Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

User Tag List

RPC server

This is a discussion on RPC server within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. okay, I need to know how to get my rpc server available. I am not good with computers so be

Closed Thread

Old 10-25-2016, 11:02 AM   #1
Registered Member

okay, I need to know how to get my rpc server available. I am not good with computers so be easy with me. I see a lot of posts that sound like a foreign language to me. I don't know how this happened. I have 2 computers at work. One I updated to windows 10. Works fine. The other is the RPC server problem and it's Windows XP. Thanks ahead of time.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-25-2016, 01:16 PM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus

My System

Do you have a Windows XP CD?
On the XP machine, go to Start/Run and type services.msc and press enter
Scroll down to Remote Procedure Call and Locater (RPC), double click each one, make sure the Startup type is Automatic, and Start the Service.
If you have an XP CD, put that in, and go to Start/Run and type SFC /scannow and press enter. This will replace any missing system files.
Old 10-25-2016, 02:03 PM   #3
Registered Member

I found the Remote Pro. Call. Double click it on automatic. I don't see other one. I do see where the server is started up. Since hurricane Mathew I couldn't print. It has evolved into this and I'm no expert. What else do I do? Thanks so much
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-25-2016, 02:06 PM   #4
Registered Member

I don't see Locater
Old 10-25-2016, 02:11 PM   #5
Registered Member

could not start error 1053. I will check tomorrow. Thanks
Old 10-25-2016, 05:30 PM   #6
TSF Team, Emeritus

My System

Quote:
Do you have a Windows XP CD?..... If you have an XP CD, put that in, and go to Start/Run and type SFC /scannow and press enter. This will replace any missing system files.