Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

User Tag List

the webpage you are viewing is trying to close the window.

This is a discussion on the webpage you are viewing is trying to close the window. within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. hi, about 2 days ago, when using ebay, i started to get this popup "the webpage you are viewing is


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-26-2012, 04:38 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 4
OS: xp professional sp3 32bit



hi, about 2 days ago, when using ebay, i started to get this popup "the webpage you are viewing is trying to close this window. do you want to close this window? " this doesn't happen in my ebay only when i click on an item to look at it, it also doesn't seem to happen on any other websites. its really annoying as it does it for every item i look at. please could you help. thanks. i am using ie8, and have tried reinstalling it to no avail.
big nose is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-26-2012, 07:10 AM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
JackBauer_24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 5,566
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit/Ubuntu 14.04 LTS 64bit

My System


First try clear your browser history.
__________________

Virus Help
Ubuntu Live CD
PC Running Slow?
Memtest
UBCD
Remember dust buildup in your PC can be a killer!!
JackBauer_24 is offline  
Old 02-26-2012, 10:26 PM   #3
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,293
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


In IE Tools/Internet Options/Security/(select) Internet Zone> (click) Default
Level.
Or, Internet Options>/Security> (select) Internet Zone> Custom> Scripting>
Active scripting> Enable.

spunk.funk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-27-2012, 12:27 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 4
OS: xp professional sp3 32bit



hi, thanks for the reply, i have cleared the browser history, i have also set internet zones to default level, active scripting is enabled, i also added ebay to the list of trusted sites, none of this stops the message, it must be something to do with ie8 as i can't see that a page selling things would want to close itself, it kind of defeats the object of the add.
will ie9 run on xp? do you think it may be worth trying that? thanks.
big nose is offline  
Old 02-27-2012, 02:45 PM   #5
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,293
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Turn off the "pop up blocker" in the browser setting and then close the window .A new window will open
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 02-28-2012, 02:21 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 4
OS: xp professional sp3 32bit



hi, spunk.funk, tried turning off the pop up blocker, the message still comes up.
i uninstalled ie8 and installed ie7 and didnt get the box any more, so it is a problem with ie8 for sure, i then did a new download of ie8 and installed it and the box is back straight away, what i don't understand is i didn't have this problem from the point i first got ie8, which must have been 2 years ago, or pretty much as soon as it came out, then 1 week ago this starts happening, thanks for the help so far.
big nose is offline  
Old 02-28-2012, 02:31 AM   #7
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,293
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Go to Tools and choose Compatibility View. See if that helps.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 02-29-2012, 12:33 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 4
OS: xp professional sp3 32bit



hi, already put ebay in compatabilty view, i checked again to be sure. but i do by chance happen to have found a solution. i had uninstalled ie8 and reinstalled it maybe 4 times, always getting the next copy from microsoft website, although they do seem to be different pages depending on if you put ie8 or ie8 for xp, anyway none of them cured the problem, so i tried google chrome, the popup was gone but i didn't like the look of it or the tools, so i tried firefox, the look of this and its tools and favourites was ok, and also no popup, now i was checking my email in hotmail and every time you sign out of hot mail microsoft offers you ie8 as a whole page advert, maybe they know you are using another browser, so i thought ok last chance, downloaded it and installed it, and so far i've looked at 25 pages on ebay and no popups, how or why this has cured it i don't know, but then how or why it started popping up stuff i don't know either. thanks for all your suggestions, hopefully this process will help someone else with the same problem.
big nose is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tried to download once, unable to download again
Hello, I am hoping someone here can help me out. The problem started when I tried to download GMATprep, free software from the MBA.com website. I think the download was taking too long with my slow internet speed so I cancelled the download halfway through. I have since deleted the folder...
timid2004 Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 3 04-04-2012 07:57 AM
Varying BSODs when trying to Install Windows 7
I just ordered all the parts for a new computer, and put it together. Iíve been getting various BSOD errors, and I donít know why. Iíll list a good example of the errors below, but before I get too ahead of myself, the system specs are as follows: AMD 8-core FX-8120 3.1G MSI 890FXA-GD70 AM3+...
Silvanus BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 1 03-05-2012 05:58 AM
delete the filmstrip view in win x
win xp sp3 how to delete the filmstrip view in win xp when you open folders, since its just useless and annoying. i saw some tricks which are insufficient, -set folders to other view, but you would have to set it manually to folders and also new folders again and again. -setting win...
okeee Windows XP Support 4 02-26-2012 11:06 PM
[SOLVED] Can you install a driver with out the video card plugged into the hdmi ?
I'm trying to install my video card but I don't have the mini hdmi thing for my tv yet, the video card seems to have its fan running, but the driver will not see the hardware its self. I'm running off the onboard with the motherboard but I have the videocard installed correctly I don't see why I...
Dev in need Video Card Support 16 02-26-2012 07:48 AM
Raid 1 seems to be working but...
Not being over technically endowed, I have had some fun and just revamped my desktop. Part of that was to add a couple of SSD's which through BIOS I set up as a Raid 1 pair. Using ATTO I get write up to speeds of write 230k MB/Sec odd and read of 560k MB/Sec. In windows explorer and in disk...
mustardy Motherboards, Bios & CPU 0 02-26-2012 03:37 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts