep in mind that this worked before the dvd install.
djd67 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-30-2009, 07:06 AM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
manic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 5,741
OS: xp



Check all connections inside of box, you may have loosened something.
Are you sure the jumpers are set correctly on the dvd/cd rom drives?

Did the pc give post beeps before this happened.
manic is offline  
Old 05-30-2009, 07:19 AM   #5
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 11
OS:



thx for the replies maniac
i`ve already eliminated cables and jumpers. there are no beeps i`m wondering if i should remove the dvd drive pysically and put everything back the way it was before. still i should`nt have to do that....
is it possible that bios wont pick up the cdrw drive because its the slave? and why wont it boot from floopy
by the way this xp i`m using now is an custom made sp3 with vista insparata upgrade.
Damn dog chewed my original xp disk
djd67 is offline  
Old 05-30-2009, 07:26 AM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
manic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 5,741
OS: xp



The drive being set to slave should not be a issue for boot priority.
Set it up the way it was see what happens. Does the light come on
when booting to the floppy? In older machines if the floppy was bad
it would cause some strange problems.
Dells are infamous for having weak power supplies.
manic is offline  
Old 05-30-2009, 07:32 AM   #7
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 11
OS:



i do get the sys to start the boot from floppy, it just wont read the disks, and yes the light comes on. i`ve tried different disks as well to eliminate maybe some bad disks but the result is always the same.
I have an older bootable win95 cd that i`ve also tried, it dont work either.
djd67 is offline  
Old 05-30-2009, 07:50 AM   #8
TSF Enthusiast
 
manic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 5,741
OS: xp



Maybe you have a bad floppy disk or disks, they go bad fairly soon.
Are you trying to use xp boot floppies..
https://support.microsoft.com/kb/310994
Or the floppy drive may be dirty, or broke, those things break easily
to Im afraid.
Ive had to use xp boot floppies in the past, works well.
manic is offline  
Old 05-30-2009, 07:53 AM   #9
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 11
OS:



i`ll try that next, and reply Thx maniac
djd67 is offline  
Old 05-30-2009, 12:40 PM   #10
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 11
OS:



Well, i reset all the hardware back to original setup. removed dvdrw, set cdrw back to master, set bios for (1) boot from cd, (2) boot from cd, (3) boot from floppy, (4) boot from hard drive.
now even using startup disks, when i get the a:\ prompt, I type in d:\setup.exe and get "d:\ invalid drive" error. i`ve uninstalled the d drive completely and reinstalled hoping that bios or the motherboard would pick it up, but nothing. the floppy startup disk works fine now, but thats as far as i can get.
djd67 is offline  
Old 05-30-2009, 12:48 PM   #11
TSF Enthusiast
 
manic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 5,741
OS: xp



Sounds like your using a win98 or 95 boot floppy. Thats not going
to work when trying to install xp. You need to create six boot floppies
from the link I gave you. If you did that there is never a request by
the setup program to type anything in a dos prompt, the disks do there
own thing.
manic is offline  
Old 05-30-2009, 12:58 PM   #12
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 11
OS:



i have boot floppies for 95, which i have the 95 disk for as well
and i also have the 6 floppies for xp and xp disk as well
I`m set up to do either.
i`m not tryin to boot xp with 95 floppies or vice versa.
it seems now the immediate prob is that drive d is not recognized when running off boot disks
djd67 is offline  
Old 06-01-2009, 03:37 PM   #13
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 11
OS:



at this point the motherboard or bios will not recognize the cdrw or the dvd drive period, even with the boot floppies. is it possible that a virus is the cause?
djd67 is offline  
Old 06-01-2009, 04:30 PM   #14
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 11
OS:



also when i run the boot disks i get an error : d:\invalid drive , but everything in bios is set up for it.
djd67 is offline  
Old 06-01-2009, 04:38 PM   #15
Troubled
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2,854
OS:



Why don't you just boot off of the Windows XP CD?
deleted010511 is offline  
Old 06-01-2009, 05:07 PM   #16
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 11
OS:



the entire problem as stated in every post above is that the sys. will not boot from cd, even when using boot disks, drive d is not recognized.
djd67 is offline  
Old 06-01-2009, 05:15 PM   #17
Troubled
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2,854
OS:



In the bios if your CD rom drive is not showing up then you either have the cables reversed or the jumper pin set incorrectly. Start there and get the drive recognized in the Bios and then you can boot from the CD
deleted010511 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts