Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

User Tag List

reinstall DELL

This is a discussion on reinstall DELL within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I need to reinstall my dell (Inspiron 9300) to factory conditions as my computer is properly mashed after a number


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-01-2010, 03:25 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 89
OS: XP



I need to reinstall my dell (Inspiron 9300) to factory conditions as my computer is properly mashed after a number of years of reinstalling, installing programs, etc., etc. and I want to start afresh.
I never got any DELL restore disks with but it has a utility partition. However, apparently it is supposed to have a restore partition as well.
CTRL + F11 does not work since Acronis overwrote the MBR so I need to restore it somehow using: https://www.goodells.net/dellrestore/index.htm

However, any ideas why the restore might be missing or is it part of the utility partition
qwertyjjj is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-01-2010, 03:34 PM   #2
Administrator
Microsoft MVP

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



The Dell REstore option uses files in the smaller FAT partition. When Adcronis overwrote the MBR it rendered the recovery feature useless. Some have been able to recreate it using the Goodells method and others have not.

You can get a reinstallation guide specific to your Dell here

You can request a replacement instalation cd here:

or borrow any Dell Renstalltion disc that matches the sticker on your poc ( Home, Pro or MCE )
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Old 06-01-2010, 04:26 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 89
OS: XP



Quote:
Originally Posted by simpswr View Post
The Dell REstore option uses files in the smaller FAT partition. When Adcronis overwrote the MBR it rendered the recovery feature useless. Some have been able to recreate it using the Goodells method and others have not.

You can get a reinstallation guide specific to your Dell here

You can request a replacement instalation cd here:

or borrow any Dell Renstalltion disc that matches the sticker on your poc ( Home, Pro or MCE )
Can I use an XP pro disc and use the DELL OEMlicense keyÉ
I know I have rung up Microsoft by phone once before and they gave me an override key.
qwertyjjj is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-01-2010, 04:55 PM   #4
Administrator
Microsoft MVP

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



The install disc has to match the Product Key . . it has to be an OEM version and also match Home, Pro or MCE
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Old 06-01-2010, 05:07 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 89
OS: XP



Quote:
Originally Posted by simpswr View Post
The install disc has to match the Product Key . . it has to be an OEM version and also match Home, Pro or MCE
So, pretty much I have to get it from DELL?
Could take a while :)

Nowhere to get an OEM HOM CD online then use the code on the bottom of the laptop...
qwertyjjj is offline  
Old 06-01-2010, 05:13 PM   #6
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 67,907
OS: win 10 Home



Nope dell is your best bet
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 06-01-2010, 05:24 PM   #7
Administrator
Microsoft MVP

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



Dell ususally ships pretty quick. You could borrow one?

eBay has them from time to time, but they usually get pulled pretty quick . . What version is yours? Home Pro or MCE?
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts