Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

User Tag List

Regional Setting issue

This is a discussion on Regional Setting issue within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. This past Thursday I was installing my copy of Nero 7, and all the characters where displayed in what I


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-25-2008, 09:27 AM   #1
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16
OS:



This past Thursday I was installing my copy of Nero 7, and all the characters where displayed in what I thought at first was Japanese, since I do use several programs that use that character set, but U use the AppLocale program to run them since I don't use them often enough to warrant changing the Regional and Language Options.
So after verifying that the Standards and Formats was set to English(United States) and the Location was set to United States I became even more puzzled. I finished the install of Nero 7 and for some reason every folder is in what I now found to be Chinese. The thing is I don't have the East Asian language pack installed. I ran a virus scan and nothing was found, then had the virus scan run at boot and still nothing so either something is messed up in the Registry, or there's a virus that AVG doesn't know about. Any suggestions on what I should do next, cuz when I try to install Virtual PC everything appears in Chinese.

Thanks
EdgeKrusher is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-25-2008, 11:06 AM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
tecknomage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 928
OS: WinXP Pro SP3



The NERO Setup should have asked you what language you want to use first. I've installed NERO 7 & 8 and this was the very first question asked when you ran their setup.

If you did not get this, you have a language-specific version, that may be a OEM NERO install from a manufacturer. As when you buy a Chinese CD drive and the NERO install is in Chinese only.

The fix is to download the NERO Setup directly from NERO.
__________________
Tecknomage
Computer System Specialist
IT Technician
tecknomage is offline  
Old 02-25-2008, 11:11 AM   #3
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16
OS:



No that's not the fix, trust me, this Version of NERO 7 has been installed on this machine before, and also on another one of my machines. Both times it installed correctly in English. About 3 months ago I had my drive fail and had to rebuild the OS. Everything was working great on the new build, then all of a sudden after I installed NERO every program I try and install displays the Chinese character set.
EdgeKrusher is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts