Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

User Tag List

Only Firefox can view pages but can't view https at all

This is a discussion on Only Firefox can view pages but can't view https at all within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hey guys. First of all let me apologize for putting this in the XP forum. I'm tired and frustrated after


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-07-2010, 12:51 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 3
OS: XP



Hey guys.

First of all let me apologize for putting this in the XP forum. I'm tired and frustrated after trying all day to fix this problem so I'm desperate now and figured I'd get a quicker reply here. Also not sure if it's exclusively a problem with my connection/browsers.

Okay so my problem is that out of the blue google chrome stopped viewing pages. I get "Error 102" when I try to view a page. The annoying thing is it appears that Chrome isn't even attempting to load anything it just instantly displays this error. It was working literally 5 minutes before this error first appeared. I was using Firefox at the same time (I have different passwords saved for different sites on different browsers) so I have no idea if viewing something on FF could of caused this.

What I've tried so far:

- Making sure I have "automatically detect settings" enabled in every browser while making sure "use a proxy" is disabled.

- Disabling all anti virus/firewall software and making sure Chrome is a trusted application.

- Uninstalling Chrome and reinstalling it

- Making sure nothing appears to be blocked router wise

- Checking and resetting hosts file

- Releasing and renewing IP

- Make sure SSL and T-something is enabled in browser settings

- Currently running a Malware scan with MalwareBytes but surely any malware would simply change my browsers proxy settings which I've already checked.

I can browse normal pages on Firefox but when I try to view HTTPS secure pages I get "Unable to display page" "Firefox was unable to establish a connection". Also when I try to update any software like Spyware Doctor it is unable to establish a connection. I can't log into facebook or my e-mail.

I had to sign up to these forums on my laptop which incidentally uses the same connection as my desktop so I guess the problem is exclusive to my desktop.

Thanks for any help guys.
ffsake is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-07-2010, 01:40 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 3
OS: XP



Would like to add that the Winsock fix hasn't fixed the problem.
ffsake is offline  
Old 11-07-2010, 02:31 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 3
OS: XP



I am also unable to update ANY software whatsoever but I'm in safe mode with networking at the moment and chrome is working perfectly. Hopefully this will help isolate the problem.
ffsake is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts