Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

User Tag List

Moving taskbar.

This is a discussion on Moving taskbar. within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. For some reason my taskbar has moved to top of screen and it will not let me drop and drag,


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-26-2017, 11:59 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 2
OS: Windows XP Pro sp3


Evil

For some reason my taskbar has moved to top of screen and it will not let me drop and drag, the autolock is off. When I left click on start area of taskbar it immediately goes to Administrator screen, anywhere else along its length I get no reaction to trying to drag it.
DUNCAN DAVIES is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-27-2017, 03:18 PM   #2
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
Networking Team
 
SpywareDr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 6,589
OS: W10P64; W7U64; W7P64; XPP32; Zorin; Slax; Ubuntu; Kali (BackTrack); Android 6.01



'Grab' any blank space on it with the mouse cursor, then move the mouse cursor to the edge of the screen where you want it. (top, bottom, right, left). Give it a sec and the task bar will appear on the edge where your mouse cursor is.
SpywareDr is offline  
Old 01-28-2017, 10:02 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 2
OS: Windows XP Pro sp3



I have tried your suggestion all to no avail. all that does happen is depth of task bar increases to about 25mm.
DUNCAN DAVIES is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-28-2017, 10:37 AM   #4
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
Networking Team
 
SpywareDr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 6,589
OS: W10P64; W7U64; W7P64; XPP32; Zorin; Slax; Ubuntu; Kali (BackTrack); Android 6.01



Don't grab the edge, grab it in the center of any blank space of the task bar.
SpywareDr is offline  
Old 01-29-2017, 05:24 PM   #5
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,527
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Boot into Safe Mode, the taskbar will go to Default position
https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/...fault-position
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My taskbar doesn't respond and all icons are gone
Yesterday when i turned on my computer all the icons on my desktop and taskbar were gone and the taskbar didn't work. I can't perform any windows key combos and i can see the unresponsive taskbar when watching videos on full screen on YouTube. I have tried many suggested solutions I found on the...
Mangoguy Windows 8, 8.1 Support 6 04-23-2015 05:32 PM
How can one prevent errors when moving files?
I was trying to organize my files on my Windows 7 service pack 1 PC. I tried to move my "users" folder, but when I tried to move it, the "moving" window came up but the folders weren't moved. When I tried to cancel, it wouldn't work, so I stopped the attempted move with the task manager. I also...
Kythirith Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 4 10-18-2014 11:02 AM
how to change size of taskbar icons
i cant seem to get the registry tweak to work to change the size of the taskbar icon size in windows 7. i like the look of the taskbar when clicking the box "use small icons", except for the size of the icons. i looked at this site How to Customize the Size of the Windows 7 Taskbar Icons: 7...
benny3411 Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 4 04-06-2014 05:46 PM
Change position of sys tray/clock in win7 taskbar?
Hello, I'd like to know if there is a way to move the system tray (notification icons) and system clock from their default fixed position opposite the start menu button. I've recently spent a good deal of time in linux country and have become somewhat attached to the relative freedom allowed in...
thosejaunes Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 2 04-02-2012 05:53 PM
[SOLVED] Taskbar moving?
Hi again Not been on for a while, but have a problem! For no reason that I know of, my taskbar takes itself off to the right hand side of the desktop, where it appears vertically. Has anyone any ideas why? :4-dontkno Thanks as always
rosief Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 3 03-25-2011 04:08 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts