Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

User Tag List

Video Problem on ex. Monitor

This is a discussion on Video Problem on ex. Monitor within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have a Micro Pro laptop, Sis 650 video card , with a VGA connection in the back where I


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-09-2007, 07:29 PM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 3
OS:


Confused

I have a Micro Pro laptop, Sis 650 video card, with a VGA connection in the back where I have connected an external lcd monitor. Everything displays just fine on the external monitor except movies. When any media player is open and is playing a movie, there is just a blank screen in the player on the ex monitor.

I know that someone posted a similar question like this in 02 but I'm not sure that it was answered? (https://forum.digital-digest.com/arch...p/t-14176.html)

I read somewhere else on the net that it may be because of the level that the movie was playing on because for 650's movie playback is on the default monitor?

Anyways, I'm stuck and can't find any solutions. If anyone could help me I would be the happiest man alive... serioulsy.
Rumpelstiltskin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-09-2007, 09:26 PM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
justpassingby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 6,641
OS: XP Home SP3 / Ubuntu / Win 7

My System


Hi Rumpelstiltskin and welcome to TSF !

Try these possible solutions :

I suppose you're using windows media player. In WMP go to tools => options => performances and set the video acceleration to none. See if the video appears on the other monitor now. If that's not enough you can also set the hardware acceleration to none in the display properties => settings => advanced => troubleshoot tab.

In the display properties, settings tab, try to play with the "extend my windows desktop onto this monitor" and "use this device as the primary monitor" settings when selecting the monitor #2. See if you can set the monitor #2 (the external monitor) as primary monitor. Depending on your video drivers if you click advanced in the settings tab you may find another tab whith some multi displays or multi monitors settings. You may be able to change which screen is your primary display and which one is the secondary display there as well. Here are some links with more info :
https://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=307873
https://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/u.../monitors.mspx

Try playing the video with another video player, like vlc or media player classic and move the window manually onto the other monitor via the edge of the screen when the desktop is extended to both monitors.
justpassingby is offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 09:56 PM   #3
Guest
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 3
OS:



Thanks, when I adjusted the accel it fixed the problem!

Is there the same sort of adjustment for vlc? sometimes I play those bins
Rumpelstiltskin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-09-2007, 10:05 PM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
justpassingby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 6,641
OS: XP Home SP3 / Ubuntu / Win 7

My System


That was my first guess.

There's a similar option in vlc but since I have a french version of vlc there may be some errors in the translation, please bear with it. Go to settings => preferences => video. Should be some checkbox named overlay video output or something like that. That should be it. If that doesn't work tick the little checkbox in the bottom right named advanced settings and navigate through the different options there. You don't have to fear doing some mistake since normally there's a "reset all" button and a shortcut in the start menu group to restore the default settings.
justpassingby is offline  
Old 08-10-2007, 01:12 PM   #5
Guest
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 3
OS:



I did what you told me in VLC and still no video got any other ideas? Also, DVD's dont play in WMP even after the adjustment?

Is there some program that I can download that adjusts to the correct video settings for my vid card? or at least a vid player that would be better for me? Why do they make this so hard for me?, all I want is movies.
Rumpelstiltskin is offline  
Old 08-10-2007, 10:22 PM   #6
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
justpassingby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 6,641
OS: XP Home SP3 / Ubuntu / Win 7

My System


I'm not using an external monitor here so can't really try it out. Search for other such settings in vlc. Does it do the same with media player classic ?

DVD's should play fine in Windows Media Player, as should .bin files if you drag and drop them there I believe (you'll have to answer some message like "yes I want you to try reading those files" if I recall well).

Do you have the Klite codec pack ? Go for the standard version as you'll want ffdshow and it also has media player classic and see if that helps. Better to remove any third party codec pack you may have installed before you install this one. Klite made sure there would be no compatibility issues between the different codecs and is basically the only codec pack you should ever need.
justpassingby is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I need a new video card
I'm looking to purchase a fairly good video card and at least 1 GB of memory. Are there certain types that I shouldn't buy, because my computer won't be able to handle it? Here's my DXDIAG stuff: ------------------ System Information ------------------ Time of this report: 7/17/2007,...
mankvill Video Card Support 11 07-17-2007 11:20 PM
Realtek AC 97 Code 10 Device cannot start
Last night I tried to update the driver for the above. I downloaded the driver (version A3.94) from the Realtek site so I thought it'd be okay. But, during installation the PC crashed, so I re-booted, did the install again. But...... no sound!! The device status says "This device cannot start...
roundabout Sound Cards 2 11-01-2006 03:13 PM
Will not play video dvds
Im not sure this is the right forum to post this. But Im not sure what the problem is. This is a new build pc. Everything works except, it will not play video DVDs. It is a LiteOn LDW-811S CD/DVD burner. It plays data/music CDs fine. It reads data DVDs fine. It even recognizes which video...
Detah Removable Media Drives 12 09-02-2006 10:14 PM
Does not recognise some DVDs?
Hello all, Could someone please help? I've just fitted a new DVD-RW and immediately began using Nero 7 Premium to burn a DVD. I'd previously tried out the player with about 3 DVDs. The first two played fine but the third seemed to get stuck midway through playing. I know that the drive plays...
Ibsen3 Removable Media Drives 34 03-29-2006 10:50 AM
Black Screen Problem!
I have recently downloaded the Battlefield 2 Multiplayer demo. It can't seem to load the menus as a black screen appears, I have tried redownloading the demo, reinstalling the demo, posting on BF2 support forums, updating my graphics driver, restarting my computer, contacting EA support and...
stuartg123 PC Gaming Support 6 12-13-2005 12:04 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts