Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

User Tag List

[SOLVED] Vista install crashed while expanding files.

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Vista install crashed while expanding files. within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Try in install XP SP2 and after no sucess Vista but no joy. Had some problems in IE7 and Firefox


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-10-2008, 05:22 AM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 30
OS:



Try in install XP SP2 and after no sucess Vista but no joy. Had some problems in IE7 and Firefox I couldn’t fix. .So I formatted the hard drive and am trying to reinstalling Vista on the empty hard drive. I get through the first sections Ok during install. No problems loading first start up files, then it gets to the actual install and I get a green tick when copying Windows Files. Then between 7% and 11% of Expanding Windows Files the computer shut down. Tried to use another copy of the program. Same thing happens with XP. Bad sector on the hard drive. The hard drive was working fine last week I thinks its crashing while installing the driver.cab file. Any ideas?? Very stuck. Thanks
Listy821 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-10-2008, 05:34 AM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



and welcome to the Forum

You can test the drive by downloading and running the diagnostic that matches your drive manufacturer:

Samsung https://www.samsung.com/global/busine...ort_HUTIL.html
Seagate/Maxtor/Quantum https://www.seagate.com/www/en-us/sup...oads/seatools/
Western Digital https://support.wdc.com/download/
IBM/Hitachi https://www.hgst.com/hdd/support/download.htm#DFT
fujitsu/Seimens https://www.fcpa.fujitsu.com/download...es/#diagnostic
IBM/Hitachi https://www.hgst.com/hdd/support/download.htm#DFT

I would test the memory also ( see link in my signature )
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Old 07-10-2008, 05:39 AM   #3
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 30
OS:



Thanks I give it a look.

I guess I'll have to put out the
drive and test it on an external?
Listy821 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-10-2008, 05:46 AM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



You can do that if you want, but you can make a bootable test disc to use for testing. Each one is slightly different, but the concept is the same . . make the disc . . boot from it and run the diagnostics
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Old 07-10-2008, 06:02 AM   #5
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 30
OS:



Just one more question. I have to make a bootable disc on my working PC.
Never made a boot disc before. Just start me off and I'll be ok, Thanks
Listy821 is offline  
Old 07-10-2008, 08:58 AM   #6
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



What cd burning software do you have? . . this is how to do it with Nero

https://www.fiveanddime.net/boot-cd-nero.html
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Old 07-10-2008, 07:59 PM   #7
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 30
OS:



Ok I read that. Ummm have no 1.44MB" drive in the soprano case. And yes using Nero 8
Listy821 is offline  
Old 07-10-2008, 08:04 PM   #8
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 30
OS:



There is an option in Nero 8 called "Create Disaster Recovery Disc"
The name sure covers the situation.
Listy821 is offline  
Old 07-10-2008, 08:31 PM   #9
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 30
OS:



I think I'm sort of on the right road with this so far?? maybe
create the bootable ISO image by Nero Burning ROM. Image file
C:\Program Files\Nero\Nero8\Nero Burning Rom\DosBootimage.IMA

Advanced settings hard Drive Emulation (as there is no floppy)
Loas Segmentof Sectors (hex) 07C0
Number of loaded sectors 1

Take me to ISO ready to burn with only 2MB


Ok that seem to work

ntsfread.exe
Partition C installed
USB installed
Driver D and E (ok)
Complete codepage prepare and select function.

(DR-DOS)A:\^u

Thats was the last prompt.
Listy821 is offline  
Old 07-11-2008, 02:49 AM   #10
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



What brand of drive do you have?
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Old 07-11-2008, 07:11 AM   #11
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 30
OS:



It's a Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 Ultra ATA/100 200-GB Hard Drive.

I've pulled it out,... (as I look at the outside window:)
I think I'll wait to see what you've got to say first.
I think I'll give it a go in the external before I buy a new one, ..maybe?
The time I've spent, first trying to fix the IE problems now the intall.
Thanks. Paul.
Listy821 is offline  
Old 07-11-2008, 07:13 AM   #12
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 30
OS:



https://www.seagate.com/www/en-us/pro...racuda_7200.9/
Listy821 is offline  
Old 07-11-2008, 08:06 AM   #13
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 30
OS:



SeaTools
Is this what I should be trying?

SeaTools for DOS
SeaTools for DOS has replaced SeaTools Desktop and PowerMax. SeaTools for DOS can test Seagate or Maxtor Parallel ATA (PATA and IDE) and Serial ATA (SATA) interface disc drives. Because the software boots to its own operating system you can test your drive regardless of the OS installed on it. You can even test a new or completely blank drive. SeaTools for DOS will instruct the drive to run its built in Drive Self Test (DST) and give either a pass or fail status. If you are troubleshooting your disc drive and the DST passes, then you have a good drive!
Listy821 is offline  
Old 07-11-2008, 08:31 AM   #14
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



That should be it . .
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Old 07-11-2008, 08:43 AM   #15
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 30
OS:



I've pulled it out and its in an external case so I downloaded Sea Tools for windows.
I can see it in device manager but now it has a red cross on it,
Windows will not enable it and SeaTools cant see it.
It was ok on the external yesterday. Thats how I formatted it.
I'm laughing now:) Should I but a new drive.
Have I come to the end of the road?
Listy821 is offline  
Old 07-11-2008, 08:45 AM   #16
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 30
OS:



Or put it back in the box and run the DOS SeaTools?
Listy821 is offline  
Old 07-11-2008, 08:49 AM   #17
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



You can try puting it back in the tower and running seatools . . but it does look like have your answer
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Old 07-11-2008, 08:51 AM   #18
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 30
OS:



The hard drive stuffed??
Listy821 is offline  
Old 07-11-2008, 08:54 AM   #19
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 30
OS:



Rich,
Thanks very much for you help mate.
Really appreciate it. Very cool.
Listy821 is offline  
Old 07-11-2008, 09:13 AM   #20
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 30
OS:



I'm sorry to bother you again but this is a yes or no question.
While I was trying to fix the HD problem last night a mate was on this
computer taking unrequired things out of the start up using System Mechanic.
He knows pretty much what hes doing but I told him not to f..k with something that wasnt broken. And that fact that he was sort of responsiblefor the last problem.
Anyway, rebooted after he left in the early hours of this morning I had no keyboard/mouse (bluetooth) and the same problems with IE7 and firefox.
So I was really HAPPY. At least he left me with my laptop;(
Did a system restore and reinstalled IE7. By lunch time had gotten it all work again.
I just have system32/edwlfdhl.dll error on start up. I cant find any reference to it on MS's site or google or the dll errror sites. Any idea where I should look next?
If you 've got an idea? Thanks again and have a great day.
Listy821 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts