Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

User Tag List

Stuck at "Loading your personal settings.."

This is a discussion on Stuck at "Loading your personal settings.." within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Please help me. I have Windows XP SP3, and when I start my PC up it gets stuck at "Loading


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-17-2012, 01:47 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 7
OS: XP Service Pack 3



Please help me. I have Windows XP SP3, and when I start my PC up it gets stuck at "Loading your personal settings..." I've left it for over 2 hours, it still hasn't loaded. I've tried Safe Mode and Last known good configuration, but to no luck.
Joonas08Joonas is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-17-2012, 01:49 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: cambridge ontario
Posts: 184
OS: windows 7 pro


Sounds like your profile has become corrupt. Do you have any other accounts you can sign in with that have admin credentials?
jmoutoux is offline  
Old 08-18-2012, 11:30 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 7
OS: XP Service Pack 3



No, I don't. I'm not a pro with computers, but I think the profile I have is the only one because I don't get the log-in screen when starting it, it just starts up.
Joonas08Joonas is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-18-2012, 11:39 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: cambridge ontario
Posts: 184
OS: windows 7 pro


unfortunately the only solution may be a bit complicated and I don't have the steps handy. Basically you will need to boot to a command prompt and enable the default administrator account. This account is always there by default however it is disabled. Google the steps or maybe one of the fine people here will have them available.
jmoutoux is offline  
Old 08-19-2012, 12:35 PM   #5
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 68,186
OS: win 10 Home



jmoutoux is this what you mean Unhide the Administrator Account in Windows XP My Digital Life
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 08-19-2012, 12:43 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: cambridge ontario
Posts: 184
OS: windows 7 pro


Yes sir. Turn that on and you should be able to log I. With a clean profile. Then either create new one for you or try and fix yours. I recommend new one. Then turn this one back off or password protect it. Let me know how that goes.
jmoutoux is offline  
Old 08-19-2012, 12:44 PM   #7
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 68,186
OS: win 10 Home



Your welcome
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 08-19-2012, 12:46 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: cambridge ontario
Posts: 184
OS: windows 7 pro


Your a scholar and a gentleman :)
jmoutoux is offline  
Old 08-19-2012, 06:42 PM   #9
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,547
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


You also can access the hidden Administrators account by logging into Safe Mode in XP, but not in Vista or Windows 7. If you can't log into your computer, that link that Joe suggested probably won't help you. Log into Safe Mode, and log into the built in Administrators account. If you did not set a password, leave it blank.
Once logged into the Administrator account go to Start/Run and type control userpasswords and press enter. Here create a new user account with Admin rights. Restart the computer in normal mode, and choose the new user account. Browse to C:\Documents and Settings here you should see your old user profile folder, open that up and Copy the My Documents, Desktop, Favorites, Start Menu folders from the old user profile and Paste them into the new user profiles folder, overwriting the Empty ones.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 09-20-2012, 06:24 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 7
OS: XP Service Pack 3



Guys, there's a problem.. The account I'm using IS the Default Administrator account..
Joonas08Joonas is offline  
Old 09-20-2012, 06:49 AM   #11
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 68,186
OS: win 10 Home



Do you mean the hidden admin account or that your account has admin privileges
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 09-20-2012, 08:07 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 7
OS: XP Service Pack 3



I mean the hidden Admin account.
Joonas08Joonas is offline  
Old 09-20-2012, 08:48 AM   #13
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 68,186
OS: win 10 Home



Did you try system restore to a point when it was all ok
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Command line problem
Hi, I wanted to be able to induce the screensaver on my monitor when I was finished working. So, I followed the instructions on this link: How can I turn off the monitor (i.e., "put it to - Microsoft Answers EXCEPT that the second part of the instruction doesn't work i.e. the monitor...
priapus Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 50 06-18-2011 10:17 AM
My laptop is stuck on system restore/shutting down properly.
Hi. I have an Acer Aspire 6930g. I had noticed for a while my computer had not been shutting down by itself, unless I forced it to shut off via holding the power button down for 5 seconds. I had also noticed my computer's wireless card would stop working temporarily, but just restarted it when...
Nanaki13 Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 5 05-31-2011 01:49 PM
NF750-G55 voltage settings
MSI NF750-G55 (MS-7578) latest bios update. 1.4 CPU = AMD Phenom II X4 945 Deneb RAM = G skill F3-10666CL9 -1GBPK (x4chips) DDR3 Windows XP pro. Geforce 9800 GTX+ 512mb I have owned this motherboard for about 10months. I am considering sending it back for the second time before it runs out...
grimzella Motherboards, Bios & CPU 3 01-27-2011 05:40 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts