Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

User Tag List

new dvd drive, made an audio cd, now get error when clicking "Audio cd" icon

This is a discussion on new dvd drive, made an audio cd, now get error when clicking "Audio cd" icon within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. i just installed this DVD drive- https://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=4412159&CatId=482 it came bundled with Nero 7 Essentials. I then burned a cd using


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-09-2009, 04:24 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 192
OS: Windows 7 x64 Home Premium



i just installed this DVD drive-
it came bundled with Nero 7 Essentials. I then burned a cd using iTunes. when it finished i looked at the "Audio CD" in "My Computer" and it says:
Quote:
Free Space: 0kb
Total Size: 0kb
I am very confused because when i open it, the audio files are there and they play individually. But when i click the "Audio CD" it gives me an error saying-
Quote:
This file does not have an program associated with it for performing this action. Create an association in the folder options control panel.
So i did what it says and directed it Windows Media Player. i then click the "Audio CD" icon and it opens WMP and WMP gives me an error saying:
Quote:
Windows Media Player cannot find the file. If you are trying to play, burn, or sync an item that is in your library, the item might point to a file that has been moved, renamed, or deleted.
But when i locate the cd from within WMP it plays just fine. So i then try it with Nero Showtime. When i click the icon now, nero brings up a menu saying that my serial number has updates that are available for me to install. i click the install button it uninstalls the current version and begins the installing the update. it then says that it needs to restart windows at it will continue on startup. it restarts and never continues installing and then i dont even have the original one. So i reinstall the original version but anytime i do anything with nero it wants me to install the update.
I would like to find out whats going on with the "Audio CD" icon.

Also when viewing the files it shows me this:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	untitled.JPG
Views:	32
Size:	54.5 KB
ID:	47138  
botbry is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-13-2009, 11:06 AM   #2
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,008
OS: Win7



If you burned it with Itunes I believe you have to associate to Itunes.
If it is a .cda you should be able to associate it to WMP.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 04-13-2009, 05:08 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 192
OS: Windows 7 x64 Home Premium



i tried using nero as a control and it gave the same result?
botbry is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-13-2009, 05:25 PM   #4
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,008
OS: Win7



As a control?
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 04-13-2009, 09:25 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 192
OS: Windows 7 x64 Home Premium



just to see if that made any difference
botbry is offline  
Old 04-13-2009, 10:38 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 192
OS: Windows 7 x64 Home Premium



also i dont know whats going on with the "date modified" cuz that is not my system date and time! and why are those files so tiny?
botbry is offline  
Old 04-14-2009, 12:40 AM   #7
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,008
OS: Win7



With CDA files that's how they look I believe it has to do with copy protection.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 04-14-2009, 08:44 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 192
OS: Windows 7 x64 Home Premium



but why are they CDA files. how do i get them to record as MP3 files?
botbry is offline  
Old 04-14-2009, 11:57 AM   #9
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,008
OS: Win7



A little off my area of expertise and knowledge of what is copy protected and not and legal to do and not legal I'll ask around......
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 04-15-2009, 09:13 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 192
OS: Windows 7 x64 Home Premium



ok thank you for helping. i just want to add some info.
i have ripped a cd to my computer as mp3 files with no protection. and when i burn to a cd using any means to burn it, yields the CDA files.
my old drive did not do this, this new since this drive is in. i moved the jumper on my current drive to CS as was my old one. this could not be a problem with that could it?
botbry is offline  
Old 04-15-2009, 10:17 AM   #11
Moderator Hardware Team
 
emosun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 12,666
OS: windows 7 /xp

My System


You have to burn it as a data disk if you want the files on the disk to be mp3's. If you burn it as a normal audio cd it will only hold maybe 18 songs and is stored sort of like a vinyl record , where there not actual files , this is how old cd players worked. The disk had to spin and the player had to read them like a record player.
emosun is offline  
Old 04-15-2009, 12:39 PM   #12
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,008
OS: Win7



Have a look here at the Microsoft WMP site for ripping songs with WMP> https://www.microsoft.com/windows/win.../helpdocs.aspx
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 04-16-2009, 07:11 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 192
OS: Windows 7 x64 Home Premium



thanks guys. i have burned cd's as audio cd for the longest time and they would always show up as mp3 files that i could just copy of the disk. And they would always show in my computer with a size. but if this is how im going to have to do it now i guess thats my only option.
botbry is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts