Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

User Tag List

Monitor goes black, computer must be restarted

This is a discussion on Monitor goes black, computer must be restarted within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Whenever i play a high end game on my computer, such as Call of Duty 4 and Mass Effect, there


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-03-2008, 06:12 PM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 9
OS:



Whenever i play a high end game on my computer, such as Call of Duty 4 and Mass Effect, there comes a whirring noise from my desktop, i presume it's the fan. Sometimes, there also comes a beeping noise and my monitor flickers. But the end result is that my monitor just goes black, as if it was turned off. then i must restart my computer. can someone please give me advice on this issue?
invinsbiel81 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-03-2008, 06:26 PM   #2
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 34
OS:



i believe from what you are describing is your video card is overheating or starting to die. Mine would shut off in the middle of just browsing before it went all together. Also when it finally did go it took out the psu too.
Try backing down the video settings on the game too see if that stops it from happening.
ExTruckie19 is offline  
Old 07-03-2008, 07:02 PM   #3
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 9
OS:



i did. i played the game on low settings, but the above-mentioned scenario happened. is there any other i can fix this, or at least alleviate the problem? or at the very least, make sure it doesnt get worse.
invinsbiel81 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-03-2008, 07:04 PM   #4
Registered User
 
moviscop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 180
OS: Mac 10.6.5


Send a message via AIM to moviscop

https://www.systemrequirementslab.com/referrer/srtest
moviscop is offline  
Old 07-03-2008, 08:43 PM   #5
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 9
OS:



my system passes for the recommended settings for both of those games. i did some further research, and it seems that it is caused by overheating of my ati x1900 graphics card. is there a way i can cool it, maybe by making the fan go faster?
invinsbiel81 is offline  
Old 07-03-2008, 09:13 PM   #6
Registered User
 
moviscop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 180
OS: Mac 10.6.5


Send a message via AIM to moviscop

open the side of your case, be careful for electrocution. Run a fan beside the case.

Or: get a new heat sync, purchase a koolance liquid cooling system (amazing)
moviscop is offline  
Old 07-03-2008, 10:09 PM   #7
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



what
video card
cpu
m/board
ram
power supply
brand
wattage
are you running
any error message
check your tempretures and voltages in the bios and post them



dai is offline  
Old 07-05-2008, 02:30 PM   #8
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 9
OS:



i have ATI Radeon x1900, 512 MB
3ghz intel pentium d
1 gb of ram
dell xps 400
windows xp sp2

i do not know how to find out my power supply and wattage. please explain how
invinsbiel81 is offline  
Old 07-05-2008, 02:43 PM   #9
Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,697
OS:



Welcome to TSF....

Run this and post the results I suspect that you do have an overheating problem but I do not think it is the video card

SpeedFan is a freeware program that monitors voltages, fan speeds and temperatures

https://www.almico.com/speedfan432.exe
ThorXP is offline  
Old 07-05-2008, 07:06 PM   #10
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 9
OS:



Win9x:NO 64Bit:NO GiveIO:YES SpeedFan:YES
I/O properly initialized
Linked ISA BUS at $0290
Linked Intel 82801GB ICH7 SMBUS at $ECE0
Scanning ISA BUS at $0290...
Scanning Intel SMBus at $ECE0...
SMART Enabled for drive 0
Found ST3160812AS (160.0GB)
End of detection

did i post the correct thing?
invinsbiel81 is offline  
Old 07-05-2008, 08:59 PM   #11
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



no see what you get from this
https://pc-wizard-2008.en.softonic.com/
only post temps and voltages not the whole log



dai is offline  
Old 07-06-2008, 09:56 AM   #12
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 9
OS:



Hardware Monitoring : SMSC
Voltage CPU : 1.28 V
:
Processor : Thermal Diode
:
Video Monitoring : ATI Catalyst Driver
GPU Temperature : 71 C
:
Hard Disk Monitoring : S.M.A.R.T
Hard Disk ST3160812AS : 40 C
invinsbiel81 is offline  
Old 07-06-2008, 08:17 PM   #13
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



does it give you the cpu tempreture and the voltages for
12v and 5v lines



dai is offline  
Old 07-07-2008, 07:15 PM   #14
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 9
OS:



lol i have no idea how to find that. this is only my first using this program. thank you for your patience
invinsbiel81 is offline  
Old 07-08-2008, 12:07 AM   #15
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



click on the tempreture and voltage icons on the left
when you hover you mouse over an icon it will tell you what the icon is for



dai is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts