Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

User Tag List

[SOLVED] Graphics issue / Hard drive issue? Help!

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Graphics issue / Hard drive issue? Help! within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi everyone, I'm currently working on a Dell Dimension 9150 and I have a couple of problems. Firstly, when the


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-23-2013, 12:48 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
LesleyP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Derby, UK
Posts: 51
OS: Windows 10


Roll Eyes

Hi everyone,

I'm currently working on a Dell Dimension 9150 and I have a couple of problems.

Firstly, when the PC boots up, there are squares / dots on the monitor similar to the following picture:



Secondly, I have tried to re-install Windows XP twice, and if I leave the CD in it boots into Windows - but if I remove the CD and reboot the computer it says 'no boot device available'.

Any ideas / comments would be very much appreciated.

Thank you :)
LesleyP is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-23-2013, 01:33 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
LesleyP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Derby, UK
Posts: 51
OS: Windows 10



Also, I've just run the hard drive diagnostics and it looks like the hard drive is fine - so not quite sure what's up with it

LesleyP is offline  
Old 07-23-2013, 01:48 PM   #3
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,275
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


You have 2 HDD's of the same size and manufacturer. did you install XP to the secondary drive (eg) Drive 2? Explain more how you installed Windows. Did you format the drive? Or did you delete the partitions and create a new one? Or did you just reinstall over an existing XP installation?
I would boot off of the XP CD and in the Partition information, choose Drive 0 and Delete all partitions. the Create one Partition. Format the drive NTFS. After Windows installs remove the CD and reboot, it should boot into Windows from the HDD.
spunk.funk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-23-2013, 02:22 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
LesleyP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Derby, UK
Posts: 51
OS: Windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by spunk.funk View Post
You have 2 HDD's of the same size and manufacturer. did you install XP to the secondary drive (eg) Drive 2? Explain more how you installed Windows. Did you format the drive? Or did you delete the partitions and create a new one? Or did you just reinstall over an existing XP installation?
I would boot off of the XP CD and in the Partition information, choose Drive 0 and Delete all partitions. the Create one Partition. Format the drive NTFS. After Windows installs remove the CD and reboot, it should boot into Windows from the HDD.
Hi,

Thank you very much for getting back to me. It's not actually my PC but yes I did install XP onto the primary hard drive after formatting the partition which was already there.

I'm in the process of trying it again, but this time your way. Fingers crossed!
LesleyP is offline  
Old 07-23-2013, 02:26 PM   #5
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,275
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


If that fails, delete the partition then create and format.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 07-23-2013, 03:45 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
LesleyP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Derby, UK
Posts: 51
OS: Windows 10



I've just gone through everything step by step (twice) but it's still not booting when I remove the CD and still says 'no boot device available'.

I can't get my head around it - when the XP CD is in the drive, if I leave it when it comes up with the 'press any key to boot from cd' option it will just boot into Windows and even shows the two hard drives. Very confused!

I'm going to reset the BIOS password and change the boot order to see if that works.
LesleyP is offline  
Old 07-23-2013, 04:04 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
LesleyP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Derby, UK
Posts: 51
OS: Windows 10



Disabled the BIOS password and changed the boot order - Sorted!

One last thing though - what's causing the dots on the screen? It only happens during boot up.

Thanks :)
LesleyP is offline  
Old 07-23-2013, 05:46 PM   #8
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,275
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


I wouldn't worry about the dots, that is just a part of the Bios, it means nothing. So, were you able to install Windows? Does it work without the CD? If so, you can mark this thread solved in the thread tools at the top.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 07-24-2013, 12:43 AM   #9
TSF Enthusiast
 
BIGBEARJEDI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Big Bear, Calif., USA
Posts: 2,020
OS: XPsp3-Win8.1,Win10v1709FCU, Ubuntu16.04,Zorin,ISOLinux, Android4.3,CiscoIOS

My System


If you still see the dots once you boot XP, you may have a faulty video card and need to get replaced. If it's an integrated video in the Motherboard, you'd have to disable internal video and buy a bus-based video card (AGP, PCI, or other) and install inside the pc. Dimensions are usually desktops. I've got one right now that does that on my workbench--an 11 yr. old Gateway..

BIGBEARJEDI
BIGBEARJEDI is offline  
Old 07-24-2013, 06:12 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
LesleyP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Derby, UK
Posts: 51
OS: Windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by spunk.funk View Post
I wouldn't worry about the dots, that is just a part of the Bios, it means nothing. So, were you able to install Windows? Does it work without the CD? If so, you can mark this thread solved in the thread tools at the top.
Yes Windows is running fine now - thanks for your help.
LesleyP is offline  
Old 07-24-2013, 06:13 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
LesleyP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Derby, UK
Posts: 51
OS: Windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by BIGBEARJEDI View Post
If you still see the dots once you boot XP, you may have a faulty video card and need to get replaced. If it's an integrated video in the Motherboard, you'd have to disable internal video and buy a bus-based video card (AGP, PCI, or other) and install inside the pc. Dimensions are usually desktops. I've got one right now that does that on my workbench--an 11 yr. old Gateway..

BIGBEARJEDI
Thanks a lot
LesleyP is offline  
Old 07-24-2013, 02:10 PM   #12
TSF Enthusiast
 
BIGBEARJEDI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Big Bear, Calif., USA
Posts: 2,020
OS: XPsp3-Win8.1,Win10v1709FCU, Ubuntu16.04,Zorin,ISOLinux, Android4.3,CiscoIOS

My System


Glad to help..Spunk.Funk did his usual nice job. :)

BBJ
BIGBEARJEDI is offline  
Old 07-24-2013, 02:16 PM   #13
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,275
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Thanks BBJ!
spunk.funk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Vertical menu
Hi, I am looking for a good way to create a nice code that will achieve the result as shown in the attached picture. The HTML code I came up with has the following: <p> <b> <span class="links"><img border="0" src="images/white-dot.png" width="14" height="16">Header 1 </span>
Acer2000 Web Design & Development 30 06-03-2013 03:50 PM
Clone Hard Drive issue
Hi All, I have a old gateway computer with a failing/unbootable hard drive in it. I want to make a clone of this hard drive so that I can use the recovery partition and install on another drive (that I have cloned to). So what I need to do is take a complete clone of this failing drive...
craigs85 Hard Drive Support 5 04-25-2013 03:01 PM
Hard drive Failure & Error prevention
These tips will help prevent Hard Drive errors and failures. 1. Purchase a high end power surge protector which has a high joule rating of about 1200 or higher. A garden variety power bar is not a surge protector. A surge protector will say surge protector with a joule rating. Also the newer...
JackBauer_24 Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 0 04-02-2012 07:46 AM
XP loading issue
Hi I had a blue screen error last week and now XP won't load normally. I have to load from last know good configuration, I have done a virus scan and all okay, only recent changes to pc are new cmos battery. Thanks Di
whitefox723 Windows XP Support 7 09-25-2011 02:27 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts