Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

User Tag List

Windows Is Indecisive...Again

This is a discussion on Windows Is Indecisive...Again within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Dell Dimension 9100 XP SP3 With the exception of a recently purchased 2TB Ext HDD (which I haven't opened yet)


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-16-2015, 04:51 PM   #1
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: nc
Posts: 1,092
OS: XP, Vista, Windows 10 Pro, Ubuntu



Dell Dimension 9100 XP SP3


With the exception of a recently purchased 2TB Ext HDD (which I haven't opened yet) there is something wrong with every computer, ever hard drive, every external HDD, I own.

Out of desperation (with my luck, the new HDD will be defective), I decided to put some of my most important data on DVD-RW. I tried to copy data from a 500GB MyBook to a new, Verbatim, DVD-RW disk in a new Sony DVD-RW drive. No go.

Next, I tried to copy data to a new, Verbatim DVD-RW disk in the DVD-RW drive in the Dell Dimension XP to which the MyBook is attached. No go. With both drives, I get errors. First ,Windows says I have files waiting to be written to the CD. Then, the Wizard wants me to insert a CD. Plus, I get three other errors about wrong CD, incompatibility, can't access, etc.

Here's the clincher, when I have DVD-RW disks in the drives, Windows says they are CD drives. When I remove the disks, Windows says they are DVD-RW drives. What is going on?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	op drives 1.JPG
Views:	61
Size:	71.8 KB
ID:	266170   Click image for larger version

Name:	op drives 2.jpg
Views:	71
Size:	59.8 KB
ID:	266178  
likekinds is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-16-2015, 06:30 PM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,527
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


DVD-RW discs are harder to work with, they must be formatted first if you have tried to burn to them previously. They also must be Finalized before they are ejected or they will not be able to be read on any other computer. Not every brand of Optical drive recognizes every brand of Blank. You may need to update the Firmware on the DVD-RW drive to recognize your discs.
If you have tried to burn and failed to a DVDRW disc, then with the disc in, Right click
the Drive in Computer, and choose Format or Erase this Disc Remember, after you are done burning to a DVDRW disc, you must right click it and choose Close Session. You can leave it open if your going to add more files later.
Close or finalize a CD or DVD - Windows Help
I suggest DVD-R discs. Sony is a great brand, Verbatim, TDK etc. Stay away from Generic brands.
DVD-R discs do not need to be Formatted, or Finalized. They are only Burn once media. You can add more files later, if there is space, but you cannot remove any files or reuse the discs for other files.
You may find it easier to work with a 3rd party program like the free CD Burner XP. Don't let the name fool you, this free program works in all versions of Windows including Windows 7, 8, and 10
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 12-16-2015, 07:09 PM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: nc
Posts: 1,092
OS: XP, Vista, Windows 10 Pro, Ubuntu



When I right click on either drive, the one in the XP or the external Sony, neither gives the option to erase or format. I formatted these brand new disks with IMGBurn because of that.

The reason I was going to use RW disks was to save R disks (because you often get a bad burn). My intent was to get a healthy copy on the RW and then copy that to a R, then erase the RW and use it again to make sure I had a good copy to copy to R....and so on.
likekinds is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-16-2015, 07:15 PM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: nc
Posts: 1,092
OS: XP, Vista, Windows 10 Pro, Ubuntu



PS

The Sony Drive and the disk inside was recognized by IMGBurn. The only reason I didn't use IMGBurn to back up the files to a DVD disk was because IMGBurn wont treat the DVD as an open folder to which I can add or subtract files as needed.
likekinds is offline  
Old 12-17-2015, 01:18 AM   #5
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,527
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


IMGBurn is automatically Finalizing the disc.
As previously stated, if you don't Finalize the disc, it will look like it is blank in any other computer.
Quote:
The reason I was going to use RW disks was to save R disks (because you often get a bad burn). My intent was to get a healthy copy on the RW and then copy that to a R, then erase the RW and use it again to make sure I had a good copy to copy to R....and so on.
This seems like a lot of work. But try other burning software like suggested.
You may consider getting a working USB HDD and back that up to the Cloud, like Microsoft OneDrive or Google Drive
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Local Area Connection, doesn't have a valid IP configuration
A little preface before I get into my problem. Last night my friend and I were looking to play a game together. After some research and so forth, we determined that Hamachi was the way to play. So we installed and began to play. Fast forward to this morning, and suddenly my ethernet cable no longer...
TTunnell Networking Support 26 05-22-2014 12:04 AM
Help..xp bsod when i run virus scan.
Hi, this is Troy, i have windows xp with sp3 and i everytime i run a virus scan and have run multiple kinds from windows to maleware bytes...you name it. I get to a point in the scan where i get a blue screen and then computer shuts down. When i run it with out doing a scan the computer stays on....
sootherlol Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 0 02-18-2013 05:31 PM
Happili Virus Redirect
Hello: I've been hit with the Happili virus where it redirects me when I conduct a google search. Attached is the GMER and TDSS files. Your help is greatly appreciated. Thank you. -ttvr4
ttvr4 Resolved HJT Threads 14 05-15-2012 11:47 AM
Some kind of redirect on computer (Monster Marketplace)
I don't know how this happened, but something has gotten into my computer that constantly redirects anything I click on. If I enter a search in the box, that does OK, but whenever I click on anything, there's a high likelihood that what I've clicked on won't come up - quite often, Monster...
Calgirl Resolved HJT Threads 198 05-23-2011 06:01 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts