Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

User Tag List

[SOLVED] computer wont load past windows logo screen

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] computer wont load past windows logo screen within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I dont know alot about computers so please bare with me. I deleted alot of old programs (such as games


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-22-2009, 07:22 PM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2
OS:



I dont know alot about computers so please bare with me. I deleted alot of old programs (such as games etc) which I do not use anymore, *through the control panel add/remove programs*, then did a virus scan, and deleted what was found, and decided to go to www.microsoft.com and get the sp3.. after I installed, when I restarted my computer later, it gave me a black screen saying that it was shut down unexpectedly, and offers safe modes, last good config, and start normally, I have tried all three options, with safe mode, it freezes the computer, with the other two, it boots to the windows logo screen, then it will restart the entire system. Is there any way to fix this? I did not get windows disks or anything like that when I bought the computer, I did create recovery disks, but have since lost one of them, so they aren't much help.

Thanks
lickitysplit87 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-23-2009, 04:09 AM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
POADB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 6,574
OS: Win7



lickitysplit87,

It's going to be difficlt without the XP CD, as that has the Recovery Console that we need in order to get your computer past the logo screen and into the OS.

Have a read here. If you feel confident that you can get the ISO burnt to disk, come back and we'll continue.

https://forums.pcpitstop.com/index.php?showtopic=150212
POADB is offline  
Old 03-23-2009, 08:54 AM   #3
Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2
OS:



POADB, thank you for your reply, but i read somewhere lastnight that the safemode could just take alot longer and it not actually freeze, so i loaded windows in safemode,and left it after about 30 minutes it did let me in. so i did a system restore, and now it appears to be working - but i will be re-burning the recovery disks and putting them somewhere safe. once again thank you.
lickitysplit87 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-23-2009, 10:40 AM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
POADB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 6,574
OS: Win7



Welcome. Glad to hear things are better again.
POADB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts