Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

User Tag List

Wi-fi won't work on old laptop with Windows XP

This is a discussion on Wi-fi won't work on old laptop with Windows XP within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have an old Acer Aspire 3050 1927 and I formatted it because it was too slow. I reinstalled Win


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-19-2016, 07:39 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 6
OS: XP sp3



I have an old Acer Aspire 3050 1927 and I formatted it because it was too slow. I reinstalled Win XP, installed service pack 3 and I can't find a way to get the wi-fi to work. I installed the drivers from Acer's website but believe it or not they do not work. The drivers to get installed, the laptop's light thing lights up indicating it is working but once I attempt to connect to my wifi server I won't work. I even attempted to connect to it writing a random password like 123123123 and it didn't even say the password was wrong. It attempts to connect for 1 minute and then nothing happens. It's driving me insane. Why won't the drivers from the website work? I really need help. Thanks.
Joaoandrade is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-19-2016, 07:44 AM   #2
Team Manager - Networking
 
etaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK, West Sussex
Posts: 8,370
OS: W7 & W10 & OSX



lets see an ipconfig /all and a device manager screen shot

Does it work if you connect via a cable to the router?

------------------------------------------------------------------------

ipconfig /all

We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply
Note: you will see entries named Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface: we dont need to see that information - JUST the information above those entries


In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.
ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt
It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
to do that:
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
all the text will now be highlighted
Next
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
------------------------------------------------------------------------

------------------------------------------------------------------------
Device Manager

Please Post back a screen shot of the results in device manager as requested below

If you cannot access the internet with this PC, You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC.
Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the screen shot and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.
If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply

how to access device manager for different windows versions

How to open Windows Device Manager

Hold the Windows key and press Pause key, should now open to allow device manager to be seen, see the menu on the left hand side

on a laptop you may need to use Hold the Windows key and press FN key + the pause key

Once you are in device manager then navigate to:
network adapters, click on the + > post back the devices that are listed under network adapters
are there any yellow ! ? or a X
post a screen shot of the device manager - network adapters

To post a screen shot of the active window.
For Windows XP
Hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application (Start> All Programs> Accessories> Paint) and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
To upload the screen shot to the forum, bottom right of your post are some buttons ("Upload File" button) and then select the file you want to upload, click on "Open", and the file will be attached to the post.
__________________
Wayne

etaf is offline  
Old 12-19-2016, 08:03 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 6
OS: XP sp3



Quote:
Originally Posted by etaf View Post
lets see an ipconfig /all and a device manager screen shot

Does it work if you connect via a cable to the router?
Yes, the internet works when I connect the blue cable.





Quote:
Configuração de IP do Windows



Nome do host . . . . . . . . . . . : computad-kiqwhe

Sufixo DNS primário. . . . . . . . :

Tipo de nó . . . . . . . . . . . . : desconhecido

Roteamento de IP ativado . . . . . : não

Proxy WINS ativado . . . . . . . . : não



Adaptador Ethernet Conexão local:



Sufixo DNS específico de conexão . :

Descrição . . . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139 Family PCI Fast Ethernet NIC

Endereço físico . . . . . . . . . . : 00-1B-24-67-EE-65

DHCP ativado. . . . . . . . . . . . : Sim

Configuração automática ativada . . : Sim

Endereço IP . . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.6

Máscara de sub-rede . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0

Gateway padrão. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1

Servidor DHCP . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1

Servidores DNS. . . . . . . . . . . : 189.7.48.66

189.7.48.61

201.6.4.116

Concessão obtida. . . . . . . . . . : segunda-feira, 19 de dezembro de 2016 13:48:14

Concessão expira. . . . . . . . . . : segunda-feira, 19 de dezembro de 2016 14:48:14
Joaoandrade is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-19-2016, 08:06 AM   #4
Team Manager - Networking
 
etaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK, West Sussex
Posts: 8,370
OS: W7 & W10 & OSX



all those yellow ? are missing drivers

what site did you use for the drivers
did they have a chipset driver ?
__________________
Wayne

etaf is offline  
Old 12-19-2016, 08:10 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 6
OS: XP sp3



Quote:
Originally Posted by etaf View Post
all those yellow ? are missing drivers

what site did you use for the drivers
did they have a chipset driver ?
I haven't installed any drivers yet. I want to get the wi-fi to work first.

I downloaded the internet wifi thing from here https://www.acer.com/ac/en/US/conten...roduct/107?b=1

No idea what your last questions means.
Joaoandrade is offline  
Old 12-19-2016, 08:20 AM   #6
Team Manager - Networking
 
etaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK, West Sussex
Posts: 8,370
OS: W7 & W10 & OSX



download the Audio and install that
Also the VGA driver and install that
also the cardbus driver

theres 2 drivers for wireless LAN which one did you use ?

click on the Ethernet name with the ?
------------------------------------------------------------------------
How to identify hardware in Device Manager

Goto to Device Manager
how to access device manager for different windows versions
How to open Windows Device Manager

Hold the Windows key and press Pause key.
Device Manager screen should now open.

On a laptop you may need to use Hold the Windows key and press FN key + the pause key

If the above does not work then

For Windows 7 or Vista

Click on the Start Orb > In the Start Search box type > device manager and then press enter
or
Start > control Panel {Vista set to classic view}> system > {Vista, device manager on left hand side} {XP hardware Tab, device manager button} >
start > control panel> System and Security> Device Manager
For Windows 8 , 8.1 or Windows 10

If you happen to be using a keyboard with Windows 8/10, the quickest way to open Device Manager is via its shortcut on the Power User Menu, accessible by pressing the WINDOW key and the X key together.
Choose Device Manager
If on a touch screen - have a read here https://pcsupport.about.com/od/window...-windows-8.htm
Once you are in device manager then navigate to:
The Device with the Yellow !

right click on that device with a yellow!

from the menu choose
properties
Click on the Details Tab
Under the Property - drop down
Select hardware ids
Right click and select all
Then right click again and select copy
Copy and paste that information here

You should see a code similar to this

PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_008A&SUBSYS_53058086&REV_34

please reply with the full code for your device(s)

The portion of the code highlighted in RED is the Vendor ID and the portion highlighted in GREEN is the Device ID. In this example:

PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_008A&SUBSYS_53058086&REV_34

Vendor ID = 8086
Device ID = 008A

Post back those two numbers make sure we know which is vendor ID and which is device ID

These codes can be looked up at this site PCI Vendor and Device Lists

As an example the link for that database tells us that;
Vendor ID code 8086 is for this vendor - Intel Corporation
Device ID code 008A is for this device - Intel Centrino Wireless-N1030

Unknown Device Identifier enables you to identify the yellow question mark labeled Unknown Devices in Device Manager.
Unknown Device Identifier - Freeware Download

------------------------------------------------------------------------
__________________
Wayne

etaf is offline  
Old 12-19-2016, 08:32 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 6
OS: XP sp3



Quote:
Originally Posted by etaf View Post
download the Audio and install that
Also the VGA driver and install that
also the cardbus driver

theres 2 drivers for wireless LAN which one did you use .
I think it was the second one. The first one gave me an error during installation. It's worth mentioning I set a restauration point prior to installing anything. I tired several drivers and they all failed me so I went back with the restauration point. As of now nothing wifi related in installed.



Do you know any software you can recommend me that will install everything at once? I tried slim drivers but it's too bloated and buggy.
Joaoandrade is offline  
Old 12-19-2016, 08:46 AM   #8
Team Manager - Networking
 
etaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK, West Sussex
Posts: 8,370
OS: W7 & W10 & OSX



168C is the Atheros is the make
001C is the Atheros AR5007EG or AR5BXB63

so download the wireless LAN Atheros link
this direct link may work
https://global-download.acer.com/GDFi...C=ACER&SC=PA_6

Then extract the zip file
got the 32Bit folder

in there you will see a .inf
lets install that
as follows

>Click Start
>right-click My Computer
>click Properties.
The System Properties window opens.
>Click the Hardware tab,
>then click Device Manager button.
The Device Manager window opens.
>Right-click on the same device with the yellow ? as you listed in last post
>click Update Driver
The Hardware Update Wizard opens and asks to connect to Windows Update:
> select No, not this time. Click Next
>Select the following option: Install from a list or specific location (Advanced), and then click Next.
>Select the Don’t search, I will choose the driver to install option, and then Next
>Click the Have Disk button, and then click the Browse button
Browse to the directory where you unzipped the file you downloaded
Locate and highlight the .inf file
net5211.inf
>Click the OK button.
>Click the Finish button when done.

lets see what that does ,otherwise will try a different site
https://www.atheros-drivers.com/athe...-Windows7.html
and use the XP driver from that site
__________________
Wayne

etaf is offline  
Old 12-19-2016, 09:43 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 6
OS: XP sp3



Quote:
Originally Posted by etaf View Post
168C is the Atheros is the make
001C is the Atheros AR5007EG or AR5BXB63

so download the wireless LAN Atheros link
this direct link may work
https://global-download.acer.com/GDFi...C=ACER&SC=PA_6
I think that's the exact same one I got from Acer's website. I did all that and got the exact same result. I tries to connect for 1 minute and nothing happens.

That second link of yours is a bit confusing. Not sure what I should be looking for while in there.
Joaoandrade is offline  
Old 12-19-2016, 09:48 AM   #10
Team Manager - Networking
 
etaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK, West Sussex
Posts: 8,370
OS: W7 & W10 & OSX



ok,
click on the link
https://www.atheros-drivers.com/down...sXP-32bit.html

now click on the download
Wait a while - as it takes a little while before the Zip file downloads

then do the same again
only this time you are looking for
netathw.inf file
__________________
Wayne

etaf is offline  
Old 12-19-2016, 10:48 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 6
OS: XP sp3



Quote:
Originally Posted by etaf View Post
ok,
click on the link
https://www.atheros-drivers.com/down...sXP-32bit.html

now click on the download
Wait a while - as it takes a little while before the Zip file downloads

then do the same again
only this time you are looking for
netathw.inf file
It's working now, many thanks. Though there still are many things to install like video and audio driver. The USB mouse isn't working, for example. What do you suggest? Is there a software that can install all of them automatically?
Joaoandrade is offline  
Old 12-19-2016, 11:44 AM   #12
Team Manager - Networking
 
etaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK, West Sussex
Posts: 8,370
OS: W7 & W10 & OSX



i would be careful of driver software , often installs other unwanted programs
just download from the support site and run the setup and see how many install OK
wont take long to do four or five
__________________
Wayne

etaf is offline  
Old 12-19-2016, 01:34 PM   #13
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,543
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Go to the Acer drivers site https://www.acer.com/ac/en/US/conten...roduct/107?b=1 be sure to choose Windows XP as your OS, and expand on Drivers. Download the drivers for all devices with yellow flags in the Device Manager here (ie) VGA, Audio, Card Bus, Modem, Camera etc
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer runing to slow.
My comp HP Pavilion a1 123c opens any application or software slowly and internet sites also slow. OS X pro service pack3. System32. Total Physical Memory 1024 Mb. Available Ph. Mem.50.05Mb Total Virtual Mem. 2.00GB. Available Virtual Mem. 1.96Gb. I used AVG, Super antivirus free edition,...
Val852 Resolved HJT Threads 3 07-22-2013 07:35 PM
Cannot create shortcuts
Hello, I've been having issues with my computer for a while. It started out with a virus that "scanned" my computer for an infection, and of course my wife hits "OK". I had thought i cleaned that up, then I had the "The FBI has locked your computer" for whatever reason, and I had cleaned that up...
Andy_F Resolved HJT Threads 76 02-19-2013 06:46 PM
[SOLVED] Re: IE7 cannot connect with secure sites
Hi...Corday of the Internet Explorer forum site suggested that I put the DDS file and Attach files on this forum. I could not download the ark.txt from the many GMER sites that I saw. The following was sent to Corday who suggested the re-direction to the Security centre. Corday..thanks...
raringer Resolved HJT Threads 43 06-26-2012 08:33 PM
Rootkit TR/Sirefef.BP.1 and Rootkit.Gen2
Hi Everybody, I have this issue with my computer: Rootkit TR/Sirefef.BP.1 and Rootkit.Gen2 have been detected by Antivir and, though removed, reappear at the PC reboot. Avira RealTime Protection keeps sending alerts, detecting unspecified viruses with access denied. Several of the directories...
beppe1968 Resolved HJT Threads 81 03-15-2012 11:19 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts