Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

User Tag List

Windows XP Professional SP2 Repair - Help?!

This is a discussion on Windows XP Professional SP2 Repair - Help?! within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I am running the Windows XP Professional SP2 on a piece of metalworking machinery, and the computer will no longer


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-02-2017, 11:44 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 6
OS: Windows 10



I am running the Windows XP Professional SP2 on a piece of metalworking machinery, and the computer will no longer boot. When I go to turn it on, it goes to the black screen with white text where there are options to boot in Safe Mode, Boot with settings that worked last, and Boot Normally. No matter what option I choose, it always restarts the machine and returns to this same screen.

I was advised by a 3rd party that I would probably have to repair it with another copy of Windows XP, but before I did this, I wanted to ask a few important questions:

I no longer have the original Windows XP disk that was used to install the OS, but I do have the COA code. Also, I do not have a way to connect this computer to the internet.

Can I use any XP disk to restore it, or can I just get the SP 2 disk and restore it with that?

Once repaired, will I have to connect it to internet to verify the COA code? Or since XP is already installed, will it just recognize the existing platform?

I saw a post talking about streamlining SP2 into an XP .iso file. Is that a viable option?

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.
bradIN03 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-02-2017, 12:00 PM   #2
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 25,974
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


If you have a floppy boot disc, try it. If not you can download one.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 01-02-2017, 12:02 PM   #3
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,521
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


There are no legal Free ISO versions of Windows XP.
The last Service Pack that XP made available is SP3.
To repair your system, you would need the same type Windows disc with the same SP as is installed on your computer. (ie) Windows XP Home or Pro SP2. You can find a disc on Ebay or Amazon.
If you are not sure if your OS is Home or Pro, you can backup what data you have on that drive to an external USB HDD, and then get Any Windows XP disc, SP3 preferred and Reinstall Windows. Then restore your files.
May I ask, is XP absolutely necessary? Your computer may be able to run Windows 7 which is still supported by Microsoft and it would be easier to get a disc for.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-02-2017, 12:03 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 6
OS: Windows 10



I do not have a floppy boot disk.
bradIN03 is offline  
Old 01-02-2017, 12:06 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 6
OS: Windows 10



Yes, changing the OS is not an option. The main reason we are trying to keep everything the same is to keep existing programs installed on the machine.

So I could purchase and XP Pro SP2 disk and run the repair tool and everything would be ok?
bradIN03 is offline  
Old 01-02-2017, 12:08 PM   #6
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,521
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


It's worth a shot
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 01-02-2017, 12:17 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 6
OS: Windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by spunk.funk View Post
It's worth a shot
So I've seen auctions for just the SP2 disk and also for the full version of XP Pro with SP2. Which one do you think is needed?
bradIN03 is offline  
Old 01-02-2017, 01:01 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 6
OS: Windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by spunk.funk View Post
There are no legal Free ISO versions of Windows XP.
The last Service Pack that XP made available is SP3.
To repair your system, you would need the same type Windows disc with the same SP as is installed on your computer. (ie) Windows XP Home or Pro SP2. You can find a disc on Ebay or Amazon.
If you are not sure if your OS is Home or Pro, you can backup what data you have on that drive to an external USB HDD, and then get Any Windows XP disc, SP3 preferred and Reinstall Windows. Then restore your files.
May I ask, is XP absolutely necessary? Your computer may be able to run Windows 7 which is still supported by Microsoft and it would be easier to get a disc for.
Would a recovery disk work? Also, if a recovery disk is used, would it matter that the disk has SP3 and my system has SP2?
bradIN03 is offline  
Old 01-02-2017, 02:44 PM   #9
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,521
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


What is the make and model# of the computer/machine? If it is a name brand computer (ie) Dell, HP etc, you can find a Recovery Disc for that brand.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 01-02-2017, 02:49 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 6
OS: Windows 10



Well, as said in the original post, it's a computer for a metal fabrication machine - called a turret press. No name branding that i'm aware of. Got an Intel Celeron processor, though, Kingston RAM, and a Samsung Hard Drive
bradIN03 is offline  
Old 01-02-2017, 03:15 PM   #11
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,521
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Since it is not a computer per se, it will not have a recovery disc.
An XP disc of some kind would allow you to boot into the Recovery Console, where you could do some repairs. If worse comes to worse, you would have to reinstall Windows XP with that disc.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 01-03-2017, 04:58 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
rowdyyates's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 51
OS: Windows 7sp1x86



It sounds like you have a cad program like mastercam. Here is a option you could try first for the price of a cd and a free burning program like imageburn.
It is a bootable xp recovery console.
https://forums.pcpitstop.com/index.p...sole-wo-xp-cd/
Look at this for some repair options.
https://kb.wisc.edu/helpdesk/page.php?id=5836
rowdyyates is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
url:mal virus
I am in need of expert assistance in removal the nemesis virus "url:mal" . I've also seen pop up from Avast blocking "url:mal2". I tried running gmr and something prevents it from completion, so I'm not sure if it will give you the data you need:sad: Thanks in advance.:bang head: Dell...
Larry Crooms Resolved HJT Threads 35 01-14-2014 04:16 AM
Help..xp bsod when i run virus scan.
Hi, this is Troy, i have windows xp with sp3 and i everytime i run a virus scan and have run multiple kinds from windows to maleware bytes...you name it. I get to a point in the scan where i get a blue screen and then computer shuts down. When i run it with out doing a scan the computer stays on....
sootherlol Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 0 02-18-2013 05:31 PM
Happili Virus Redirect
Hello: I've been hit with the Happili virus where it redirects me when I conduct a google search. Attached is the GMER and TDSS files. Your help is greatly appreciated. Thank you. -ttvr4
ttvr4 Resolved HJT Threads 14 05-15-2012 11:47 AM
happili.com virus
Hi, I wrote yesterday that believe i have the happili.com virus and cannot remove it. I was told to follow the pre-post instructions. However, I could not run dds.scr. It would open ans tell me to wait. It said the scan should not last more than 3 minutes. But it never ended and I could not close...
sharkfan12 Resolved HJT Threads 23 04-17-2012 12:38 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts