Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

User Tag List

[SOLVED] double clicking a folder opens search

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] double clicking a folder opens search within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I'm working on a laptop for someone and I can't say I've ever seen this before. The default action for


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-16-2010, 12:43 PM   #1
des
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 352
OS: All of them but Mac



I'm working on a laptop for someone and I can't say I've ever seen this before. The default action for double clicking any folder on the computer is to open Search. If I right click on a folder, the bold (and thus default) option is search and the "open" option is a secondary one, but does open the folder when selected. I can't imagine how it got like this and resetting the defaults on every option in the Folder Options area didn't fix it. Anyone know how to fix this very odd problem?
des is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-16-2010, 01:30 PM   #2
des
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 352
OS: All of them but Mac



okay, quick update. This was most likely caused by the virus that was on it first of all. Secondly, I pinned it down. If I open folder options and go to File Types and find "folder" the default action is Open and Explore is another option. If I click advanced on "file folder" the only action in the list is "find" and that's it. If I hit new to add another action, it wants an application to open it with so I'm not sure how to regenerate the original "open" option.
des is offline  
Old 11-16-2010, 01:34 PM   #3
des
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 352
OS: All of them but Mac



I had e-mailed someone earlier and they sent me an unusual looking quick fix but it actually worked. Running:

regsvr32 /i shell32.dll

from the run line worked. I'm not familiar with the /i parameter but it apparently did something to reset the basic shell library for windows I assume. Hurray! :-D
des is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-17-2010, 08:27 AM   #4
TSF Team Emeritus
Microsoft Support
 
Geekgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 15,478
OS: XP Home SP3 x3 /XP Pro SP3/Vista Ultimate SP2/Win7 Pro 64-BIT



The /i switch stands for "install." It fixed it by re-registering Shell32.dll, which stores information about Windows' interface and is used to open files and Web pages
__________________
Geekgirl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts