Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

User Tag List

mup.sys after install, not a typical case

This is a discussion on mup.sys after install, not a typical case within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Ok, long story as short as possible: I'm having the mup.sys issue. I used to have a dual-boot, PIII, with


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-03-2005, 10:00 PM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3
OS:



Ok, long story as short as possible: I'm having the mup.sys issue.

I used to have a dual-boot, PIII, with 98 and 2K SP4. After my 2K crashed, I decided I needed a new OS. So I got a burned version of XP Pro SP2. however, during the install (after wiping that old partition), windows detected an error and could not continue after the first part of install. So I wiped my 98 partition as well, making a clean HD. When I installed XP again, voila, the installation went the whole nine yards. then as it was rebooting, it just stopped for about 3 seconds on a blank screen, and restarted. I tryed Safe mode, and while loading it stopped at mup.sys and just restarted again. So now, i have looked over the net, and i have found nothing but solution beyond my grasp (price-wise). The only other solution possible is using the Windows Recovery disk, which i DO NOT HAVE. I have an install disk for XP Pro SP2, a CD-key, and absolutely nothing more. I NEED HELP!!!
thefifteenthadm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-03-2005, 10:25 PM   #2
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 250
OS:


Normally, when you put in the install disk, at the install screen it will allow you to run the recovery program.

It should look like this:



Try running that if you can. Let us know if you can't.
Removed is offline  
Old 06-04-2005, 07:27 AM   #3
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3
OS:


No, I cannot see that screen. Infact, whenever I boot from that disk, it will always proceed automatically to setup, no matter what. I never even get a chance to see that screen.
thefifteenthadm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-04-2005, 08:27 PM   #4
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3
OS:


Nvm guys, thx for you help, but I decided at a different approach. I reinstalled 2000, and from there I installed Xp Pro. It worked magnificently. Thnx a buch for pitching in though.
thefifteenthadm is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts