Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

User Tag List

Problems reinstalling windows xp/vista after formatting HD. Please help !! Thanks.

This is a discussion on Problems reinstalling windows xp/vista after formatting HD. Please help !! Thanks. within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi everyone, recently I've just bought a PC for my younger brother, and upon buying it, Windows Vista (TM) Ultimate


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-09-2008, 03:22 AM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 4
OS:



Hi everyone,
recently I've just bought a PC for my younger brother, and upon buying it, Windows Vista (TM) Ultimate was installed, however the name that was registered, my sister's name was spelt incorrectly, and thus she seeing me edit things in regedit, she attempted to change some things in there from her mispelt name to her correct one. Anywho, upon doing that as some of you may have already assumed, Vista may not be running as stable, it ran and booted buh Vista was now unstable. Hence which lead to the problem.

I've formatted the HDD, using Windows XP PRO installation disc, wanting to install xp instead of Vista. So, after it formatted and copied the files, it normally reboots right ? and hence begin running off the files which were copied to the HDD. However, here's the problem that doesn't happen, each time after it finishes copying the file, it restarts and repeats the process, and boots from the cd-rom. I've attempted to change the booting order from, floppy, cd-rom, harddisk to floppy,hard disk,cd-rom and it still wont' run.

Also with the format, I did both a clean(full) sweep and a short(quick) format.

Thats the problem, if you need any more information about it, please let me know and thanks to all that help. I may have some grammatical errors as I am extremely exhausted by this problem.
HayateSasuke is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-09-2008, 07:47 AM   #2
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 4
OS:



So, anyone know anything about it at all !? Also, might someone tell me how to edit my post.
HayateSasuke is offline  
Old 07-09-2008, 08:46 AM   #3
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
djaburg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 5,143
OS: XP SP3/Vista/7 Server 2K/2K3/2K8 Linux



Well I'm not sure I'm following what specifically is going wrong. If you've copied the installation files from the CD to the HD, perhaps that's where you went wrong. I'd just boot from the CD and run the install from there, then just follow the prompts to complete the install, remembering to remove the CD when instructed to. It's not really possible for the install to keep kicking off when you boot unless the CD is in the drive OR you've copied the installation files to the HD and the autoexec.bat file is in the root of C:, which may or may not be causing this repeated install issue.
__________________

From time to time, we have been tempted to believe that society has become too complex to be managed by self-rule, that government by an elite group is superior to government for, by, and of the people. But if no one among us is capable of governing himself, then who among us has the capacity to govern someone else?
-Ronald Reagan, 1981 Inaugural Address-
djaburg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-09-2008, 09:20 AM   #4
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 4
OS:



Nah, i didn't personally copy the files, .. I wanted to install XP PRO, so I booted the computer with the XP PRO disc in the dvd burner, and booted the computer.

Normally it reads from the burner and says " Press any key to continue ... " and if you wanna run from CD, which you'd normally want to, you literally press any key. However, one thing I realised is that I don't have to press any key, it automatically runs from the burner(cd-rom drive).

So the first time I booted the comp with xp pro cd in there, it allowed me to format, and once it formatted, it copied the setup files etc ( these are the files i mentioned that are copied ), normally after it copies the files, it has 15 sec period for reboot, which it does, then once it reboots up, it automatically repeats the process of running from the CD, as if the Hard drive isn't working.
HayateSasuke is offline  
Old 07-09-2008, 10:12 PM   #5
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 4
OS:



Nvm, I've dealt with the problem, thanks for the help, zzzzzz.
HayateSasuke is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts