Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

User Tag List

XP not finding ip address after disconnect

This is a discussion on XP not finding ip address after disconnect within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have a laptop that somehow got disconnected from my wireless network. I have 1 laptop, 1 desktop, playstation 3,


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-30-2009, 08:59 AM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 6
OS:


Mistake

I have a laptop that somehow got disconnected from my wireless network. I have 1 laptop, 1 desktop, playstation 3, 2 tivo wireless adapters on my network. All of my other connections are working fine. I realized that the antenna was turned off so I turned it on and got connected to my network... but it says re-newing / serching for ip address and nothing I have done seems to work... I reset winsock and a couple other things but nothing seems to work

Has anyone had this happen... My cable modem (comcast)and wireless router (wrt54g) work fine I don't know what happened... help!!!
topfuel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-30-2009, 09:37 AM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
kev1952's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Townsville, Australia
Posts: 1,036
OS: Win Vista Home Premium



If you are using WEP security you most likely need to re-enter your WEP key.
__________________
Cheers.... Kev

"Hardware: the parts of a computer that can be kicked!"

Please don't send me PM's for support. Post in the forums for everyone to benefit.
kev1952 is offline  
Old 06-30-2009, 10:07 AM   #3
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 6
OS:



im using WEP2 and I did re-enter the key
topfuel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-30-2009, 10:44 AM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 625
OS: XP Pro, Vista,W7 and OSX 10.5.8, 10.6.6 on a PC



Quote:
Originally Posted by topfuel View Post
im using WEP2 and I did re-enter the key
If you temporarily remove the wireless security from your router will it connect? Have you tried removing this wireless profile from your laptop and putting it in again?
__________________
"follow me I'm right behind you"
Receng56 is offline  
Old 06-30-2009, 10:58 AM   #5
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 6
OS:



I did remove all security and nothing happened. I can try to remove the profile and re-install and see what happens

thanks
topfuel is offline  
Old 06-30-2009, 11:12 AM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 625
OS: XP Pro, Vista,W7 and OSX 10.5.8, 10.6.6 on a PC



Quote:
Originally Posted by topfuel View Post
I did remove all security and nothing happened. I can try to remove the profile and re-install and see what happens

thanks
Are you using windows to connect to your wireless network or another bit of software?
__________________
"follow me I'm right behind you"
Receng56 is offline  
Old 06-30-2009, 11:45 AM   #7
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 6
OS:



I was using a network management software from Linksys but removed it and re installed it many times trying to fix my issue. Right now it is not installed
topfuel is offline  
Old 06-30-2009, 11:46 AM   #8
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 6
OS:



The other issue im having is my desktop fan keeps turning on and off like the computer is working hard but no one is using it... any ideas?
topfuel is offline  
Old 06-30-2009, 12:03 PM   #9
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 625
OS: XP Pro, Vista,W7 and OSX 10.5.8, 10.6.6 on a PC



Quote:
Originally Posted by topfuel View Post
I was using a network management software from Linksys but removed it and re installed it many times trying to fix my issue. Right now it is not installed
So when you click on view available wireless ntworks they show up in the windows application? Re your next post it sounds like your laptop maybe over heating. Try carefully sucking any dust etc from whereever the fan intake is! Turn your vacuum down to its lowest setting if you don't have a air spray!
__________________
"follow me I'm right behind you"
Receng56 is offline  
Old 06-30-2009, 12:39 PM   #10
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 6
OS:



Yes it says im connected to the network it just keeps saying aquiring new ip address and it never does... I left my computer on for 4 hours and it still did not find it. when I open a box to see my ip address it is blank... just all zeros
topfuel is offline  
Old 06-30-2009, 12:48 PM   #11
Team Manager - Networking
Moderator - Hardware
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 19,786
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


Clear and reconfigure your router and then reconfigure your network setup on your PC.
JimE is offline  
Old 06-30-2009, 06:21 PM   #12
TSF Enthusiast
 
lorjack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 2,973
OS: XP, Win7



IP address of all 0's indicates a problem with services, a duplicate IP, drivers or defective hardware.


Verify that the following services are running.
To access services: Start > run > services.msc

Services:
Workstation
Computer Browser
Network Location Awareness
TCP/IP Netbios helper
DNS Client
Server
Network Connections
Remote Procedure Call
DHCP Client

Wireless Services:
Wireless Zero Configuration
COM+ Event System
WLAN AutoConfig (for Vista)


Turn off all network devices then turn on the router and the problem computer. See if it can get an IP address.

Reinstall the latest drivers for the network card.

You can try this as well.

Windows XP
Open up a command prompt (Start > Run > CMD)
Type the bolded commands in the command prompt window:

Reset TCP/IP Stack: netsh int ip reset reset.log
Reset WINSOCK entries: netsh winsock reset catalog

When finished reboot
lorjack is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts