Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

User Tag List

problem installing Win XP

This is a discussion on problem installing Win XP within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have got a Biostar K8m800 motherboard which working fine till I formatted my Hard Disk (IDE) for Virus Problem


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-26-2016, 06:27 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
noface0711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 6
OS: xp



I have got a Biostar K8m800 motherboard which working fine till I formatted my Hard Disk (IDE) for Virus Problem , now I cant install win xp on to it and its getting hang when setup starting or If already installed hard disk installed its going to show a blue screen and so on what could be the sol?
noface0711 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-26-2016, 10:19 AM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



The drive may be failing . . You can run diagnostics on the hard drive by downloading Seatools and making a bootable disc. Do the short and long test.

If either test fails, the drive needs to be replaced.

See this for how to make a bootable cd:

https://www.techsupportforum.com/foru...le-341778.html
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Old 12-01-2016, 11:03 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 11
OS: win 8.1



Check Bios SETTING
beingchinmay is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-02-2016, 12:36 AM   #4
Elite Commander
 
VividProfessional's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Merseyside Uk
Posts: 1,406
OS: Windows 10

My System

Send a message via MSN to VividProfessional

could aldo be a faulty stick of RAM
__________________
Boeing 787 Dreamliner Register
The worlds premier Dreamliner site
www.b787register.co.uk
VividProfessional is offline  
Old 12-02-2016, 01:46 AM   #5
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,521
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Quote:
If already installed hard disk installed its going to show a blue screen
You cannot put a HDD with Windows on it that was installed on a different computer and expect this computer to boot.
When Windows installs, it takes a snapshot of the hardware, motherboard etc and loads drivers specific to that hardware during the install. If you remove that HDD and place it into a different computer, when the computer starts to load Windows, it will look for the previous hardware not find it and it will BSOD.
Quote:
could aldo be a faulty stick of RAM
Remove all of the RAM sticks except one. Download the ISO image for Memtest, Burn it to CD using IMGBurn both available in my signature or use their Auto Installer for USB Key. Boot off of the newly created media and run the tests for at least 7 passes each on each stick of RAM separately. If you get any errors (Red) in the bottom pane, that stick is bad and needs to be replaced.
Also, check your XP disc for smudges or hairline scratches.
If the RAM and the CD test good, then Run Seatools short and long tests on the HDD. If either test fails, the HDD needs to be replaced.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cannot create shortcuts
Hello, I've been having issues with my computer for a while. It started out with a virus that "scanned" my computer for an infection, and of course my wife hits "OK". I had thought i cleaned that up, then I had the "The FBI has locked your computer" for whatever reason, and I had cleaned that up...
Andy_F Resolved HJT Threads 76 02-19-2013 06:46 PM
IE7 cannot connect with secure sites
Hi...my problem with IE7 may well be part of a bigger problem. However at the moment every time I try to connect with microsoft.com or other M/soft sites I get the message "Internet Explorer cannot display the web page". The same applies with any site resembling anti virus s/ware or other...
raringer Internet Explorer & Edge Forum 6 05-21-2012 11:27 AM
Virus blocking internet access.
After removing XP Antispyware 2012,I can no longer connect to the internet.It just says "acquiring network address". When I do ipconfig it says "RPC server is unavailable".There's nothing wrong with the internet connection itself.Just something on my computer preventing it from connecting. ....
honeybe Resolved HJT Threads 28 01-10-2012 02:26 AM
"System Fix" virus hijacked computer
Hello, I’ve got a computer infected with the “System Fix” Virus. I believe the OS is Windows XP Professional. Searching the Tech Support Forum lead me to this thread: https://www.techsupportforum.com/forums/f50/im-in-trouble-614906.html Since that thread is getting quite long, I figured...
SilentJim Resolved HJT Threads 48 12-02-2011 08:10 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts