Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

User Tag List

stand by buttom greyed out ???

This is a discussion on stand by buttom greyed out ??? within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. my stand by button greyed out in window XP pro ..any suggestion how can i take it back


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-30-2007, 03:47 AM   #1
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 585
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit



my stand by button greyed out in window XP pro ..any suggestion how can i take it back
bindudhindsa is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-30-2007, 03:49 AM   #2
Team Manager
Articles Team
 
chauffeur2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Henley Beach, South Australia
Posts: 11,898
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 and Windows 10

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to chauffeur2

Quote:
Originally Posted by bindudhindsa View Post
my stand by button greyed out in window XP pro ..any suggestion how can i take it back

G'Day,

Do you have SP2 (service Pack 2) installed on this machine?

Regards,
__________________
Dave T.



If it works, Don't fix it!
Especially if Microsoft made it!
chauffeur2 is offline  
Old 05-30-2007, 06:35 AM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 585
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit



yes dave..its with service pack 2
bindudhindsa is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-30-2007, 06:52 AM   #4
Team Manager
Articles Team
 
chauffeur2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Henley Beach, South Australia
Posts: 11,898
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 and Windows 10

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to chauffeur2

Hi again bindudhindsa,

You might like to try this workaround (you will need your Windows® XP SP2 CD).

Insert the Windows® XP CD in your drive. (Hold down the Shift Key to prevent it from starting.)

Go Start > Run ...in the box type in sfc /scannow …please take note of the space between the sfc and the /.

This is the System File Checker...it will scan all the Windows® core system files to ensure that they are in their respective correct places, and if not replace them from the CD.

During the scan you may be asked to Insert the CD, if this happens just go retry and let it do its thing.

One important point: While sfc is running, it is not advisable to do any other work, or have any browsers/programs running on the computer, until the scan is complete. (This process will generally take around 45-65 minutes to complete).

Once finished, remove the CD and reboot your machine...all should be "Normal" (hopefully).

Please post back with the result, or if there are any further queries/concerns.

Regards,
__________________
Dave T.



If it works, Don't fix it!
Especially if Microsoft made it!
chauffeur2 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
'Unlock computer' fields greyed out (RESOLVED)
I left my laptop (Acer 5003 Aspire) alone for a few minutes. It now has a dialog box showing, saying: Unlock computer This computer is in use and has been locked. Only \ or an administrator can unlock this computer. Username: Password: {Greyed out]
PrinceToad Windows XP Support 2 04-24-2008 02:34 AM
Greyed out
Hi Everyone, Why is it that the link tools on the editing area in windows live hotmail are greyed out? By that I mean, I cannot past a URL address! See picture Any idea? Thanks
Acer2000 Windows XP Support 6 05-20-2007 06:38 AM
'fill colour' greyed out
Can anyone help? The fill colour on the drawing toolbar is greyed out so that the person can not use any of the colours. They can pull down the arrow and see the colours pallet but they are all greyed out. But when I log onto that particular pc I can see it fine. Does anyone know if this would...
SARAHJ101 Microsoft Office support 0 03-16-2006 05:34 AM
Firefox - parts of page greyed out
This is a recent occurrence, last couple of days I think. I'm finding that parts of pages I'm looking at are greyed out. I'm pretty much only using the net for research so I've only noticed that some of the logs on different sites I'm looking at have parts of the log greyed out in blocks. I don't...
Snorky Mozilla/Firefox Browsers 2 09-08-2005 10:26 AM
BIOS - Everything Greyed Out
I had not checked my BIOS for months, everything in there was just the way I liked it, so this could have started 6 months ago. Basically, everything is greyed out. The only thing I can select is the drives, I can get into most of the menus, though it's within that nothing is selectable. It's...
Vasudan Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU 2 07-28-2004 07:57 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts