Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

User Tag List

[SOLVED] Catch 22 dell no keyboard or mouse

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Catch 22 dell no keyboard or mouse within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi everyone this is my first post so please go easy on me :) I have in my office a


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-29-2012, 05:37 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
La Cala tech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 5
OS: Windows XP Pro sp2 64bit, Windows 7 sp1 Ultimate 32bit



Hi everyone this is my first post so please go easy on me :)

I have in my office a Dell Dimension 5150 that had a faulty motherboard (blown capacitors x 8) so I got a new one exactly the same off the Bay.

My problem is that when booting into windows xp the found new hardware comes up to install everything this got so far and is stuck at audio device asking for me to click next which i cannot do because the keyboard or mouse does not work yet because they are not getting installed before everything else!!!

they work in the bios
they work using UBCD4win

there is no legacy support for usb option in the bios :(
there are no PS/2 on this tower and no serials either.

This problem existed before the replacement motherboard as the only keyboard and mouse that would work was the original ones in the original usb ports (already installed) any new usb ones tried to install but needed to click next at found new hardware wizard, catch 22

safe mode is exactly the same.

the only thing i can think of is a pci = ps/2 card if they exist but i want to get this dell out of my office quicker than waiting weeks for it to arrive.

Does anyone know why xp is insisting on manual installation of every device even my monitor apparently needs installing.

I have tried a few different usb keyboards and mice but same result.

I have the original dell ones here but they are so far down the cue or being installed

please any ideas help would be greatly appreciated.
La Cala tech is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-29-2012, 06:14 AM   #2
CCT
Helper
 
CCT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4,126
OS: abacus



Have you tried disabling the on-board audio in Bios and then re-booting ; that may stop the audio device from requiring drivers be loaded.
CCT is offline  
Old 05-29-2012, 06:38 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
La Cala tech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 5
OS: Windows XP Pro sp2 64bit, Windows 7 sp1 Ultimate 32bit



Hi CCT,

Thanks for your quick reply,

I have tried disabling the audio in the bios then it tries to install the dvd drive so disabled that too then it says found new hardware again "Disk" if i disable the hard disk
it doesn't boot windows lol.

Its seems that windows xp wants to install all the motherboard devices including the keyboard and mouse, but gives you no way to continue.

windows xp was doing this before but it wasnt a problem with the original dell keyboard and mouse that i have connected now but the replacement motherboard means even they are not installed yet?

This is what i can do:

I have it on the internet
I can boot into UBCD4 win (some diagnostic software might be useful)
I can get a dos prompt
I can boot from a Win xp Pro sp3 oem cd (same as whats installed)
I can Throw it over the balcony.....

cheers,

Marcus.
La Cala tech is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-29-2012, 06:57 AM   #4
Moderator TSF
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Stancestans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 4,673
OS: Windows 10



Boot from xp cd and perform a repair install (NOT the "Press 'R' to repair windows using the recovery console"). All basic devices will be reinstalled "on the fly". Think of the replacement motherboard as a different system even though it's identical to the old one. Windows has the older hardware profile which will not work with the new hardware, that's why everything is being detected as new hardware. Lesson: identical twins do differ.
Stancestans is offline  
Old 05-29-2012, 07:39 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
La Cala tech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 5
OS: Windows XP Pro sp2 64bit, Windows 7 sp1 Ultimate 32bit



Hi Stancestans,

I want to try your idea of the repair install of XP but i have read on other forums that it gets as far 34mins remaining then you cannot click anything because the mouse or keyboard doesnt work? I think being stuck in the middle of a repair install is a worse place to be stuck with this problem than where I am currently with all windows updates done.

If your sure it wont happen leaving me stuck half way through a repair then ill do it. I think maybe the windows xp has a problem with automatic hardware installation legacy support.
Even before the replacement motherboard it had this problem with not being able to install anything without clicking next on found hardware wizard.

any ideas?

thanks.
La Cala tech is offline  
Old 05-29-2012, 12:37 PM   #6
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,002
OS: Windows 10 64 bit, Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX 10.11.5

My System


When Windows is installed on a computer, it takes a snapshot of the motherboard and the chipset and loads drives specifically for that motherboard. When you replace the motherboard and do not reinstall Windows, when Windows loads it looks for the previous hardware and does not find it, so it cannot load drivers specific to that hardware. Usually this causes a BSOD. The only way to get full functionality for your computer again with all the proper drivers is either to do a Repair Install or wipe the drive and do a clean install
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 06-06-2012, 04:07 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
La Cala tech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 5
OS: Windows XP Pro sp2 64bit, Windows 7 sp1 Ultimate 32bit



Ok did the repair install and all went well keyboard and mouse working but upon reboot hit the message: this windows must be activated before use so i used the safe mode and run command : rundll32.exe syssetup,SetupOobeBnk
then back in normal mode finished installing everything else (automatically) phew!!
Thanks for your help.
La Cala tech is offline  
Old 06-06-2012, 04:44 AM   #8
CCT
Helper
 
CCT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4,126
OS: abacus



So, it would appear that "I got a new one exactly the same off the Bay" turned out to be a different one.

Nice you sorted it out.
CCT is offline  
Old 06-06-2012, 01:06 PM   #9
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,002
OS: Windows 10 64 bit, Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX 10.11.5

My System


Glad you got it sorted. Please mark this thread Solved in the Thread Tools at the top.
Attached Images
 
spunk.funk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best Claw-Grip FPS and RTS mouse? And Keyboard?
Hi guys, I currently have this mouse: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Microsoft-Comfort-Optical-Mouse-1000/dp/B000FS9DJ6/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1328823587&sr=8-3 And it's really comfortable, I can Claw-Grip it really well and it's great. I'm looking for a similar mouse to this but one that's...
Purpose21 Other Hardware Support 1 02-09-2012 06:21 PM
Problems with mouse and keyboard
Hi! I have problems to open amd vision control center so i found some possible solutions for it via google. Instructions told to delete all graphics drivers and all .NET -programs ,reboot and reinstall them. When i had deleted all and got rebooted the computer, my mouse and keyboard didn't work....
teukka Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 1 01-29-2012 06:00 PM
1 Keyboard & 1 mouse on 2 computers
Hi. I have 1 screen with 2 computers, and what I am trying to achieve here is: Getting the logitech k350 keyboard and logitech m750 mouse to work with both computers. When the screen (display) is on the PC channel, the mouse + keyboard will work on the PC. When the display is on the mac channel,...
BomBin Other Hardware Support 21 08-26-2011 03:36 PM
Blue screen crash
I get a BSOD after my system has sat idle for a while. Bit of history: I had a trojan a few months ago due to my own sheer stupidity of not renewing my virusware cos I was skint. I installed ESET NOD32 which seemed to sort it out for a while. Then I started getting some problems, crashing and...
Elrowien BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 1 08-06-2011 05:28 PM
Keyboard & Mouse won't work
I am using XP and only have USB ports for keyboard and mouse. Keyboard and mouse stopped working. Have tried other ports, other mice and no luck. Upon booting up a message shows briefly that says, "keyboard disabled." Cannot get in to safe mode. Any suggestions?
mn2ca2co Other Hardware Support 11 01-02-2011 10:55 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts