Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

User Tag List

Problems with XP Media Centre SP3 re install

This is a discussion on Problems with XP Media Centre SP3 re install within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have just fitted a new 500Gb HDD and re installed Media Centre SP"(2005 version) from the original 2 discs,


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-15-2010, 03:05 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Reading, England
Posts: 11
OS: XP Media Centre SP3



I have just fitted a new 500Gb HDD and re installed Media Centre SP"(2005 version) from the original 2 discs, followed by SP3 from a download on a flashdrive.
A number of Windows components do not work. These include Disk Management, Event Viewer, System Restore, Help and Support, Network Connections, and probably others which I haven't found yet.
I also can not get my USB Network Adapter to connect to my wireless router. The adapter is installed correctly and recognizes my network along with others in the area. The network is also OK as I have other computers in the family which are connecting to the internet with no problems.
I keep getting messages that 'RPC Service is not available, yet it is set to Automatic and is Started. Also had a message that DCOM Service was not available but I cannot get that to start, it flashes up the 'RPC' message then lists itself as Starting.
Any help at all with this problem would be much appreciated, as I have exhausted my limited knowledge.
Ancestors is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-15-2010, 03:11 PM   #2
Administrator
Microsoft MVP

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



and welcome to the Forum

Did you install the Motherboard drivers?
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Old 12-15-2010, 03:20 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Reading, England
Posts: 11
OS: XP Media Centre SP3



Yes, motherboard drivers re installed. Must admit I only used the original disc I have for the MB, did not look for updates, but there were no problems prior to this re install. I only did it because I wanted a bigger HDD.
Ancestors is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-15-2010, 03:24 PM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,002
OS: Windows 10 64 bit, Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX 10.11.5

My System


Sounds like some of the files were not installed when you installed Windows. You should have loaded Windows XP First, and then MCE not the other way around. Anyways, go to Start/Run and type SFC /Scannow and hit enter. The Windows File Protection window pops up. Put in your XP CD and it will copy any files it needs. If this still fails, then reinstall XP and MCE in the proper order.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 12-15-2010, 03:39 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Reading, England
Posts: 11
OS: XP Media Centre SP3



The discs I have for Media Centre do not allow seperation of XP and MC. There is Disc 1 and Disc 2 for Windows XP Media Centre.
I tried Scannow, but when it asks for Disc 2, it does not accept the XP MEdia Centre Disc 2. Apparently this is a known problem to Microsoft.
I think you may be right that I may have to repeat the whole re installation, but I really don't want to do this except as a last resort because I do not understand why this first attempt went wrong.
Ancestors is offline  
Old 12-15-2010, 04:43 PM   #6
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,002
OS: Windows 10 64 bit, Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX 10.11.5

My System


Try a Repair install which will not delete any files or programs from your computer.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 12-15-2010, 04:43 PM   #7
Administrator
Microsoft MVP

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



Did you have errors during the installation??
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Old 12-15-2010, 05:47 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Reading, England
Posts: 11
OS: XP Media Centre SP3



spunk.funk - will I be able to do thisbearing in mind that my (faulty ) installation is SP3 but my discs are SP2? Will I be able to uninstall SP3 to enable the repair install to work?
old rich - No, there were no errors during the installation. That is why I am worried about re installing.
It is now 12.45 am in UK and after bed time, so will not be able to get back on here for about 18 hours now as have things to do tomorrow. Please, please continue your interest and I will respond just as soon as I can. Thank you for your interest.
Ancestors is offline  
Old 12-15-2010, 07:52 PM   #9
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,002
OS: Windows 10 64 bit, Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX 10.11.5

My System


Doing a Repair Install will probably revert automatically back to SP2. (it will overwrite newer files) Then if all is well you will have to do the updates again.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 12-16-2010, 11:55 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Reading, England
Posts: 11
OS: XP Media Centre SP3



spunk.funk. "Then if all is well you will have to do the updates again". Do you mean that I should check out the missing components before re loading SP3?
Ancestors is offline  
Old 12-16-2010, 12:27 PM   #11
Administrator
Microsoft MVP

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



I would get all the drivers installed before installikng SP3
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Old 12-16-2010, 01:45 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Reading, England
Posts: 11
OS: XP Media Centre SP3



I have now completed a Repair Install without any interruptions nor missing files recorded. Unfortunately I still have exactly the same situation, if anything slightly worse in that there are now no Extended Services listed, only Standard ones.
I am now at a loss to know what to do next. Please help if you can.
Ancestors is offline  
Old 12-16-2010, 02:13 PM   #13
Administrator
Microsoft MVP

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



Where did the installation disc come from? . . is it an original or a c opy?
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Old 12-16-2010, 02:16 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Reading, England
Posts: 11
OS: XP Media Centre SP3



It is original, and although it contains the 2005 version, last weekend was the first time the cellophane had been taken off.
Ancestors is offline  
Old 12-16-2010, 02:21 PM   #15
Administrator
Microsoft MVP

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



Is it a branded disc? e.g Dell . . HP??
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Old 12-16-2010, 02:46 PM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Reading, England
Posts: 11
OS: XP Media Centre SP3



Branded, Microsoft, no other names on there. The computer was built by a UK company better known for providing Warranty services to the home computer market. I do not think that they continued manufacture for very long, so would not have had their name on the discs.
Ancestors is offline  
Old 12-16-2010, 02:53 PM   #17
Administrator
Microsoft MVP

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



Any chance you can try a different installation disc . . that one seems to have issues
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Old 12-17-2010, 07:39 AM   #18
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Reading, England
Posts: 11
OS: XP Media Centre SP3



I do not know anyone who has XP Media Centre, so no access to an alternative disc. Has anyone ever heard of a Microsoft OS disc having missing files, or any other issues for that matter. I haven't, but if it is known to have happened then I am prepared to tackle them for a replacement.Meanwhile, despite all the help so far on here, I am no further forward.
Ancestors is offline  
Old 12-17-2010, 07:40 AM   #19
Administrator
Microsoft MVP

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



I've never heard of it . . but something is going wrong
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Old 12-19-2010, 09:18 AM   #20
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Reading, England
Posts: 11
OS: XP Media Centre SP3



Back again, because I still have not found the solution. Is it possible, or even likely that this could have something to do with SATA drivers for the new HDD? It is a Seagate Barracuda 500gb disc, and I did not load any special drivers for it as I assumed they would be on the XP Media Centre Discs.
Ancestors is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts