Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

User Tag List

[SOLVED] auto shutdown

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] auto shutdown within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. My older pc with Win XP pro, when shutting down, has the message "it is now safe to turn off


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-24-2013, 03:37 PM   #1
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 909
OS: win 10 pro

My System


My older pc with Win XP pro, when shutting down, has the message "it is now safe to turn off your computer" and waits for me to turn it off. Can I get rid of this and have it turn off automatically? I have looked in the setup and power settings, but don't see what I need to change it.
deweylovem is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-24-2013, 04:54 PM   #2
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,471
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


Are you running SP3?
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 04-24-2013, 05:09 PM   #3
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,100
OS: Windows 10 64 bit, Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX 10.11.5

My System


Boot into Setup (Bios) and go to Power Settings and enable shutdown.
spunk.funk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-24-2013, 05:13 PM   #4
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 25,372
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


If your peripheries are on a power strip with your computer, you might want to keep the message as a reminder to save some electricity.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 04-25-2013, 04:41 AM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 909
OS: win 10 pro

My System


I am running SP3.
I went to bios and disabled power savings. There was no option for enabling shutdown. It still gives me the ok to shutdown message.
I would like to have it shut down automatically. Sometimes when installing updates it runs for a while before shutdown and I will go away and forget it is still on.
deweylovem is offline  
Old 04-25-2013, 06:57 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 113
OS: Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1



Hello there .o/

You may need to enable ACPI in the BIOS setup.
Can you tell us which model your motherboard is ?
Lachdanan is offline  
Old 04-25-2013, 10:41 AM   #7
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 909
OS: win 10 pro

My System


MoBo is Trigem Computer, Inc. Cognac s/n 2974HPPAV3 with 667mhz Intel Celeron CPU.
I could not find ACPI in the bios. Bios is Phoenix Technologies 2.02 7/14/00
deweylovem is offline  
Old 04-25-2013, 11:48 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 113
OS: Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1



Hmm do you have any option that reads like "Plug and play OS Installed" or "PnP OS" Yes/No which you can set to "Yes" ?

Also, can you run the following command from command prompt with admin rights and tell us the output :
wmic baseboard get manufacturer,model

Edit : Is this a HP Pavilion ? If so, which model ?
Lachdanan is offline  
Old 04-25-2013, 01:53 PM   #9
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 909
OS: win 10 pro

My System


I ran wmic, all that came up was Trigem Computer inc, no model.
This mobo was taken from an hP pavilion, but don't know the model.
Maybe I should have mentioned that I have 2 hard drives, one with ME and the other with xp, with a dual boot menu. It shuts down automatically when exiting ME, So I thought The problem was XP. That is why I posted in the XP forum. Sorry I did not tell you this originally
Also In device manager, there are lines with ACPI and all are working fine.
None of the options you mention are in the bios.
deweylovem is offline  
Old 04-25-2013, 02:26 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 113
OS: Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1



Erf sorry, I didn't mean "model" but "product".
Though if it works OK with ME then it may be a driver issue.
Lachdanan is offline  
Old 04-26-2013, 02:31 AM   #11
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: SA
Posts: 1,930
OS: DOS 3.3



In device manager
View -> Show hidden devices
Expand Non-Plug and Play Drivers
If "NT APM/Legacy Support" is disables double click and enable.
Restart and shutdown.
AlbertMC2 is offline  
Old 04-26-2013, 10:44 AM   #12
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 909
OS: win 10 pro

My System


Thread solved. In control panel-power options-Clicked "APM" tab and checked "enable advance power management support". It now shuts down automatically.
deweylovem is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer Auto Shutdown (HELP)
i realise that my cpu fan started to spin faster that usual and making louder noise.then i open up the case and clean some of the dust in the heatsink. after i put back all together.my computer become worse.after boot up,i opened my facebook and suddenly the computer auto shutdown.note that my...
mrbad395 Cases and Cooling 8 04-04-2013 02:26 PM
i need to know what to do. Is it serious or no.
I found all this through Eventvwr on my PC and I dont know what I can do. Gateway FX 6831 Intel (R) core (TM) i7 CPU 860 @ 2.80GHz 2.80GHz Ram 16.0 GB ATI Radeon HD 5800 Warning 24/10/2012 11:24:21 AM Diagnostics-Performance 102 Boot Performance Monitoring Critical ...
englishmuffin Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 1 10-24-2012 05:19 PM
Vista frequent/multiple BSOD
OS ·Windows Vista 64-bit Service pack 2 · What was original installed OS on system?- Windows Vista 64-bit Service pack 2 · Is the OS an OEM version- pre-installed · Age of system (hardware)- 2009 · Age of OS installation - n/a` · CPU- Intel Penitum Dual CPU E2220 @ 2.40 GHZ · Video...
sirjoe27 BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 15 12-09-2011 08:54 PM
auto shutdown
Is it possible to auto shutdown for netgear router
snop89 Protocols and Routing 1 11-28-2011 11:09 AM
A few Questions
Hey guys I have a few more questions, I have been slowly working on my site and looking for stuff to do it like the software to set up a social site kinda like fb or myspace. well any ways I also wanted to set up a message board for the site for people to get help or talk about stuff, for now it...
Dblanchard1278 Web Design & Development 27 07-25-2011 02:47 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts