Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

User Tag List

triple PC's

This is a discussion on triple PC's within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. i' m not sure if this is possible but i've seen it somewhere and wanted to try it. if you


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-13-2005, 07:47 PM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5
OS:



i' m not sure if this is possible but i've seen it somewhere and wanted to try it. if you have three computers and three monitors all next to one another is it possible to make them all run together so that there is only one log on yet once logged on all three machines can run independently of one another? i'm not sure if this is possible to do though. any thoughts?
NightShade01 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-13-2005, 09:50 PM   #2
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 126
OS:


You could buy a splitter for your monitor and add two more. and then extend the wires from the power supply into ATX cases and mybe stuff a hardfrive in each one..(just for asthetics)
Even though anything is possible, im not quite sure how you could combine processors..
I think it would take a hardware genious- or maybe i just need to brush up on my hardware =)
Polar_Bear is offline  
Old 12-14-2005, 09:41 AM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
Squashman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: 1265 Lombardi Ave.
Posts: 1,645
OS: All of the above


I don't think you can sign into all three computers at once.

I think you would be better off buying a 4 port KVM and using one monitor, mouse and keyboard for all your computers.
Squashman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-14-2005, 10:09 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
0S1R1S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 128
OS: XP Pro / 2000 Server


My suggestion would be to buy a cheap Hub and setup a small home network to share all files from every PC. Instead of making one a server and having two nodes.
0S1R1S is offline  
Old 12-14-2005, 02:07 PM   #5
Registered User
 
oshwyn5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Dallas , Tx
Posts: 1,438
OS: DOS,Win95,98,ME,XP, Fedora


Quote:
Originally Posted by NightShade01
i' m not sure if this is possible but i've seen it somewhere and wanted to try it. if you have three computers and three monitors all next to one another is it possible to make them all run together so that there is only one log on yet once logged on all three machines can run independently of one another? i'm not sure if this is possible to do though. any thoughts?
It really depends on what exactly you are trying to do and what operating system they are running.
You can set most OS to login automatically , so you do not need to log on if that is your objective; and some OS support loggin to a network as opposed to login to the one machine only.
You can use programs such as synergy
https://synergy2.sourceforge.net/
to control one machine from any or the others. '

You can use a KVM (Keyboard, Video , Mouse) switch to share one Keyboard, Mouse and Monitor between several computers.
I do this with my Windows98, WindowsXp and Linux computers using synergy so I can easily access the others over my network, and the KVM switch to jump between them as needed.
oshwyn5 is offline  
Old 12-14-2005, 03:13 PM   #6
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 126
OS:


Quote:
Originally Posted by 0S1R1S
My suggestion would be to buy a cheap Hub and setup a small home network to share all files from every PC. Instead of making one a server and having two nodes.
That would be a terrible waste of resources on the other two workstations though
Polar_Bear is offline  
Old 12-14-2005, 05:19 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
0S1R1S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 128
OS: XP Pro / 2000 Server


Why? If he has three computers, why not network them. Theyre useless all sitting there. You could share internet and files and put them around your house if you really wanted to? I have a hub in my room with my lappy, a desktop in my moms office, and another lappy in the basement. They all share one 56k connection :P and i share my 3 HDD's in the desktop for all my music and files instead of cluttering my laptops.
0S1R1S is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts