Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

User Tag List

Windows XP loads with delays - professional help some?

This is a discussion on Windows XP loads with delays - professional help some? within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. My Windows XP started to boot up very slow... it's not generally slow, but with hangs, huge some hangs. It


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-23-2016, 07:31 PM   #1
Troubled
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Eastern Europe, country Ukraine
Posts: 240
OS: Windows XP Pro x86, Windows 7 Ultimate x86


Pencil

My Windows XP started to boot up very slow...
it's not generally slow, but with hangs, huge some hangs.

It takes 10 seconds after the login passwerd screen to show the desktop... 7 seconds for the desktop to open (for the initial afterwards afterload), and 7 more for the CCC - ATI Catalyst driver with icon to show up!

It's rediculous for me as it stands now!

Rrrr!!

I wonder this... maybe it's the restore point fail, maybe it's the bloated, uncleanable (...by anyhow in this case) system registry for the Windows XP, or else - driver issue or software, or file.

As you see - there's plenty, plenty of uncommon, possible reasons.

a. Should I ask the Microsoft technician for that?
b. Could you help me out without it, the technician, professionally?
c. ... is hiring the technician costs of any cash? It's paid?


P.S. This question is main for me, as I've researched that the common registry help for the, any, system by the common registry cleaners isn't well enouph - at all!!

If... if, the restore point(s) fail - this should probably happen. Bloat.
doggie007 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-23-2016, 07:47 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Superion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: California
Posts: 681
OS: Windows 7


Have you notice your time and date settings to be way off? Check BIOS first.
Superion is offline  
Old 01-23-2016, 08:21 PM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
Superion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: California
Posts: 681
OS: Windows 7


If so you most likely need to replace your CMOS battery. Easy fix, look up what CMOS battery you need. Write down settings in the CMOS because there is no backing up these settings. Replace CMOS for new one and re-configure your CMOS settings.
Superion is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-03-2016, 02:03 PM   #4
Troubled
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Eastern Europe, country Ukraine
Posts: 240
OS: Windows XP Pro x86, Windows 7 Ultimate x86



IoBit fixed this, by their Advanced System Care 9.

Auslogics on my computer, BoostSpeed 7, that is for long time already didn't... even worthed.
doggie007 is offline  
Old 02-03-2016, 02:43 PM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 911
OS: Win 7 HP 64B SP1



Quote:
Originally Posted by doggie007 View Post
My Windows XP started to boot up very slow...
it's not generally slow, but with hangs, huge some hangs.

It takes 10 seconds after the login passwerd screen to show the desktop... 7 seconds for the desktop to open (for the initial afterwards afterload), and 7 more for the CCC - ATI Catalyst driver with icon to show up!
Seconds? As in 1/60th of a minute? You call that 'huge'?


My XP box takes 15-20 MINUTES from power button to useable desktop.


I'm not sure it's worth messing with though since the box is so old.
Confounded Also is offline  
Old 02-03-2016, 04:22 PM   #6
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,532
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Go to Start/Run and type chkdsk C: /R and press enter. In the Command Prompt type a Y for Yes and reboot the computer. Check Disk will start at next bootup and will take a while. It will check for Bad Sectors and try to Fix them. Bad Sectors are a factor of an aging HDD.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 02-03-2016, 06:37 PM   #7
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 911
OS: Win 7 HP 64B SP1



Quote:
Originally Posted by spunk.funk View Post
Go to Start/Run and type chkdsk C: /R and press enter.

Me or Doggie?
Confounded Also is offline  
Old 02-03-2016, 06:48 PM   #8
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,532
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


I was addressing the OP, but you should too @confounded
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 02-05-2016, 01:22 PM   #9
Troubled
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Eastern Europe, country Ukraine
Posts: 240
OS: Windows XP Pro x86, Windows 7 Ultimate x86



Okay... but I didn't even thought on that.

My XP computer should not have those.
doggie007 is offline  
Old 02-05-2016, 02:44 PM   #10
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,532
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by spunk.funk View Post
Go to Start/Run and type chkdsk C: /R and press enter. In the Command Prompt type a Y for Yes and reboot the computer. Check Disk will start at next bootup and will take a while. It will check for Bad Sectors and try to Fix them. Bad Sectors are a factor of an aging HDD.
Quote:
My XP computer should not have those.
Should not have what? Bad Sectors? Bad Sectors appear on aging HDD's. As a HDD gets older and runs for a good period of time Bad Sectors may appear. If there are not too many of them, Check Disk can Fix them (eg) move the part of the file to a good sector nearby and mark the sector as Bad and not copy any data to that sector. Bad Sectors can appear at anytime in a HDD's life due to hard shut downs, power outages or HDD's that just fail. this can happen any at time even brand new ones sometimes.
Since you are still using XP I assume your HDD has been in use for quite some time.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 02-05-2016, 03:04 PM   #11
Troubled
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Eastern Europe, country Ukraine
Posts: 240
OS: Windows XP Pro x86, Windows 7 Ultimate x86



Yes... quite some.

Though, I've had never encouter those.
doggie007 is offline  
Old 02-05-2016, 03:39 PM   #12
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,532
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Quote:
It takes 10 seconds after the login passwerd screen to show the desktop... 7 seconds for the desktop to open
You do not have to have CCC load with Windows. It will still be available from the Start/All programs list.
Go to Start/Run and type msconfig. Go to the Startup tab, and you can Uncheck everything here except your AV software for your desktop to load faster.
It does not hurt to Run Check Disk on any HDD, in some cases, as in @Confounded Also's case, it may actually help with bootup.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 02-05-2016, 05:16 PM   #13
Troubled
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Eastern Europe, country Ukraine
Posts: 240
OS: Windows XP Pro x86, Windows 7 Ultimate x86



IoBit seemed to set everything up very well, the computer was booting up much faster. Then, I did an optimization with Auslogics BS 7 and it slowed down to this as before IoBit's optimizations.

I shall reconsider remaking everything with IoBit again.

Meanwhile, checking the whole 500 gb cluster map should be considered as a very slow process. ... I remember how I was resizing my C and D partitions - and it took ages.
doggie007 is offline  
Old 02-05-2016, 05:53 PM   #14
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,532
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


If you do not have Any bad sectors this shouldn't take very long, only an hour at most. But if you have Any bad sectors, then this will take several hours to Fix. If you have a lot of bad sectors, it could take overnight.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 02-06-2016, 09:25 AM   #15
Troubled
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Eastern Europe, country Ukraine
Posts: 240
OS: Windows XP Pro x86, Windows 7 Ultimate x86



Quote:
Originally Posted by spunk.funk View Post
If you do not have Any bad sectors this shouldn't take very long, only an hour at most. But if you have Any bad sectors, then this will take several hours to Fix. If you have a lot of bad sectors, it could take overnight.
A lot? - how come?
doggie007 is offline  
Old 02-06-2016, 02:05 PM   #16
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,532
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


When Windows scans for Bad Sectors, it goes through the drive sector by sector of all the millions of sectors on a HDD, if it finds one, it looks for another sector in the same cluster to move that part of the file to the good sector. This can be time consuming. The more bad sectors, the longer it takes.
If you run Check Disk and it takes overnight, if it completes, the drive may be usable, but it should be replaced because there are too many bad sectors and the drive will fail soon.
If the drive is about to fail, some of the files will be corrupted after running Check Disk because there are not enough Good Sectors to go around to move the file so it is useable. If Check Disk Hangs, or fails the HDD has failed and needs to be replaced. Always keep a current backup of files you can't live without in case of disaster
If you have relatively new HDD, Windows will scan and not find any bad sectors and keep scanning, so this will not take very long.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 02-07-2016, 05:14 AM   #17
Troubled
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Eastern Europe, country Ukraine
Posts: 240
OS: Windows XP Pro x86, Windows 7 Ultimate x86



Okay.
doggie007 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
happili.com virus
Hi, I wrote yesterday that believe i have the happili.com virus and cannot remove it. I was told to follow the pre-post instructions. However, I could not run dds.scr. It would open ans tell me to wait. It said the scan should not last more than 3 minutes. But it never ended and I could not close...
sharkfan12 Resolved HJT Threads 23 04-17-2012 12:38 PM
Virus blocking internet access.
After removing XP Antispyware 2012,I can no longer connect to the internet.It just says "acquiring network address". When I do ipconfig it says "RPC server is unavailable".There's nothing wrong with the internet connection itself.Just something on my computer preventing it from connecting. ....
honeybe Resolved HJT Threads 28 01-10-2012 02:26 AM
Can someone help me see what's up?
I'm a real computer noob I don't know exactly what's going on but ill try to describe it, mostly I'm concerned about a keylogger though. The other problems are every now and then on Google I'll click a link and I'll get sent to some random website, sometimes outta nowhere a new tab will open up to...
soboman Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 13 05-13-2011 02:20 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts