Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

User Tag List

Non Plug and Play Monitor

This is a discussion on Non Plug and Play Monitor within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I am trying to install a 17" LCD Monitor with a no name LCD controller that has no plug and


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-26-2005, 08:40 PM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4
OS:



I am trying to install a 17" LCD Monitor with a no name LCD controller that has no plug and play capability. I have tried turning off hidden modes (works in 2000 Pro) and changing the monitor type to standard LCD 1280 by 1024. In the display information window it show 1280 by 1024 but it is displaying 640 by 480.

Anyone have a work around this feature of XP Pro? Oh, yes I have tried this on XP Home and it works up to 1024 by 768. Which is better then I get with XP Pro.


Thanks for any help I can get.
roned is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-27-2005, 01:01 PM   #2
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm


check the manufacturers site for a driver for it,but if it is working in pro reinstall your video drivers



dai is offline  
Old 09-27-2005, 06:12 PM   #3
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4
OS:


Quote:
Originally Posted by dai
check the manufacturers site for a driver for it,but if it is working in pro reinstall your video drivers
Thanks for the input.
Have tried this, however it appears that XP is setting the default monitor and not changing this. I install the driver for my monitor and select the resolution. It shows that it was installed and that the resolution is correct in display properties, however the monitor is still at 640 by 480 and is still locked into plug and play monitor (ie default monitor).

Is there any way to change the default monitor values to accept my settings.

Or anything else that will activate my monitor.

Thanks.
roned is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-27-2005, 06:36 PM   #4
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm


uninstall the default monitor in the device manager and reboot



dai is offline  
Old 09-27-2005, 07:01 PM   #5
Sgt.
 
Sarge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 676
OS: Windows 10 x64 Home

My System

Have you tried using a system information tool (I use Everest Pro Edition by Lavalys Inc.) to see what it has to say about your monitor? Doing this may give your the names of the manufacturers and their web sites, even if it's not branded on the monitor itself.
Or, you can lok on the back of the monitor for a FCC ID code (there may or may not be one, but it's worth a second look). The FCC ID code will allow you to look up (on the FCC web site) what company is associated with a given code.

You can try the Home Edition of Everest to see if it helps. Check https://www.lavalys.hu for more information or to download.

The FCC ID page is at https://www.fcc.gov/oet/fccid/
Sarge is offline  
Old 09-28-2005, 09:48 AM   #6
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 107
OS:


Um... if it's a resolution problem, it's most likley a video card driver issue. I know the monitor driver will limit the resoluton too, but that can be bypassed by going into 'display properties', 'settings', 'advanced', 'adapter' -> 'list all modes'.

Reinstall the video card drivers and reboot.
killakrust is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts