Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

User Tag List

password

This is a discussion on password within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. ahem, since I dont post that many questions round here, heres something that I came across at home...didnt troubleshoot much,


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-25-2002, 12:13 PM   #1
I helped the forums.
 
merlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,611
OS: 3.11



ahem, since I dont post that many questions round here, heres something that I came across at home...didnt troubleshoot much, decided to give brains here a shot..Im sure its something basic dough :tongue2:

I setup a little network between my xp and win98 machine..only machines on that network...its the usual deal (assign ip to each machine, put them in the same group, setup file sharing,ZA... yada yada)...i can see the 98 machine on xp and vice versa..I shared one folder with junk in it on each machine..I can access the shared folder from the xp machine on the 98 machine but when I try to access resources on xp machine from 98 machine, its asking me for a password...there is no pwds set on xp ( except the login pwd for the main profile which dont work, btw)...its not taking blank pwd entries either..

whoever solves it gets my acorn...or my tech points... :tongue2:

TIA
merlin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-25-2002, 01:00 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Kataclysm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Quebec
Posts: 76
OS: gentoo/sabayon/kubuntu/98 se/2k/XP/Vista


Send a message via MSN to Kataclysm
Sometimes taking the problem up-side-down lead to a solution. Try to put a password on the shared folder of XP.
Kataclysm is offline  
Old 10-25-2002, 10:00 PM   #3
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 1,691
OS:


If your using XP Pro go into your share by right clicking on it and going to the Sharing tab. Down toward the bottom theres a button labeled Permissions click on it.

Remove whatever in the box that comes up and then click the add button, find "everyone" add "everyone" to your list and then check all the permission boxes for everyone, last click ok. That will allow full share permissions from unverified users on your network. ;)

See pic for visual aid:
TheTechIsIn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-25-2002, 10:02 PM   #4
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 1,691
OS:


or not since you cant add pictures when editing...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg captured.jpg (14 Bytes, 44 views)
TheTechIsIn is offline  
Old 10-26-2002, 06:50 AM   #5
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 60
OS:


How did you add that picture in here from a window? I know its not part of the topic, sorry, but I'm just curious.
mcgeeb1215 is offline  
Old 10-26-2002, 09:52 AM   #6
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 1,691
OS:


<off topic>
No prob,
I used a capture program to caputre a select area of my computer's screen and then saved it to a file. It was then attached to my post via the "Attach File" thing at the bottom of the screen near submit ... you cant attach files while editing prior posts though ... I found out. :)
</off topic>
TheTechIsIn is offline  
Old 10-26-2002, 10:54 AM   #7
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 60
OS:


Where can I get one of these programs from? I find it quite interesting and possibly useful in the future. Thanks in advance.
mcgeeb1215 is offline  
Old 10-26-2002, 12:51 PM   #8
Citizen of the world
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 51,041
OS: Win10


Try Alt-PrScr and paste it into Microsoft Paint. The Alt-PrScr key combination captures only the window that has the focus onto the clipboard. You can save it in a variety of formats, including JPG, and upload as indicated. No new programs needed. :)

Of course, many of the clipboard utilities have lots of other functions, but for a simple one like this, they're not needed.
johnwill is offline  
Old 10-26-2002, 12:55 PM   #9
Citizen of the world
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 51,041
OS: Win10


I forgot, here's a sample, using the technique I described. :)
johnwill is offline  
Old 10-26-2002, 02:35 PM   #10
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 1,691
OS:


I'm pretty sure the problems solved on this thread .. so going off topic @ this point is ok .... :D
That being the case:

<off topic again>


Like the Gun John ... and your loaded down with the RAM

</off topic again>
TheTechIsIn is offline  
Old 10-26-2002, 05:27 PM   #11
Citizen of the world
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 51,041
OS: Win10


I was just amusing myself with changing the OEM picture one day. :)

Actually, I don't consider 512MB "loaded down", it's just about right for my use. When I'm doing some large graphics, a lot of it gets used. :) Also, setting my disk cache much larger allows most disk operations to complete in the background, so the machine seems a lot faster than it is, also very nice. :D:D
johnwill is offline  
Old 10-27-2002, 07:30 PM   #12
I helped the forums.
 
merlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,611
OS: 3.11


Hey ppl, sorry for the late answer...TheTechIsIn...Your suggestion is the one that worked...Just had to play around with permission...Thnx everyone...

Hey, TheTechIsIn...you want acorn or points??? :D
merlin is offline  
Old 10-27-2002, 07:34 PM   #13
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 1,691
OS:


Thats ok, you can keep both ... :D
TheTechIsIn is offline  
Old 10-28-2002, 10:21 AM   #14
I helped the forums.
 
merlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,611
OS: 3.11


Quote:
Originally posted by TheTechIsIn
Thats ok, you can keep both ... :D
oh, so you're saying now that my acorn is not good enough for ya' huh ? fine...be that way...hehehehe :D :D :D :brush: :bandit:
[j/k] thnx for the help again..
merlin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts