Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

User Tag List

The Page Cannot Be Displayed

This is a discussion on The Page Cannot Be Displayed within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. 2002 Toshiba 1955-S803 laptop, Windows XP, Service Pack 2 (fresh install), 1.2 GB RAM. I can't get it online. It's


Like Tree24Likes
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-30-2019, 07:48 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 189
OS: Windows XP Version 2002



2002 Toshiba 1955-S803 laptop, Windows XP, Service Pack 2 (fresh install), 1.2 GB RAM.

I can't get it online. It's WiFi connected but won't display a web page. Attached photos show its configuration.

What's the solution? I've been through all related YouTube tutorials, to no avail.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN4990 (2).jpg
Views:	28
Size:	256.0 KB
ID:	323258   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN4992 (2).jpg
Views:	40
Size:	222.2 KB
ID:	323260   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN4993 (2).jpg
Views:	53
Size:	355.1 KB
ID:	323262  

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN4995 (2).jpg
Views:	36
Size:	191.0 KB
ID:	323264   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN5005 (2).jpg
Views:	53
Size:	176.6 KB
ID:	323266   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN5002 (2).jpg
Views:	68
Size:	181.1 KB
ID:	323268  

manhattanman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-30-2019, 09:26 AM   #2
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 25,974
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


It could be your old computer. Change 802.11 n mode to 802.11 b/g/n on your router and and see what happens.
vanukuru.vinod likes this.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 03-30-2019, 09:33 AM   #3
Security Team Moderator
 
iMacg3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: US
Posts: 215
OS: Windows 10



Have you tried using another browser? It appears that you're using IE6, which is quite old and won't render most modern Web sites properly.
vanukuru.vinod likes this.
__________________
Proud member of UNITE
iMacg3 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-30-2019, 10:02 AM   #4
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
BSOD Kernel Dump Analyst
 
satrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Wales U.K.
Posts: 5,682
OS: W7 SP1 Pro x64

My System


The PC is set for a private network, not for internet, indicating that it's not reaching the router to receive an IP via DHCP, what's your router's IP address?

Often, setting IE to not 'Automatically detect settings' will workaround problems similar to this.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IE non auto connect.jpg
Views:	27
Size:	81.8 KB
ID:	323270  
profdlp and LouMjr like this.
__________________
satrow is offline  
Old 03-30-2019, 10:03 AM   #5
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,521
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Windows XP is no longer supported by Microsoft The latest version of Internet Explorer Browser that works on XP is IE8. IE8 and IE6 are not supported with just about all web sites now, it's too old. We strongly suggest running a version of Linux on this machine like Ubuntu.
If you want to stick with XP, here is a list of browser you can try https://alternativeto.net/list/52/up...for-windows-xp
On an Internet Computer, Download the Browser setup files to a USB Flash Drive then insert that into the troubled computer to install.
vanukuru.vinod likes this.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 03-30-2019, 10:32 AM   #6
Moderator, Editor, Articles Team
 
Deejay100six's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Doncaster, Great Britain
Posts: 11,785
OS: Windows 7 Professional SP1

My System


I'd just like to add that the latest service pack for XP is SP3.

Running any O/S without being fully updated is asking for trouble.
vanukuru.vinod likes this.
__________________
Regards, Dave.


Submit New Articles Here

Help us to help you by posting your System Specs
Deejay100six is offline  
Old 03-30-2019, 11:02 AM   #7
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,521
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


As stated, In the Internet Protocol (TCP/IP) property window, you have it set to a static IP address. (ie) 169.254.x.x Click the Radio button to Obtain an IP Address Automatically.
None the less, most web sites will not load their page on Internet Explorer.
satrow likes this.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 03-30-2019, 12:01 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 189
OS: Windows XP Version 2002



I've burned a DVD of the Comodo IceDragon browser from the link you provided, spunk.funk. How do I download it to be used as my browser on the Toshiba 1955-S803?
manhattanman is offline  
Old 03-30-2019, 12:07 PM   #9
Security Team Moderator
 
iMacg3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: US
Posts: 215
OS: Windows 10



If the IceDragon installer is on the DVD, insert the disc into the computer running XP, and run the Installer.
__________________
Proud member of UNITE
iMacg3 is offline  
Old 03-30-2019, 12:59 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 189
OS: Windows XP Version 2002



It just shows a picture of the file folders.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN5007 (2).jpg
Views:	48
Size:	202.5 KB
ID:	323274   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN5008 (2).jpg
Views:	48
Size:	218.2 KB
ID:	323276  
manhattanman is offline  
Old 03-30-2019, 06:41 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 189
OS: Windows XP Version 2002



When I click "Obtain an IP Address Automatically", it shows "Limited or no connectivity".

These are some of the steps I've tried repeatedly and none has been successful in getting the system online and site accessible.
manhattanman is offline  
Old 03-30-2019, 06:56 PM   #12
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
BSOD Kernel Dump Analyst
 
satrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Wales U.K.
Posts: 5,682
OS: W7 SP1 Pro x64

My System


Have you tried turning off ' Automatically detect...' yet?
__________________
satrow is offline  
Old 03-30-2019, 07:46 PM   #13
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,521
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


First, reset the Internet Protocol https://www.geeksinphoenix.com/blog/...indows-XP.aspx
Then on the internet computer when you Download Comdo Ice Dragon browser, do not Run it choose to Save As and Save it to your Download Location. The Down loaded file will be called icedragonsetup. Do not run it. We suggest copying this setup file to a USB Flash drive so you can Erase it later and use it again.
Then Run it on the Troubled Computer
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 03-30-2019, 10:41 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 189
OS: Windows XP Version 2002



I'm apparently not understanding any of your instructions, spunk.funk.

Firstly, resetting the internet protocol manually isn't activating, or I'm not understanding how to get it to register.

The automatic setup seems impossible to accomplish unless I can get online on the Toshiba 1955-S803.

Secondly, a "Save as" option is not offered in the Comodo setup. I downloaded the file to CyberLink and burned to disk (It doesn't offer a thumb drive option.) There is no "icedragonsetup" file shown.

The Comodo IceDragon burned files are shown in the attachment.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN5010 (2).jpg
Views:	39
Size:	279.7 KB
ID:	323280  
manhattanman is offline  
Old 03-31-2019, 12:02 AM   #15
Moderator TSF
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Stancestans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5,117
OS: Windows 10



Is burning a CD the only option you have for transferring files from one computer to another? Do you have the Comodo IceDragon setup file called icedragonsetup in your downloads folder? If you do, copy it to the problematic computer and then open it to start the installation.
Stancestans is offline  
Old 03-31-2019, 12:35 AM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 189
OS: Windows XP Version 2002



You can see the sub-files in the attachment. I don't see any setup option, do you?

I've gone through this process twice. Isn't there a download option somewhere in XP?
manhattanman is offline  
Old 03-31-2019, 01:08 AM   #17
Moderator TSF
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Stancestans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5,117
OS: Windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by manhattanman View Post
You can see the sub-files in the attachment. I don't see any setup option, do you?

I've gone through this process twice. Isn't there a download option somewhere in XP?
What I see is a bunch of files on a CD! You burned the wrong files to CD, period. Let's start from there. Posting and reposting the contents of that disc doesn't help you any. What you should have burned to the CD, is the icedragonsetup file that you have downloaded from the Comodo website, or didn't you download such a file, using the computer that you're using to burn the CDs and access the Internet? It's just one file, not a bunch of files and folders like what you have on the CD. If this is a rewritable CD, erase it and then burn the icedragonsetup file to it. If it's not a rewritable CD, discard it because it is useless now. The bunch of files on it won't help you in any way. If you have a flash drive, use it instead of burning CDs just to transfer a single file. You've gone through the same process twice, and each time you've done the wrong thing. Just stop, listen and understand what we're telling you to do. You obviously have a limited understanding of computer stuff, and that's fine, but you need to follow what you're told and not what you think you should be told. Isn't that the whole point of seeking assistance here?

Now, how do you download stuff using your Internet pc? Do you not open a link to a website that has the stuff you want to download? If that is not how you do it, then how do you go about it? After the download is complete, how do you access the stuff that you've just downloaded? Do you not open your downloads folder, inside which you find the downloaded stuff? If not so, then how do you do it? I'm trying to understand here what you actually do when you "download" a file via the Internet because it seems you have a totally different idea of what it means.
Stancestans is offline  
Old 03-31-2019, 01:13 AM   #18
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,521
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


What browser are you using on your internet Computer? (ie) IE? Chrome? Firefox? go to this Web Site. https://icedragon.comodo.com/
Click the Big Red Button that says Free Download. In IE, you are given the choice to Run it or to Save AS. Click Save As and choose to Download it to your computer. There will be only one file that downloads, it is called icedragonsetup. Which is the Setup file. Again, Don't RUN It. Burn this one file to your CD. put that CD in the troubled computer and Double Click it to install (Run) it.
If you want to try the Browser out without installing it, on the CD you posted the picture of in post #14 click the IceDragon icon to start the browser.

As for Resetting the TCP/IP stack with steps in Post #13:
On the troubled computer running XP, Go to the Start Button, on the lower panel on the right side of the panel that pops up,click RUN. You can also press the Windows key on the keyboard and press R at the same time. ln the Run Box type CMD and press Enter.
In the Command Prompt type this exactly as written
netsh int ip reset c:\resetlog.txt and press Enter, then type
netsh int ip reset resetlog.txt and press Enter.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 03-31-2019, 09:00 AM   #19
Security Team Moderator
 
iMacg3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: US
Posts: 215
OS: Windows 10



Hi,


As other members have said above, you need to download the icedragonsetup.exe file from the Comodo website.


Save the file to a USB Flash Drive, or burn icedragonsetup.exe to a disc. Transfer the USB or CD/DVD to the XP machine.



Double-click on icedragonsetup.exe and follow the onscreen prompts.
__________________
Proud member of UNITE
iMacg3 is offline  
Old 03-31-2019, 10:23 AM   #20
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 189
OS: Windows XP Version 2002



Followed your instructions, spunk.funk, on the Comodo setup file and then burned it to disk. Same results as before. When clicking on the IceDragon sub-file under "Browser", I get the message shown in the attachment.

As to the command prompt reset, notice the message below the first entry. It's not recognized.

The third attachment shows my physical address, IP address and subnet mask.

As to Stancestans's complaint about my not following instructions, he's not here, wrestling with my machines. I'm here alone trying to solve these problems. I follow his instructions as best as I understand them, but sometimes his instructions are unclear and rudely articulated. He's chosen to volunteer his time to these projects and should exercise proper decorum when addressing a member's concerns. There's no excuse for his intolerant, insulting behavior. It's unprofessional and immature. Bet I'm not alone in expressing this view.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN5011 (2).jpg
Views:	52
Size:	218.8 KB
ID:	323282   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN5018 (2).jpg
Views:	49
Size:	132.3 KB
ID:	323284   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN5021 (2).jpg
Views:	50
Size:	176.9 KB
ID:	323286  

manhattanman is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IIS page cannot be displayed
I have a frined that has the following issue: Background: Two websites running on a single IIS web server: one is a SharePoint site with forms authentication, the other is a custom .NET application using anonymous authentication. Both sites share the same IP address on the server; the...
blackmamba11 Windows Servers 0 09-17-2009 10:52 AM
WORD 2003 - section break to an odd page
Hi i am having a problem with one of more simple functions. and here it is: i want to set my word document so that every section would start on to an odd page. simple right? wrong! this is what i have done: insert->break->Odd ... why? I have a reset page numering so that it starts with...
mjk1 Microsoft Office support 8 06-03-2009 01:24 AM
Right Click Error
Hope I'm posting this in the right place. If not then I apologize. If I try to right click a folder or anything, I get a message that shuts down the browser or windows explorer saying it has encountered an error and needs to shut down. Anyone have any ideas? It's very annoying as I use it a...
MollyBaloney Windows XP Support 7 04-28-2009 01:28 PM
Browser Home Page Stuck on MSN.COM
I have a browser with IE 7 that won't allow me to change the home page. The only other issue I notice is that it changes my wireless setting to autoconnect -- I just turn off the wireless power for now. Here's the DSS log: Deckard's System Scanner v20070826.66 Run by Reidler on 2007-09-03...
reidlej Inactive Malware Help Topics 6 09-21-2007 06:03 PM
Page Cannot Be Displayed
Well recently i tried to go on a forum and it gave me the error of the page cannot be displyed, when it is displayed for other people. I tried erything i could, but nothing seems to work, i even format my computer and deleted everything and reinstall windows xp along with SP2 and i still seem to...
Shouzen Inactive Malware Help Topics 5 09-21-2006 07:44 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts