Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

User Tag List

XP on multiple HDs, select which one?

This is a discussion on XP on multiple HDs, select which one? within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I didn't know whether too post this here since it deals with using windows or in the hardware section since


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-14-2010, 09:25 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 29
OS: xp



I didn't know whether too post this here since it deals with using windows or in the hardware section since it also deals with hard drives so sry if its in the wrong place but...

Skip to the last paragraph if you just want the basic question.

Do to my amazing luck every computer in my house has at one time failed and i dont have money for another one. Computer 1, the one i'm on now, had the ntdlr error with a broken disk drive so i couldn't use the windows cd. Computer 2, my most used computer, had a dying motherboard and the guy at the store told me i could buy a new one with the money i would spend fixing that one (all the hardware was old school hardware i guess you could say lol) So i used the disk drive from that to figure out a way to get this one working.

This one has 3 HDs in it, the original two and one i put in there from my other computer. I'm not really familiar with windows installations but since the computer was as good as gone anyways nothing could be worse then tryin and either succeeding or failing and use my horrible laptop. So i played around and got windows reinstalled on the computer's 2nd original HD. The first HD had a max of around 60 some gigs and the one that windows is now running off of has a max of 5.... I have no clue who would waste their time making and installing that but i didn't buy this computer so idk. Anywho, i have another 30 gig drive (i think 30) from my dead computer that was used solely for the windows installation since all the files on it i transfered to my larger one which is around 180 gigs i think. Now this 30 gig i thought was dead but it is working fine and it it was XP pro on it and much more space for updates. What i'm working with now doesn't have enough free space to install an antivirus....

So, getting past all the stuff i probably didn't need to tell you... With no working disk drive but an HD with XP pro is there a way i can plug it in and get it to run windows from that drive? right now the Master drive slot is still open so i could plug it in there but there is another black plug going to the 5 gig so idk if somehow this computer has 2 master plugs or what.
Maverin1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-15-2010, 12:07 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 29
OS: xp



A little extra, they are IDE drives (wide cables)
Maverin1 is offline  
Old 08-15-2010, 01:49 AM   #3
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,272
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Ok, your message is all over the place and I'm not sure I'm clear about what you've done. So, when you install Windows on a PC it takes a snapshot of the various hardware on that computer and installs drivers for it. Now if you take a HDD with a Windows installation on it and put it on another computer with different chipset and hardware, it will not boot, because it is looking for the previous computers hardware. So, take your largest HDD and remove all the data you want off of it, and format it, and install XP on to the computer you want to work. You then can add the other drives if you like for extra storage after you have completed the install.
spunk.funk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts