Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

User Tag List

XP halts at agp440.sys and wont boot

This is a discussion on XP halts at agp440.sys and wont boot within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. okay time for me to need help..... have an xp home machine that wont boot up normally, when i boot


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-23-2004, 07:19 AM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 24
OS:



okay time for me to need help.....

have an xp home machine that wont boot up normally, when i boot into safe mode it halts at the agp440.sys file. which is a grafix card driver file apparently.

according to microsoft you can boot into sys rec console and disable the agp440 service through

c:\windows>listsvc

the only problem I have is it doesnt list any services when I type this command.

I have located the agp440.sys file and ren to agp440.old but the machine just halts on a different file now..

any help would be appreciated.

the machine is a HP machine with a hidden recovery partition which I obviously dont want to have to use.

apparently the problem is caused by incomatible grafix card drivers..
monkeyboy840 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-23-2004, 08:14 AM   #2
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12
OS:



because the same thing happened to me? I couldn't even get to Safe mode. I had to use the recovery console to uninstall SP2 (using the command line syntax from MS website).
Alan
EnglishRebel is offline  
Old 09-23-2004, 08:19 AM   #3
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 61
OS:


Quote:
Originally Posted by EnglishRebel
because the same thing happened to me? I couldn't even get to Safe mode. I had to use the recovery console to uninstall SP2 (using the command line syntax from MS website).
Alan

^agreed.....had the samething happen to my buddies new HP notebook....he had to do everything thru command line.....sucked very much.


my suggestion is a re-format....it sucks i know.....but its well worth the no head-aches....think about it.
cerver7 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-23-2004, 08:28 AM   #4
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 24
OS:


Quote:
Originally Posted by EnglishRebel
because the same thing happened to me? I couldn't even get to Safe mode. I had to use the recovery console to uninstall SP2 (using the command line syntax from MS website).
Alan

can you post me the site for unistalling service pack2 for xp please. thanks

have tried everythign else
monkeyboy840 is offline  
Old 09-23-2004, 08:35 AM   #5
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 61
OS:


Quote:
Originally Posted by monkeyboy840
can you post me the site for unistalling service pack2 for xp please. thanks

have tried everythign else

this may help....before you uninstall or re-format.

https://www.mvps.org/marksxp/WindowsX...common.php#sp2
cerver7 is offline  
Old 09-23-2004, 12:37 PM   #6
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 24
OS:


Quote:
Originally Posted by monkeyboy840
can you post me the site for unistalling service pack2 for xp please. thanks

have tried everythign else

any 1 no how to uninstall SP2 through recovery console/dos?
monkeyboy840 is offline  
Old 09-24-2004, 08:18 AM   #7
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 61
OS:


Quote:
Originally Posted by monkeyboy840
any 1 no how to uninstall SP2 through recovery console/dos?
didnt know if that was possible thru the cmd prmt.....?......anyone clearify this for me as well.
cerver7 is offline  
Old 09-24-2004, 01:09 PM   #8
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12
OS:


Quote:
Originally Posted by monkeyboy840
any 1 no how to uninstall SP2 through recovery console/dos?
Go to this page:
https://support.microsoft.com/default...windowsxpsp2kb
Good luck - it took me three days to completely unistall it.
Alan
EnglishRebel is offline  
Old 01-05-2005, 06:54 AM   #9
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 3
OS:


Confused

Hi, I seem to have the same problem. XP wont boot, and safe mode wont boot. I've tried booting from the CD, but setup can't even start windows. I don't even get as far as being able to choose the recovery console. Anyone have an idea of what I could do? Is this a hardware problem? I was installing a wireless desktop card and got a blue screen about a hardware malfunction. Windows booted up once after that when I took the card out, but never again. I tried with the card in, didn't help. I was able to boot in safe mode, but not able to fix the problem on my own. I tried booting in safe mode with networking. Didn't boot again after that in any way. Now, as I said earlier, I can't even boot from CD. The computer stops when it says "setup is starting windows". I've tried everything in this thread, but can't even get to the recovery console. Any suggestions? Could I have missed something? Thanks!
Byramjis is offline  
Old 07-27-2007, 03:56 PM   #10
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 56
OS:



Hi, do you still have this problem? I have exact same with A30.

Wayne
waynesdukeess is offline  
Old 07-27-2007, 04:17 PM   #11
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



https://support.microsoft.com/kb/324764



dai is offline  
Old 07-27-2007, 05:12 PM   #12
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 56
OS:



Hi, thanks for fast reply dai, or maybe this is computer response. this is 2nd time i went to MS for same page.

i can not get to repair consoul.

I feel that i have hardware problem or MS has bug in antitheft.pirating software.
I have 2 TP A30s laptops, 40gig hdd with dualboot (WinME-Xpsp2)

A30a runs ME and Xp, Xp also installs for repairs, AND VISTA is good

A30b runs ME, and Xp hangs Xp no install hangs and VISTA is good

run hangs @ agp440
install hangs @ fin loading setup files, blank screen

Note: run Xp in good laptop; shutdown with Hibernate or standby; put Hdd in
bad laptop turn on: resumes all works just fine untill restartthan hang at agp440(some kind of video filter). It can Hib and come back on OK.

Note: bad computer does not like 2 network adapters have to remove WLAM orLAM then ok. good laptop computer likes both. also PCMCIAs no work. But
devmgr shows no yellow problems.
thanks, wayne
waynesdukeess is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts