Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

User Tag List

[SOLVED] corrupted ip routing table

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] corrupted ip routing table within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I am a complete novice so please be patient and talk to me like i'm a 6 year old if

Closed Thread

Old 01-20-2014, 09:28 PM   #1
Registered Member

OS: xp Media Center Edition Version 2002 service pack 3

Question

I am a complete novice so please be patient and talk to me like i'm a 6 year old if possible.
I have a 10 yr old hp with xp. I use a modem with Charter internet supplied by my apt complex for free. I recently bought a belkin router and a netgear tv box. Everything was working fine until we had a power outage during the night. The next morning nothing was working. A day later i got my modem, router and tv box to work. The computer worked after trying to turn it on 3 times. The monitor wouldn't come on at first. Now everything is working but i still can't get online. My connections say they are connected but nothing is received.
I ran the IE connection problem diagnostic tool and it says:
default gateway 0.0.0.0
no default gateway entry
corrupted routing table
the default route is missing or invalid
invalid IP address
could not connect HTTP connection
HTTPS and FTP connections

I have no idea what any of that means. Can you help? Thank you.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-21-2014, 04:13 AM   #2
TSF Articles Team

My System

I assume you have tried to reset the router?
Old 01-21-2014, 08:49 AM   #3
Registered Member

My System

The Default Gateway is your Router. Boot into the Router setup If it is connected to the modem correctly and the modem is configured correctly, then if you can see that the router is connected.
If there is a internet conection, The Default Gateway (Netgear router) will broadcast an IP address to all of the devices on your network giving them access to the internet.