Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

User Tag List

XP installation on a formatted hard drive

This is a discussion on XP installation on a formatted hard drive within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have an old PC I am trying to restore and use for a dummy machine. (minimal speed tasks) It


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-27-2009, 06:12 PM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
OS:



I have an old PC I am trying to restore and use for a dummy machine. (minimal speed tasks) It used to have spyware and possibly viruses on it as well so I slaved it to another machine and completely formatted the drive. Forgetful me wiped out the boot.ini, ntdetect.com files and other necessary files. So I am at my dilemma. I need to know what steps I need to take to install windows xp on this disk and get my PC up and running. I have no boot disk, just my windows xp installation disk.

please advise....
lyonder2000 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-27-2009, 06:48 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
jarod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Malaysia, Klang
Posts: 639
OS: Windows 7 Home Basic

My System


I dun think you can install XP while the hard drive is slaved towards another computer bczu after all the installation is done, the HDD will be tied to the motherboard and any transfer of the HDD to another computer will not work. In the end you will end up with 2 OS on a single computer

You will need to make the HDD a master in another computer and install it from there. Once the HDD is installed in another computer, set the PC to boot from the XP disk from BIOS settings
jarod is offline  
Old 01-27-2009, 07:54 PM   #3
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
OS:



I only slaved it in another machine to format it. Afterwards, I did take it out and place it in the current machine to install XP. However I receive an error at boot up that the NTLDR is missing.
lyonder2000 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-28-2009, 06:04 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 19
OS: XP Pro SP3



Go into your system BIOS and set your optical drive to boot first. Insert your Installation disk in the optical drive and it should boot to the Windows XP Setup. Hit Enter and then follow the instructions.
jheveran is offline  
Old 01-28-2009, 06:37 PM   #5
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
OS:



By Optical drive, you do mean CD Rom drive correct?
lyonder2000 is offline  
Old 01-28-2009, 07:01 PM   #6
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



This is a good guide to reinstalling XP . . you might want to print it for reference during the install.

https://www.techsupportforum.com/cont...icles/158.html
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Old 01-28-2009, 07:30 PM   #7
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
OS:



i continue to receive a error after pressing a key to boot from CD. The ntldr is missing, press ctrl+alt+del to restart. How can I get around this?
lyonder2000 is offline  
Old 01-29-2009, 06:10 AM   #8
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



If you got that either you are not booting from the CD, or the CD is not bootable. Is the installation cd an original or a copy?
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Old 01-29-2009, 02:47 PM   #9
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
OS:



It is a copy but it has the ntldr file and other boot files in the I386 folder on the CD.
lyonder2000 is offline  
Old 01-29-2009, 03:00 PM   #10
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



Some cd drives will not boot from a copy . . you can try either a different drive, or cd
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Old 01-29-2009, 04:20 PM   #11
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
OS:



Is there anyway I can create a boot floppy that will allow me to load XP?
lyonder2000 is offline  
Old 01-29-2009, 04:31 PM   #12
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



You can try this:

https://support.microsoft.com/kb/310994
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Old 01-29-2009, 05:22 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 130
OS: windows xp



When your computer boots, you may have an option to bring up "Boot Menu" by pressing possibly one of the following keys "F10" "F12" "ESC", these are some common boot menu loading keys. Try to get the boot menu up and select your CD Rom drive as the boot device.
crazy420rc is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts