Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

User Tag List

registering extension in folder options

This is a discussion on registering extension in folder options within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. win cant properly register an extension in folder options > extensions list anymore. in 'folder options' i deleted the .avi


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-09-2012, 12:47 AM   #1
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 722
OS: win me



win cant properly register an extension in folder options > extensions list anymore.
in 'folder options' i deleted the .avi extension, because it didnt properly register with a program. but the .avi extension doesnt appear back in the list of extensions ! even when it is manually set in the list, it is automatically removed again when i open the extensions list. i can assign the .avi extension to some other program than windows media player, but i cant change the icon anymore.
okeee is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-09-2012, 03:06 AM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,003
OS: Windows 10 64 bit, Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX 10.11.5

My System


Scroll down to post#6 Adding extensions to Windows XP so that it will search the file contents - FILExt Forum and see if that solves the problem.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 03-20-2012, 02:06 PM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 722
OS: win me



this post? i have no idea what it means and what to look for.
Quote:
I had this same problem a few months ago with my .MAC files but just became aware of your Thread. To solve my problem I ended up making some changes to my Registry, some of it under MS Tech direction -- if you can still use the info, here it is: under "MyComputer\HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\.MAC\PersistentHandler", the new File Extension must exist here and it must have a PersistentHandler key with a Default value {5e941d80-bf96-11cd-b579-08002b30bfeb} (like the .TXT file extension) -- I tried typing in the value but it didn't work -- the MS Tech told me to Copy-Paste it from the .TXT PersistentHandler key -- then it worked.
okeee is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-20-2012, 02:20 PM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,003
OS: Windows 10 64 bit, Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX 10.11.5

My System


You would go to Start/Run and type in regedit and press enter. In the Registry Editor go to the key HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\.avi\PersistentHandler on the right side the extension must have a Default value. (see attached) If there is no Default Value, copy it from the .txt extension, by right clicking it and choosing Modify. Then copying the value. Go back to .avi Right click the Default and choose Modify and Paste the value in there. Then exit the Registry Editor.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	avi.JPG
Views:	27
Size:	14.8 KB
ID:	106854   Click image for larger version

Name:	Persistent.JPG
Views:	30
Size:	12.7 KB
ID:	106855  
spunk.funk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing second Hard Drive in PC.
Hi. I have a HP Pavilion Desktop PC and my hard drive died (death clicking). It was on warranty and have been replaced by a tech. I want to try to recover my Hard Drive with the freezing technique, but I first need to be prepared to put my second Hard Drive in. So I want to keep the hard drive I...
Stcheeve Hard Drive Support 10 03-09-2012 04:34 PM
Install Centon 1GB PC3200 in sr1520nx compaq presario
I know my p.c. accepts PC3200. Anybody knows whether I can install Centon 1GB PC3200 in SR1520NX Compaq Presario ? Are they compatible ? Centon 1GB PC3200 (400Mhz) Unbuffered Non ECC 184pin DDR DIMM install to
zhong RAM and Power Supply Support 3 03-09-2012 10:24 AM
The built-in SC in Asus Maxumus Gene-Z -VS- Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium
Hello wonderful people. I no nothing about sound cards. All I know is that I used to use a crappy motherboard (socket 775). I then upgraded my PC and got the Asus Maximus Gene-Z Z68 motherboard. Here is a link to it: ASUS - Motherboards- ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z It says to have this: ...
benyben Sound Cards 5 03-09-2012 02:47 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts