Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

User Tag List

not able to reinstall xp black screen

This is a discussion on not able to reinstall xp black screen within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. A week ago my wife used an external drive from my sons preschool to load some educational program and the


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-29-2011, 06:26 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 5
OS: xp



A week ago my wife used an external drive from my sons preschool to load some educational program and the screen wacked out with weird colors and then went black and the words "input not supported" came on the screen. since then the computer screen just goes black when it begins to start up. Started in safe mode and tried to revert to a old configuration a few days b4 with no luck. I tried to remove the installed software in safemode but couldn't software installer was not accessible I guess. I tried to reinstall xp and it spends a few minutes on the installing page and then the screen goes black but comp is still on. Any ideas? Sorry for my incorrect terminology usage! And thanks ahead of time.
brownies11 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-29-2011, 09:18 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 85
OS: Windows 7/Centos/Ubuntu



Normally a message like that on your monitor indicates that the program was trying to force either an unsupported resolution or an unsupported refresh rate on the monitor.

You need to go back into safe mode, go to your display properties and make sure a resolution is selected that you know normally works. Then you need to go to your advanced button from that menu, head over to monitor and make sure a refresh rate is selected that you know your monitor supports. Check the "hide modes not supported" so you can't mess that up.

If that doesn't work, then you need to tell us what program you installed, make and model of the monitor and post a DxDiag in your next post, which you can easily google to find out how to do. (It's simple) With that information we can give you more possibilities.
MasterKnives is offline  
Old 08-30-2011, 05:28 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 5
OS: xp



Masterknives, Thanks for the response. I will do that later today when I am in front of the computer and will update you on things.
brownies11 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-30-2011, 03:37 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 5
OS: xp


Quote:
Originally Posted by MasterKnives
Normally a message like that on your monitor indicates that the program was trying to force either an unsupported resolution or an unsupported refresh rate on the monitor.

You need to go back into safe mode, go to your display properties and make sure a resolution is selected that you know normally works. Then you need to go to your advanced button from that menu, head over to monitor and make sure a refresh rate is selected that you know your monitor supports. Check the "hide modes not supported" so you can't mess that up.

If that doesn't work, then you need to tell us what program you installed, make and model of the monitor and post a DxDiag in your next post, which you can easily google to find out how to do. (It's simple) With that information we can give you more possibilities.
Masterknives, looks like I am unable to get back into safemode because I have erased the old installation when I began the reinstall that I am having issues with currently. Is there any other ways to resolve it?
brownies11 is offline  
Old 09-02-2011, 08:31 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 5
OS: xp


Quote:
Originally Posted by MasterKnives
Normally a message like that on your monitor indicates that the program was trying to force either an unsupported resolution or an unsupported refresh rate on the monitor.

You need to go back into safe mode, go to your display properties and make sure a resolution is selected that you know normally works. Then you need to go to your advanced button from that menu, head over to monitor and make sure a refresh rate is selected that you know your monitor supports. Check the "hide modes not supported" so you can't mess that up.

If that doesn't work, then you need to tell us what program you installed, make and model of the monitor and post a DxDiag in your next post, which you can easily google to find out how to do. (It's simple) With that information we can give you more possibilities.
Is there anything I can adjust in BIOS to fix the issue?
brownies11 is offline  
Old 09-02-2011, 10:45 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 7
OS: Network admin...


If youre using an Oem disk you should be able to press enter a few times and get through the install with no video so you can do safe mode. If not, reformat time!
Arnhartc is offline  
Old 09-06-2011, 09:47 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 5
OS: xp


I believe it OS an oem disk. I pressed enter a couple of times and it started to install for about a half an hour and then I got this error:

Fatal Error:
One of the components that Windows needs to continue setup could not be installed.

The operation was canceled by the.user.

***

Error:
Setup had problems registering the following OLE control DLL:

C:\Windows\system32\initpki.dll

contact your administrator, who may provide assistance in diagnosing this problem.

***

Error:

The signature for Windows XP Home Edition Setup is invalid. The error code is 80096001

A system-level error occurred while verifying trust.

***

Fatal Error:

Setup failed to install the product catalogs. This is a fatal error. The setup log files should contain more information.

***
brownies11 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Redirecting Issues - rundll32.exe and System Restore.
Hi All, I suspect that my computer has recently been infected with a virus etc. Over the past several days the computer has been playing up and I have noticed that I am being directed to other web sites other than those, which I have chosen. Also, when I shut my computer down via “start” –...
thomasanthony Resolved HJT Threads 34 08-24-2011 01:52 PM
Lets try this one more time
Hello, Randomly after I start my computer (I'm probably connected to the internet too) windows shoots up "Generic Host for Win32 processes has encountered an error and needs to close". After that I receive svchost.exe - Application Errors (The instruction at "0x001a6f64" referenced memory at...
TheCommonUser Inactive Malware Help Topics 21 06-12-2011 11:10 AM
Netbook Hijacked? freeze problem, Acer AspireOne
To whom it may concern: Thanks for taking the time to help me. My Acer netbook worked great for over a year before it recently was overcome with locking up / freezing issues. I've performed many hard reboots lately, which leads me to believe I have a nasty trojan or rootkit issue, but I have...
badbassrandy Inactive Malware Help Topics 7 05-28-2011 08:29 AM
new issues with an old XP machine. Is it a virus McAfee can't find and clean?
For the past 2 months something is not right with our home computer, and I don’t know what. I run McAfee, but the scan does not seem to run, takes days to finish and sometimes only says 1200 files scanned with no virus detected. When I run task manager says CPU usage is 100%. IE hangs up or...
tony_g Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 20 05-26-2011 09:01 AM
Spyware/malware issues
I am convinced that I have spyware/malware or something going on with my computer. I have ran several programs - malwarebytes, windows defender, and windows malicious software removal tools that say the computer is not infected. However, I am still having problems and some strange things have...
Ladysmith94 Resolved HJT Threads 31 04-22-2011 07:24 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts