Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

User Tag List

Voltage over threshold

This is a discussion on Voltage over threshold within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. My PC has been acting up of late, disconnecting USBs, random crashing and it's been escalating. I have an ASUS


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-20-2008, 01:44 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: England
Posts: 41
OS: XP Pro



My PC has been acting up of late, disconnecting USBs, random crashing and it's been escalating. I have an ASUS program called PC probe and I was taking a look after I'd been getting 'overclocking' errors on startup when I hadn't been overclocking. My 5v is sitting at about 5.5 and my 12v is almost at 16v (All +). I assume it's causing the problem because of the loud bleeping and warning lights the program provides, but is there a way to fix it??

Now it's not starting up at all. The disks whir and all the lights flash but it's not powering up to anything visible on the monitor :/
Flamzypants is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-20-2008, 02:28 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
manic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 5,741
OS: xp



From your post I would guess your psu is whacked out, I could be
wrong, I would get a decent quality psu, install and hope that the
board didnt fry...
manic is offline  
Old 06-20-2008, 02:43 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: England
Posts: 41
OS: XP Pro



Awesome. How much do these things cost? Do I need to find one that's specifically compatible with my motherboard? Can you recommend any that stand out in particular?
Flamzypants is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-20-2008, 02:49 PM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
manic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 5,741
OS: xp



Is your pc custom built, or from a box store?
I like this one,,for the money and plenty of overhead for most folks..
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817139006
But if your machine is from a box store, it may be proprietary hardware,
so this may or may not fit......I would not hold out alot of faith
for the motherboard not being fried, but you may get lucky...
manic is offline  
Old 06-20-2008, 03:04 PM   #5
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 53,915
OS: Win7



Please post your complete specs:
If OEM, brand and complete model number and any upgrades you've done.
If custom, Mother Board, CPU, Video card.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 06-20-2008, 04:33 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: England
Posts: 41
OS: XP Pro



Custom built... I can give you some of the specs.

Asus p5p800 motherboard
nvidia 7600 GC OS gfx
1.5gb ram
Colorsic psu +3.3 +5 +12 etc
3.2ghz processor intel something or other
2x Hard Drive
1x CD
1x Floppy
Flamzypants is offline  
Old 06-20-2008, 04:56 PM   #7
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 53,915
OS: Win7



Right now with the rebate you won't go wrong with this one
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817139003

If you want upgrade to a newer motherboard, cpu, video card within the next year or so I would move up to the 650 or 750 but for your present system this will give you a good value for the price.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 06-20-2008, 05:00 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: England
Posts: 41
OS: XP Pro



Found the complete specs if it changes anything.

1 x Intel Pentium® 4 531 3.0GHz 800FSB LGA 775 CPU EM64T with 1MB cacheRetail inc.Fan (3 year warranty) @ £99.99(117.49) each.2 x Geil® 256MB DDR PC3200 400MHz with Aluminium heat spreader @£17.50(20.56) each.1 x Asus P5P800 Skt775 I865PE 800FSB 8xAGP +LAN +Dual DDR400 +6 ch.audio+USB2 ATX @ £54.95(64.57) each.1 x Antec SLK3000B Matt Black Midi Case 4x5.25" 3x3.5" NO PSU @£28.95(34.02) each.1 x 400W P4/AMD quiet PSU with PFC @ £11.60(13.63) each.1 x 120 GB Seagate Barracuda® 8MB Cache 7200rpm ATA100 (Manufacturer's 5yrWarranty) @ £44.70(52.52) each.1 x DELIVERY @ £8.99(10.56) each.

Since then the GFX card was changed to the one above, and I upped it to 1.5gb ram. I'll take a look at what you've suggested. I might have to do some more hunting, I live in the UK.
Flamzypants is offline  
Old 06-20-2008, 05:11 PM   #9
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 53,915
OS: Win7



No the biggest factor is the AGP card and the CPU.
I saw you were in the UK, I just like to use that site because they good pictures and specs
listed for the products. Sorry I know of any good places to send you there but at least you"ll have a good idea of what your looking for.
If you look on the power supply thread you will see a more complete list of quality units.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 06-20-2008, 06:00 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: England
Posts: 41
OS: XP Pro



Thanks. There aren't any restrictions or non-compatible units are there? I'd hate to buy one that didn't fit :P PC World over here has a pretty good selection. I found the one you suggested on the American site but the UK one doesn't seem to have it. I'm going to the actual store tomorrow so I'll take a look around. Anything I should look out for in terms of how much/what kind of V it can provide?
Flamzypants is offline  
Old 06-20-2008, 06:19 PM   #11
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 53,915
OS: Win7



As long as you have standard mid to full size case they should fit.
Look for a 20+4 main power plug and a 4+4 cpu power plug you will only use 1/2 of the 4+4 but thats ok. as far a sata and Molex plugs just make sure to get what you need.
I personally favor a single large 12v rail over multirail units

Did you look over the power supply thread for other recommended units?
Wrench97 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts