Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

User Tag List

[SOLVED] startup problems

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] startup problems within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. having startup problems error message reads software 0x007001 occurred at location 0x7812a5b this came up after startup sat there for


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-27-2008, 04:17 AM   #1
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 26
OS:



having startup problems error message reads software 0x007001 occurred at location 0x7812a5b

this came up after startup sat there for about 3 mins then was ok

any ideas please
jim
jimbel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-27-2008, 05:09 AM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 625
OS: XP Pro, Vista,W7 and OSX 10.5.8, 10.6.6 on a PC



can you get in to safe mode, press f8 during start of boot.
__________________
"follow me I'm right behind you"
Receng56 is offline  
Old 07-28-2008, 12:22 AM   #3
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 26
OS:



yes I can

jim
jimbel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-28-2008, 01:44 AM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 625
OS: XP Pro, Vista,W7 and OSX 10.5.8, 10.6.6 on a PC



Go the sart menu and "run", type msconfig. Go to the startup tab. Then disable all and apply. Close msconfig and you wil be asked to restart. Let your computer restart and see if the error reappears. If it doesn't then reopen msconfig and recheck 3 items at a time and restart, continue until the error reappears. This way you should be able to find the offending start up item.
__________________
"follow me I'm right behind you"
Receng56 is offline  
Old 07-28-2008, 05:31 AM   #5
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 26
OS:



thanks a lot will do

jim
jimbel is offline  
Old 07-28-2008, 05:35 AM   #6
Troubled
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Banja Luka, Serb Republic
Posts: 4,713
OS: xp pro sp3, 7 Ultimate 64-bit, Server 2003, Server 2008, VMware vCenter Server

My System

Send a message via MSN to vladimirb Send a message via Yahoo to vladimirb Send a message via Skype™ to vladimirb

Hey there and welcome to TSF...
Also try sfc /scannow
Put Windows XP SP2 CD and go Start --- Run --- and type 'sfc /scannow'
Hit Enter...
Wait until it finish and restart PC...
See if problem still persist...
Report back please...
vladimirb is offline  
Old 07-29-2008, 01:28 AM   #7
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 26
OS:



Hi
vladimirb
this all started when an update for my spyware doctor, froze my comp ,had to shut down with button, the on startup never opened up fully and just sat there, even in safe mode would not fully open (as wanted to restore it ), took it to a local shop,and they had to ghost it from another h/d , tried to open doctor again ,but it froze so deleted it ,it was ok for a few days, but usually have to start, sits the half open, stop with main button . then when restarted usuall opens ok
do not have a xp disc as came loaded etc , I have had a corrupted file in my service pk as on start up for some while now, when ok have to debug a run dll and your team have told me I need the xp disc to cure it, (the reload will not do it ) however thats not been much of a problen, and now SPK 3 is on the way round ( my wife had had it appear on her laptop), hoping that will cure that a reload dics with it , did try the scannow run in normal mode,not safe mode was that right and that has not changed anything no file errors reported though
regards jim
jimbel is offline  
Old 07-29-2008, 02:14 AM   #8
Troubled
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Banja Luka, Serb Republic
Posts: 4,713
OS: xp pro sp3, 7 Ultimate 64-bit, Server 2003, Server 2008, VMware vCenter Server

My System

Send a message via MSN to vladimirb Send a message via Yahoo to vladimirb Send a message via Skype™ to vladimirb

Hey there,
it seems that spyware doctor is the problem and even if you uninstall it, some file still persist in the registry and because of that system keeps popping error messages...
I would suggest you to try to find somewhere XP CD [borrow from a friend] and do Repair of the system...
Or to do System Restore...
Hope this will help you mate...
vladimirb is offline  
Old 07-29-2008, 02:40 AM   #9
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 26
OS:



hey Vladimirb
just tried to download s/pk 3 and it wont let me 0x8020000e error message hope that will help my prob any ideas
jimbel is offline  
Old 07-29-2008, 03:05 AM   #10
Troubled
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Banja Luka, Serb Republic
Posts: 4,713
OS: xp pro sp3, 7 Ultimate 64-bit, Server 2003, Server 2008, VMware vCenter Server

My System

Send a message via MSN to vladimirb Send a message via Yahoo to vladimirb Send a message via Skype™ to vladimirb

hey there
try this, I found it on some forum, should be doable

Renaming the SoftwareDistribution folder

Click Start, Choose Run.
In the Run box, type services.msc.
Click OK.
Right-click the Automatic Updates service.
Click Stop.
Stopping the service will take a moment.

Rename the "SoftwareDistribution" folder:
a. Click Start, click Run, type
%systemroot%, and then click OK.
b. Right-click the SoftwareDistribution folder, and then click Rename.
c. Type SoftwareDistribution.old, and then press ENTER to rename this folder.

Click Start. Choose Run.
In the Run box, type services.msc.
Click OK.
Right-click the Automatic Updates service.
Click Start.
Starting the service will take a moment.

I always assume that the OP is using Windows XP unless otherwise stated.

Hope this will help you mate...
vladimirb is offline  
Old 07-29-2008, 11:51 AM   #11
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 26
OS:



Vladimirb
many thanks now have service pack 3 on
beat regards
jim
jimbel is offline  
Old 07-29-2008, 11:59 AM   #12
Troubled
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Banja Luka, Serb Republic
Posts: 4,713
OS: xp pro sp3, 7 Ultimate 64-bit, Server 2003, Server 2008, VMware vCenter Server

My System

Send a message via MSN to vladimirb Send a message via Yahoo to vladimirb Send a message via Skype™ to vladimirb

No problem mate, anytime ^-^
vladimirb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts