Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

User Tag List

reeinstalling windows disk wont boot

This is a discussion on reeinstalling windows disk wont boot within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. i am trying to reinstall windows in a laptop and it loads up to the login screen but the password


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-25-2008, 12:38 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: west florida
Posts: 300
OS: xp media center sp2 linux:ubuntu


Send a message via AIM to gamer101 Send a message via Yahoo to gamer101

i am trying to reinstall windows in a laptop and it loads up to the login screen but the password got changed from a virus and now i cant install windows when i insert the disk it does nothing please help its a newer hp compaq nc6320
gamer101 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-25-2008, 01:03 PM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



To reinstall, you need to boot from the XP Installation disc . . to do that, enter BIOS ( Setup ) and set the first boot device as CD/ROM.

Put your XP Disc in the drive and disconnect all external peripherals

Once you set your BIOS to boot first from cd . . when it restarts you will see a black screen with a prompt "Press any key to boot from CD" . . do that and you will be able to delete any or all partitions and recreate one or more, then proceed to formating and installing XP.

That message can pass quickly, so have a finger on the keyboard when you boot. This will delete all data on the drive so be sure you have your important data backed up. The prompt will appear after every reboot, but do not press any key on subsequent reboots. The setup process will continue with no action required from you.

If you are installing on SATA drive, there is an additional step:

https://xphelpandsupport.mvps.org/how...ws_xp_on_a.htm


For help entering BIOS: https://www.michaelstevenstech.com/bios_manufacturer.htm
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Old 03-25-2008, 01:15 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: west florida
Posts: 300
OS: xp media center sp2 linux:ubuntu


Send a message via AIM to gamer101 Send a message via Yahoo to gamer101

i did try this and yes i know what u mean i put it to just boot off the cd-rom and it still did not go to the screen i have reinstalled windows multiply times but never on a laptop and i am do this for a friend so i got to be careful so i dont really mess things up and i have quit a bit of exprience but this is baffling me
gamer101 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-25-2008, 01:42 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: west florida
Posts: 300
OS: xp media center sp2 linux:ubuntu


Send a message via AIM to gamer101 Send a message via Yahoo to gamer101

i got it working but know it says there is no harddrive
gamer101 is offline  
Old 03-25-2008, 01:44 PM   #5
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



You may have a SATA drive . .

Quote:
If you are installing on SATA drive, there is an additional step:

https://xphelpandsupport.mvps.org/how...ws_xp_on_a.htm
Some BIOS will allow an alternative method: Go into the bios and check the "Sata operation" setting, change it to "Raid Autodetect/ATA" if it is not already. Now try to install XP
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Old 03-25-2008, 02:26 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: west florida
Posts: 300
OS: xp media center sp2 linux:ubuntu


Send a message via AIM to gamer101 Send a message via Yahoo to gamer101

i got it figured out but i dont have the cd for the sata drive nor does my friend where can i get the driver it is a hp compaq nc6320
gamer101 is offline  
Old 03-25-2008, 02:35 PM   #7
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



Look on the HP support website
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Old 03-25-2008, 02:41 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: west florida
Posts: 300
OS: xp media center sp2 linux:ubuntu


Send a message via AIM to gamer101 Send a message via Yahoo to gamer101

do i down load the seagate harddrive firmware update
gamer101 is offline  
Old 03-25-2008, 02:43 PM   #9
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



No . . you want the SATA drivers . . usually described as "For use with the F6 option when installing"
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Old 03-25-2008, 02:49 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: west florida
Posts: 300
OS: xp media center sp2 linux:ubuntu


Send a message via AIM to gamer101 Send a message via Yahoo to gamer101

it didnt work
gamer101 is offline  
Old 03-25-2008, 03:13 PM   #11
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



What did not work . . what happened?
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Old 03-25-2008, 04:57 PM   #12
Security Team
Visiting Trainee (247)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 1,070
OS: XP



if you have downloadedthe file you need to burn it into to a cd and make it bootable. but i presume because the files are bootable you do not need to do that.
jimmy is offline  
Old 03-25-2008, 05:00 PM   #13
Security Team
Visiting Trainee (247)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 1,070
OS: XP



hi simpswr i have a question for you. when you are loading xp and it says you can press f6 to install third party driver ie the sata. when you press that do you have to remove the cd and put the cd with sata drivers and how does the xp installation continues do you have to swap cds. i have never done i.
jimmy is offline  
Old 03-25-2008, 05:28 PM   #14
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by faradd View Post
hi simpswr i have a question for you. when you are loading xp and it says you can press f6 to install third party driver ie the sata. when you press that do you have to remove the cd and put the cd with sata drivers and how does the xp installation continues do you have to swap cds. i have never done i.
You put the SATA drivers on a floppy disc . . Press the F6 at hte promto, and when the installation needs the drivers, it will load them. It usually ask you to choose which drivers . .safest path is to select all of them and let XP sort them out.
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Old 03-25-2008, 05:50 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: west florida
Posts: 300
OS: xp media center sp2 linux:ubuntu


Send a message via AIM to gamer101 Send a message via Yahoo to gamer101

still can not find the drivers spent multiply hours looking or am i blind and here is the specs fujitsu model: mhw2080bh
gamer101 is offline  
Old 03-25-2008, 06:11 PM   #16
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by simpswr View Post
Some BIOS will allow an alternative method: Go into the bios and check the "Sata operation" setting, change it to "Raid Autodetect/ATA" if it is not already. Now try to install XP
Did you try this?

You want the motherboard SATA drivers . . not the Hard Drive . . are youl sure you have a SATA drive??
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 06:37 AM   #17
Security Team
Visiting Trainee (247)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 1,070
OS: XP



thanks for your reply but what if someone doesn't have a floppy drive would you then need to store the files on a removal drive.
jimmy is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 06:52 AM   #18
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



Did you try changing the BIOS setting?

The simplest route is to buy a floppy to use for the installation . . you can get a drive and ribbon for under $20

Otherwise, you can slipstream the SATA drivers into a new installation disc
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 10:36 AM   #19
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: west florida
Posts: 300
OS: xp media center sp2 linux:ubuntu


Send a message via AIM to gamer101 Send a message via Yahoo to gamer101

close this thread
gamer101 is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 10:49 AM   #20
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



You can mark the thread closed yourself by clicking on the Thread Tools on your first post . .
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts